Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Bunny Theory

by cudabear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Prevent the transdimentional space bunnies from destroying your home world! Hop between two dimensions, slaughtering bunnies as you go!

Controls:
Arrow keys = move
Up or X = jump
Z = shoot
spacebar = jump to other dimension

You will gain experience based on your current combo. The combo is reset when you jump dimensions!

The enemies will become stronger and more numerous every 30 seconds.

Good luck!

CHANGE LOG 8/30/2014:
Bug Fixes:
- Player can no longer become stuck in an infinite spin loop
- Bunnies no longer randomly die at the edges of the screen
- Bunnies no longer change direction when jumping dimensions

Balance Changes:
- Player's available levels increased greatly, with less space between levels
- Bunnies have a greater chance to spawn at the top or bottom of the screen
- Slightly smaller chance of getting a speed increase

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#416Audio2.93
#568Humor2.30
#585Fun3.00
#687Theme3.07
#839Overall2.93
#887Innovation2.71
#936Mood2.52
#965Graphics2.43
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35pm

A nice little game thats fun to play. Graphics are simple but it's a nice style. I liked the music :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38pm

It's guite fun, but it is a bit slow paced I guess.
And the mechanics of jumping and shooting could be more polished :)

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40pm

fun. can become harder a little faster...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Great idea! I really like the fast paced gameplay. I did, however, notice a small bug. When you flip, the bunnies change direction. Bunnies going left go right and vice versa. One could abuse this bug to make the bunnies never reach the portal. But that was just a small quibble and did not in any way spoil the game for me. Good job!

Naytron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Enjoyed the flip mechanic, visuals and audio are clean and solid. Could have used more progression in the enemy types (more visual and AI changes maybe?).

Managed to get caught in a spinning loop by jumping and flipping at the same time near the portal.

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22pm

I only get a black screen after pressing start game :/. (Mac OSX, Chrome Canary 39)

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice take on the theme. I've never enjoyed killing bunnies so much :D

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06am

I liked the minimalist art style. The sound effects and music fit well together. But, the shoot-X-thing gameplay wasn't my favorite.

idovingx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:52pm

For such a simple game, this was surprisingly engaging. It was great trying to balance stringing together as many kills in a combo and not letting enemies reach the middle.

kyru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:55am

Very fun game, good style, it reminds me of original Mario Bros. a bit.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:56am

Nice mechanic! Really creative!

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Funny game :) I also got a bug where the world kept spinning infinitely...

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:19am

Neat game, it fits the theme. I could not jump, though. It is also a bit slow for me.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:21am

I like this concept. I especially like the trade-off you're forced to make between a high XP run, and swapping dimensions to prevent the bunnies from progressing. I do wish the space control wasn't flip dimensions haha. I flipped dimensions on accident too many times trying to jump.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:50am

That was fun! Pew pew pew pew! Nice sounds! :-)

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:40pm

I really enjoyed this! It was actually quite compelling, the way those beautifully drawn goombas kept on advancing was quite menacing but I did like the attack/defend mechanic you get my inverting the world. The inversion effect was handled really well and overall the game performed smoothly. The sounds and music were great too. I would have loved to see some particles and shakes just to 'juice' things up and some more momentum in the player physics too I think. Very good fun :D

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I love the bunny sprites! Great music. I think difficulty ramps up too slowly, and jumping feels too floaty, but it's fun to play. Good job!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Neat game and the flippings cool

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]