Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disconnected Society

by jormungandr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about the connection between the worlds of the rich and the poor, the privileged and the oppressed.

Requires XNA 4.0 to run (included)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#391Humor2.60
#486Mood3.07
#568Audio2.70
#650Theme3.13
#723Innovation2.94
#788Overall2.97
#1008Fun2.48
#1020Graphics2.31

Comments

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14am

Doesn't work

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24am

The mini game concept was interesting, but they could have used a bit more polish to make them entertaining. The story definitely fit your theme of disconnected society, nice job.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32am

Pretty flipping good! You did a lot with limited art, and that's almost always a sign of some thoughtful design.

technocf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Pretty good game, I'm not sure how much of what I chose affected the storyline and I was not sure about how to control the "mini games".

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

The political commentary is so hot!

Nice way to speak up.

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25am

I liked the minigames, very warioware like. Unfortunately overall I just got really confused and had no idea what what I was doing.

Chris Maire says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34am

Crashes on start with no error message for me. Win7 x64.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33pm

I don't really know what I am did exactly, I found two possible endings. But I like the hand drawn, and the low res graphics too :)

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

The story was interesting, though the games didn't make a lot of sense. Music and graphical styles were very contrasting, but worked pretty well I think.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:51am

Crazy game, I burned myself %)
But enjoyed mood.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

I can't play on windows... any chance for a web version?

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:37pm

A bit strange! If I chose the "nice" option I seemed to get an easy minigame, and the "mean" option gave me a hard minigame, which is weird because the nice/selfless options would make more sense if they weren't the easy options? The minigames were sometimes pretty confusing. The endings were amusing.

jormungandr says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Well the minigames were supposed to be from someone else's perspective, so if you picked the bad option it would make their life harder, but I guess that wasn't very clear >_<

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]