Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star Trucker

by Dissiden7 - Jam Entry

NOTES:
The only thing added in the web post-compo build was a Fast-Forward and a Pause button.
I'm leaving the other versions as they were when submitted, so that you can rate it as it was originally if you so desire.

--------------------------------------------------------

Don't let the planets reserves reach a critical level.
Organize your transports and keep those resources running to meet demand.

One distraction is enough for a planet reserves to be depleted and for you to fail.

--------------------------------------------------------

I've decided to continue developing the game. In the next couple of weeks I'll have more updates for it.
However I won't be posting new builds here because it would go against the spirit of the Jam. You can follow its development on twitter or on my blog, where I'll have an up-to-date playable build of the game.

Thanks for playing. :)

Twitter: https://twitter.com/joaoguerra
Blog: http://halfdonegames.blogspot.co.uk/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#66Theme(Jam)3.85
#192Audio(Jam)3.46
#204Overall(Jam)3.46
#206Mood(Jam)3.42
#326Graphics(Jam)3.52
#379Innovation(Jam)3.04
#388Fun(Jam)3.02
#552Humor(Jam)1.92

Comments

Exeneva says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:57am

Overall very polished. The gameplay got a bit repetitive over time, but the music was good and the graphics were fitting. A fine entry.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Fairly chill to start with, ramps up nicely with more planets. Music was suitably chilled and trippy. I liked it.

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Cool design and nice playability! The only thing I missed was a fast forward button during resources transactions.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Very interesting difficulty curve. Nice job on the mechanics, simple yet well done!

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Great concept and great execution of the theme. I found myself playing this for longer than the other games I tested. Good work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Very nice work, I loved the art and the music, and the gameplay was highly entertaining for me. Kind of wish there was a pause button, but overall, very good!

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Very neat, would be fun to play as a full game.

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20pm

One of my favorite games this ld so far. The music sets a lovely calm mood and made the game enjoyable. The only criticism I would lay upon it is that the trips are a bit slow.

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Thank you all for the kind words. :)
I'm going to continue developing the concept a bit further to see if it can go the extra mile. I'll be posting progress on twitter.

@joaoguerra

goffmog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Lovely polished looks and sound, much of a Galcon vibe about it with a similar theme to my own but a very different approach. Only wish I could speed it up. Will come back to this later, please add a time compression feature :)

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Nice game,
To slow for me... maybe some fast forward button would be great.
But the mood was very good.

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Very good mood! Your concept is interesting too!

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:14pm

The movement felt a little slow to me...
The concept is cool, and I like the choice of upgrades on the new year...

Hairein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36pm

The assets and audio use was great and the game was easy to learn. I also felt this could be developed but more as part of a wider game type. Nice mood and theme.

kikito says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

I wish there was a way to fast forward time at the beginning. Other than that, good execution in general

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Due to popular demand, I've added a Fast-Forward (2x) and a Pause button.

Thank you all. :)

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Interesting game, I appreciate possibility to speed up in this type of games.

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:29pm

cool game, reminds me of mini metro
perhaps add pirates in your full version which you can either pay off or hunt down

DrCicero says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Sometimes my ships moved THROUGH the planets and thus, were lost forever in space.
I wonder what caused that? Maybe you should simply tween the ships between the planets instead of checking collision.

Nice game!

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:05am

Not bad, but it was a bit boring waiting for the transporting. Maybe a fast-forward button would help?

Cosmonautas says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:30am

Nice job

Oana says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:21am

Pretty hard game, but I had lots of fun with it! I like time management games in general, and this is a pretty well done example. Good visuals with a clean intuitive interface, nice music, well executed progression!

AdricZero says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:29pm

One of the better resource balancing games I've seen this LD. Liked the music to help set the mood up really well.

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:27pm

I loved the slow but intense gameplay, I always seemed to be running out of blue stuff. Graphics and sound are superb, and the game has a very polished and complete feel to it.

I had a lot of fun playing it!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Cool game, nice interpretation of the theme! I think this game could fit quite well on a tablet. I like that you managed to get an upgrades system in there! As the camera zoomed out It became a little harder to read the text. Maybe visualize the resource in another way as well? A pie chart around the atmosphere perhaps?

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:04pm

@bytegrove I've plans to tackle that issue in a coming update, but that idea is fantastic. I hadn't thought about it yet. :)

Thank you all for playing, I've rated all your games as well.
Keep the feedback coming.

arzi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:50pm

"Connect the planets with trade routes" seems to be a genre of its own in this LD. Nice game nevertheless and very good work on the art and the mood.

The first three planets were invisible (except for their UI elements), I'm not sure if that was intentional.

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Nice game, it adds pressure every turn, keeping the game alive with a good rythm (thanks for/to fastforwarding). Great music, it helps the mood.

lkr says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Interesting concept that became stressful after a couple of years :)
Fun gameplay and nice visuals. I liked the choice of upgrades, and how they could make or break that coming year.

Would be nice to see where you're taking the game from here!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:35am

Great game! I enjoyed it a lot and I will definitely be following your progress!

Joona@MooseflyGames

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:46am

I liked this game. When I was thinking about a game design, I thought something similar to yours. Great entry!

dunin says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Calm and surprising strategic game.
good work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]