Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

My First Public Meltdown

by Piat - Jam Entry

Hey,

So here I am with my 3rd LD entry, this time around it's a jam entry thanks to this super fun collaboration.

Our entry is called My First Public Breakdown, where you dwell on the connected worlds of social media to achieve your life long goal of being a social media celebrity!

Produce content and upgrade your capabilities to ensure every single human on the earth connects with you because they love you sooo much!

Be careful of the stresses that the life of a social media start can entail, if your stress reaches breaking point your public meltdown will end the game.

Me - Game Design, Art (rushed), UX
Andrew "Package" Capela - Programming, UI, machine
Music - Ethan Jeffrey

Big thanks to Ethan for helping out under no obligation. You can find his work at ethanjeffreymusic.com or soundcloud.com/ethan_jeffrey

How To Play

Become a social media super star before the stress gets to you.

Each Region shows how many followers you have.

Produce content to increase your followers and funds.

Visit the upgrade menu to improve your capabilities to produce better, higher paying content. Upgrade yourself to improve your chances of becoming world famous. Be ware that each month you will have to pay an ever increasing internet bill (this is Australia after all and bandwidth isn't cheap).

Every action you take may increase your stress or if you are late with the internet bill (mum will not be happy). if this reaches 100 it is game over, congratulations you've had your first public meltdown.

Please note this is fixed aspect at 1024x718.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#168Innovation(Jam)3.46
#260Theme(Jam)3.43
#437Humor(Jam)2.30
#484Audio(Jam)2.77
#559Graphics(Jam)2.93
#607Fun(Jam)2.61
#622Mood(Jam)2.60
#622Overall(Jam)2.83

Comments

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33am

Good twist on the theme ! Nice game, I like the cloth effect on the map.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10am

Screen is too big for a laptop.
Then I had absolutely no idea of how to play your game, I random clicked and nothing happened.

Didn't note but will be back.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17am

Awesome game, really enjoyed!

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:00am

Really thought this was a unique idea for a theme!

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11am

I like this game. Its an interesting concept, and a good direction to take the theme. I did find the game to be a bit challenging at times, but challenges can be a good thing as well.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13am

I can't say I understood much of what was going on. Just felt like there wasn't enough feedback and that left me at a loss most of the time (what increases my stress? Why did I just lose $10? Are the buttons at the bottom to make a new post perhaps or what?)

It feel like there is a good game here, I just don't know enough about whats going on to access it. Might be worth adding a how to play or something in the description. Regardless of if you do I'll give this another shot later :)

tschmitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27am

"Overall" category is 2 stars because the game's controls are not explained well enough. After I understand the controls, the game is reasonably fun.

Muush says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56am

Interesting!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Didn't know how to play it and what was going on... Clicking on the Twitter button increased the bottom bar to 50% for a while and then it disappears... I've seen that there were some followers in Austrialia, but didn't feel like I hade any control over the game :/ It's a pitty because the idea seems neat.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Interesting idea, although tutorial would have been nice.

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:15pm

What an innovative concept, it's just sad I don't understand how to play it !
I click randomly on button, sometime my money increase, sometime decrease, Twitter's gauge doesn't seem to pass 50 %...
Instead of that, your ameliorations seem good and fun !

Well, more feedback would be cool ! ;)

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21pm

really interesting concept, but sadly the game likes to 'kill' me for reasons not really explained (maybe the events don't show up ...), and beyond my controll (at least it feels that way)

Kojan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Nice game, but a little confusing, more explanations would have been great !

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Nice concept, although i did not come far, as soon as some event happened i was done stress wise :(

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Thanks for the small tutorial. After conquering Khazakstan i've been doxxed and left the internet forever. That's how far I could reach in 3 games. The idea is pretty neat but the game seems too hard with such little feedback on what you do.

It reminds me of pandemic, which is not a bad thing. Good entry !

tschmitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:30pm

I ended up playing the game a lot because I liked the concept.

My understanding of the game mechanics:
Each month, you lose an (exponentially increasing) amount of money. Charisma points increase over time, regardless of player action. Showman and Beggar increase followers, which greatly increases money gained, up to a maximum (about 20x). Each month, a disaster event might randomly occur, killing all of your followers. Parental Loan and Attention Whore can sometimes help but are generally not worth it unless you have excess Charisma. Grifter, Gamer, Vapid, and Marketing don't do anything.

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Hi guys,

Thanks all for the awesome feedback. Unfortunately we have had super little time to address the tutorial since submitting yesterday and we are still working on how best to give a tutorial without flat out explaining the mechanics.

But for those who are interested I'll give a bit of an over view. @tschmitz is pretty close on most things.

Followers will increase or fall naturally over time. Each month you will lose money, this will double each month, starting at 20,40,80 etc, producing social media content is the only reliable way to get money (besides the perk).

Producing content will increase followers, earn income and increase stress. Stress will decay over time and if it reaches 100 it's game over. Having negative money will also increase stress (there is a bug where it increases each tick, this isn't meant to happen but right now negative money is almost guaranteed game over). Better content, accessed by buying computer up grades improve amount of followers, Income but more stress and take longer.

Parental loan gives a quick cash boost, Showman increases followers from content, grifter actually increases earning from content (but how much you can earn is capped so it only effective very early, this is not intended), beggar decreases how many followers you can lose from natural ticks, attention who're makes content complete faster by a few ticks, gamer and vapid increase the followers and income of some content (this suffers from the same bug as grifter).

Yes marketing does nothing. Pretty long winded explanation but hopefully it helps you guys who want to beat the game. Will hopefully have a more succinct how to play soon.

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

Interesting way to implement the theme like this. Great game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Hi there. Nice idea and nice visuals, the talents/upgrades panel and the map both look great. However not obvious what to do. Nothing seems to work ;) Maybe it is just me missing something. Some instructions would be good.

hadesfury says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Quite addictive ... but very hard also

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]