Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interplanetary Messengers

by DragonMaster21 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a member of the IPM (Interplanetary Messengers) and you must deliver people and cargo to other planets. If the planets do not receive their goods in a certain amount of time, they will get mad and stop trading with you.

The area around planets are a safe zone. You can't get hurt while in them and they will heal you completely. You can only access the job and shop windows from inside a safe zone.

To close a window, press the same button you used to open it.

Controls:
W: Move forward
S: Move backward
A: Rotate left
D: Rotate right
L-Shift: Slows down ship and rotation
Space: Opens job window
Y: Opens show window
Q: Opens planet status window
Mouse: Aim your gun and fire with the left mouse button
Escape: Frees your mouse click on the screen to capture it again


Tools:
Language: Java
IDE: Eclipse
Framework: Libgdx
Art: Paint.net
Music: beepbox.co

libgdx-utils: https://bitbucket.org/dermetfan/libgdx-utils
My basecode: https://github.com/LegitzDestroy/gdx-game-utils


If chrome marks the Windows download as malicious, try downloading and running the jar instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#320Audio3.12
#445Graphics3.24
#485Theme3.35
#776Humor2.00
#790Innovation2.84
#858Mood2.64
#1086Fun2.29
#1139Overall2.43

Comments

rob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12am

I gave this a few tries, because I really like the idea, but I found it too unforgiving. I got to planet 2 once but the job to that planet doesn't pay you enough to buy anything. I then set off for planet 4 and died about 1cm away from it.

I think it's a problem that your bullets stop at the edge of planets, because it means you can't shoot obstacles that are coming at you through a planet.

I also found the distance between planets a little far — after dying right at the edge of planet 4, the idea of starting that journey again was a little off-putting.

With a couple of tweaks this would be really cool, but as it is I found it quite frustrating.

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

Really liked the idea :)

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

I really liked the concept as well but... I found the controls really cumbersome. It's hard to get around! I never made it to the next planet. The stylization of the graphics and the chiptuney sound effects give the game a great mood, but the gameplay is just too tough. Nice music.

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

Overall nice game with solid features. Unfortunately it was too hard for me and I barely made it halfway to other planets.

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

Couldn't get it to launch after the start screen! Tutorial worked, but in hitting play it'd crash. It's an old mid-2009 13'' MacBook Pro running Mavericks ^^

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11am

Awesome chiptune music! Going from planet to planet felt like real space travelling!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

Thanks for the suggestions. I will keep all of them in mind when I continue working on it :)

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11am

Great pixel art - the gameplay almost feels like a demake of many flight sims.

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Why must it take so long to get to another planet? I guess it's kind of realistic, but not so fun... after I got to a different planet I quit, but now i see there are upgrades... well I'm not doing that again :P

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56pm

The idea of the game is really good, but the game itself is way too boring. It takes too much time to travel from a planet to another, and the ship controls really badly, making it hard to stop on planets(once I passed near planet 3, but wasn't able to turn fast enough to reach it). The musi is really good.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Great art and a good idea - just too far apart!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Cool concept! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/W46twhRFdK8

uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Rather cluggy controls and a VERY high distance between things. Made it difficult to enjoy the game, or get far at all.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48am

Liked the graphics and audio, but the controls were too cumbersome, and I could not even make it to another planet! Also, the ship controls glitched a lot, and no the game was not sticking, because all the other planes moved freely!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Good game, but the distances between the planets are quite big.

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Loved the music. I found the ship movement very cumbersome, as it took so long to move around. This is a cool concept though! :)

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:46pm

uberhardcore gameplay :) i couldn't achieve any planet until they became mad on me... Or stupid ships destroy all my health :) anyway, i've spent about hour in this game :)

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I had quite a few goes at this but gave up in frustration before achieving anything significant - the travel and rotation are WAY... TOO... SLOW... :( *ragequit*

However, the graphics and audio are very good and its a nice fit for the theme so I scored you highly for those anyway :)

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:01am

looks really cool.. kept crashing after I hit play (OS X).. bummer

frogcheese says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Worked for me on OS X. I think the idea is good with a lot of potential, but the game is far too slow. I managed to get to planet 4 to sell a couple things (took me a long time to get there, though) but that still wasn't enough to buy any upgrades. Since the ship was so slow to maneuver, I then got killed en route to the next planet by an asteroid that I couldn't avoid. That led to me not having enough time to get to another planet before they got mad and I got a game over. I think all of this could be fixed by simply making the ship faster - both in turning speed and thrust.

Other than that, I think the graphics and audio were really good - I especially liked the particle effects on the destroyed ships.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]