Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Great Space Ambassador

by BeardoGames - Jam Entry

Here's our humble entry to LD30, "The Great Space Ambassador", made with love by us using Unity3D's newfangled 2D sprite engine, and with art made using Flash.

Note: at the beginning hit start to view the directions, then start again to begin the game.

We wanted to kinda channel the 'connected world feel' of Star Trek or something similar, with you, the Robo-Ambassador, stylishly representing your planet at the Great Interplanetary Cyber-Summit of 53264. From the game's manual:

"You represent your robo-planet government at the Great Space Ambassador Summit. Your goal is to negotatiate a trade deal with at least six of your fellow robo-ambassadors. Use the left and right buttons to move. When you encounter a robo-ambassador, offer one the resources you are holding to sweeten the trade deal. REMEMBER: THIS IS NOT A BRIBE, IT IS A MECHANO-GIFT. Fail, and you will return to your disappointed mecha-kingdom as a pitiful loser. Win, and you will have all the cyber-delicacies you can analyze! GOOD LUCK! YOU'LL NEED IT!!"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#33Humor(Jam)3.87
#343Theme(Jam)3.24
#455Graphics(Jam)3.20
#522Innovation(Jam)2.79
#536Mood(Jam)2.81
#539Fun(Jam)2.77
#543Overall(Jam)2.97
#569Audio(Jam)2.35

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:36am

This is awesome. I love how they connect to exchange goods lol

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05am

Love the graphics!

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35pm

pretty cool! reminded me of day of the tentacle

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14pm

This is fun to play. I like the graphics, and the way they connect.

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Really cool characters and animations!

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50pm

The graphics are awesome :3

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

"seal the deal" Something very futurama about this :) I like the movement and theme but could have done with more clues on what to offer! :D good work though

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:30pm

I played the game just now. It's alright but except the concept not very attractive to play. Here is my feedback.
- The text at the beginning is not that readable.
- The floor image has a seam.
- Game fits the theme but trying to find the right option out of many is not much of a game in my opinion.
- Idea of trying to satisfy different representatives is great.
- Graphics and humor is not bad.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55pm

This is a game with a solid sense of style. I really like the art: the robot design was excellent. A lot of great humor! "Seal the Deal" is priceless.

rojo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Definitely chuckled at this a few times! One thing I noticed is there's a minor music looping issue (for me at least). I think some sound effects would be a nice touch as well.

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00pm

great job I love the humor aesthetic and art! walk animations look great and omg #sealTheDeal ++

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Got stuck with the guy who loves old things... but I already traded the sacred processor and i think i didn't have any options...
Nevertheless, I like the design of the robots. That "Seal the deal" is meme material xD

igoramendola says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:23am

Uff! Finally I won!! It took me awhile ^^
The gameplay reminded me the Monkey Island dialogs.
Funny graphics and awesome the "SEAL THE DEAL" thing hahahahahha.. cool!

micahcowan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:19am

The art is good, and I love the kinky deal-sealing.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Those robot designs are great and "seal the deal" alone was enough for me to give top marks for humour ;)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Love it :)

The choices felt a little arbitrary, but it was good silly fun.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Thank you for your gift of the Sacred Holochip of Ineffable Curiosities. Consider my vote for the next super-space election purchased and yours!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]