Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lice evolutions

by xrm0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Live, breed, and die in the connected worlds of humans and lice.

Stealth is not used in the game. Forgot to use it and forgot to remove it from the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#32Humor3.86
#337Innovation3.44
#422Audio2.92
#464Fun3.14
#498Theme3.34
#565Overall3.20
#568Mood2.97
#878Graphics2.58

Comments

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29am

Ha, great concept - influenced by South Park per chance?

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

Hey I just get a blank rectangle instead of your game :(
Linux Mint, Chromium (latest)

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39am

Thanks mrbungle! But no, there's no South Park influence in the game.

Yasho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

A really clever take on the theme and even though the gameplay is very simple, it actually hooked me in for a while! I guess the hit chance was a bit too low for eveybody (everyone kept missing, but that did add to the tension, so it's like a pro and con at the same time)

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55am

@Posva, the game was made in Unity, and there's no webplayer for Linux :(. The only solution I've know so far for the webplayer in Linux is using pipelight: http://www.gamingonlinux.com/articles/unity3d-web-player-in-linux-browsers-thanks-to-pipelight-.2996 But I've heard that is slow.

@Yasho The hit chance depends on the "Defense" ability, it both have a high number there will be a lot of misses.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:00pm

I had sex with a flea while fighting it. 10/10 would play again.

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Very silly! I like it!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

"The theme is Connected Worlds... how about... head lice?!" Genius! I played it for an embarrassingly long time - coworker started asking me questions. Damn it. Had to explain the head lice game.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30pm

@Ryan, @mrspeaker thanks for playing!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Haha, this is interesting. Nice work.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Great, I must send this to a lice-researcher I know. The concept/method of fighting wasn't super clear, but I enjoyed just being a lice enough that it didn't matter that I probably did some stupid decisions.

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Haha, funny game. It doesn't ever end right?

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46pm

If Shel Silverstein made RPGs, this would be it. I loved it!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

@Posva: Right, there's no end (well, that's if you doesn't get killed fighting or of old age).

@localminimum: Thanks for playing

DDFranky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Nice game! Did you created a genetic algorithm for the breeding of the fleas? Or is just random?

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34pm

@DDFranky: Each attribute value is chosen by selecting the mother or the father own values. So the new individual is a mix of the parents attributes. So, I use randomness but each new generation inherits something from the previous one.

Unravel Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Nice game and one of the interesting games that I've played so far, at first you need to play it a bit more to understand what's going on with the breeding. and lice lol

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42pm

What is this! :D Such a crazy game. Good thinking on the theme.

sephyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Hehe, amazing sounds.
I love the idea of a bug who is changing head!

dix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Hahah the concept is very funny, nice job :D

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:42pm

A very interesting ideaand the real evolution! but I think that the lice configuration should be something like bricks( it will give the endless opportunities and interesting aproaching for gameplay (like big powerfull lice, small and stealth lice)) instead og built in configuration with numbers (atack , stealth etc.). Keep going on!! Great work

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34am

funny game, good interpretation of the theme, nice arts. But, to be frank, quite repetitive to be fun to play.

ploogle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:09am

5 stars for audio and humor; I died laughing.

Amazingly complex for a 48 hour title. Great work!

Jupitron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:03am

Haha, you rock! Amazing game!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Love the interpretation of the theme, funny game!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Great idea! Each LD I think about, how people can surprise me, and that's what I was waiting for.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:05am

Haha, that was great

JNyknn says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:13am

I don't know why, but I found this game pretty... disturbing.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Hehe, that was very random! You have a good imagination. :D (scratchy head while playing this, I hope it's not contagious!)

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Fits the theme in a really smart way :) However, I didn't get what the atributes do exactly or what "configuration" I should try to achieve.

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:48pm

This was totally hilarious thanks for the laughs! It took a while to work out what the heck was going on but once I got in the lice mindset things flowed well. The sounds totally make it, I love the human animalistic babbling while the anthropomorphic lice steal the show with their intricate (overly, deliberately so?) fights. I think it lacked a clear sense of progression and I didn't really know how well I was doing, but it did make me laugh

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Funny game! I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/oHxpkDX49XQ

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I love evolutionary algorithm. I had a very similar idea about a game what would simulate breeding somehow, but its a longer story. So I like the idea. I did not understood what pheromones are good for...

xrm0 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:22pm

@cstudios The fight screen serves two purposes. When the lice are of the opposite sex, it's a fight to death. When they are of opposite sex, it's a test to check whether the'll breed or not. In this last case, the pheromones are a bonus to the attack skill.

Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Very humorous game! I spent too much time on it. I bred my lice to the 10th generation!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]