Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frozen Mirror

by Ramiel - Jam Entry

Be a snowman. Explore a magical cave and solve all the puzzles....

Keep in mind. Whatever can be seen in the mirror, it exists.

Controls : WASD or Arrow Keys to move, E to pick up torches

Tools : Unity3D, Blender, Cubase Elements 7, Audacity, Krita

Team :
Johannes Alef
Rebecca Schieren
Hong Linh Thai

Created during the Game Jam Event at the Technische Universitaet Darmstadt - Multimedia Communications Lab (KOM)

Additional Info : All assets of the game have been created on our own during the game jam.
Warning: The game doesen't seem work on Chrome. We are not yet sure why, but we will investigate the matter and if we find the bug and it doesn't change too much we may upload a version without it.

Thanks for leaving a comment and giving feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#184Audio(Jam)3.47
#254Theme(Jam)3.44
#266Innovation(Jam)3.23
#282Humor(Jam)2.65
#309Mood(Jam)3.22
#374Graphics(Jam)3.41
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#603Fun(Jam)2.62

Comments

Transmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38pm

404 not found :(!

Ramiel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Should be fixed now. Had some trouble with the hosting website...

J-d-H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25am

The melting snwoman made me sad (somehow managed to ignore the e-part of the controls...)

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I really dig the mechanics of this game! The mirroring, the damage/melting you have to take to advance. Also that you regenerate by walking trough snow. It's awesome!
But getting the timing right on the moving thing to be mirrored was a little annoying.
The game looks really good and the sounds fit nicely.
Love it. (by Alvar)

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:32am

I really liked the snowflake particles. The puzzles were really good.
I kept thinking that it would be great if the snowman only regenerates on snow.
Other than that, congratulations on finishing. Nice game.

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I enjoyed the graphics and theme of the game, very nice looking with a nice soundtrack, but I found the puzzles a bit hard to see, I didn't really know where things were and where I was meant to go.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I loved the little snowman!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:50pm

I must be missing something... seems like all I can do is go back and forth between two level configurations by entering the mirrors, but nothing else seems to change or be interactive. Could use a little more explanation for those who are thick like me. Nice graphical style though and the music fits the atmosphere very nicely. Good work!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:57pm

While the graphics could have used work, I liked the sound and musical cues.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very relaxing game and the cutest snowman I've ever seen. Well done!
If I had to suggest something it'd be a slighty clearer tutorial part and making blocks slide with ease when they are on a straight path (currently sometimes gets stuck on tile borders and one has to bash them a few more times to get them moving).

All in all, a neat little game, well done.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Innovative gameplay with these mirrors! I liked the snowman and how he melts when he is around warm things.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:03am

Good game but a bit confusing

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:38am

I liked the mechanics of the game, but it was a bit confusing to understand how it worked. Also I find the controls a bit too difficult to use. The sound was a bit anoying, but I liked the graphics and the snowman is quite nice! Congrats! Nice entry.

mramaizng says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:54am

game keeps crashing on chrome/osx.

Sharkxx says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:53pm

This game is quite nice but what i didnt like was the controls. It felt slow and a little choppy,the music fit the theme of the game and the theme for this entry was interesting too, well done

Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I didn't really understand what I had to do but it seems like a nice game X)

Shivur says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:28am

Very nice puzzle game!

Ramiel says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Thank you very much for all the comments. We see there is a lot of room for improvement for the next LD. :)

@mramazing: yes, there seems to be a problem with chrome and our game. We are not sure why. But we will add a warning to the description. Thanks for the bug report. ;)

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:55am

Very nice concept and game mechanics! Very good job.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:32pm

It's a little bit buggy, and rough around the edges, but it's a good puzzle game once you have understood it.
The music is fitting and the sound effects are also good.
I'm not sure if just walking by the last stalagmite is the correct way to solve it :)

Animefrikis says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:28pm

The music and graphics are good, but I couldn't understand what I had to do to advance... level 2 ^^,

A bit of an explanation of how the world works would be really helpful to enjoy the game better :)

jcsirron says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:04am

It's quite a charming game.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Nice entry.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Nice touch being able to rebuild the snowman with more snow.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]