Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds: Planetary Conflict

by enteagd - Jam Entry

A small, 3-player multiplayer game created by two brothers.

In the near future the old god Niko'lass Kaje gathers Planets from all over the cosmos to compete in Planetary Conflict to earn his favour. The prize: Survival.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#197Humor(Jam)2.93
#278Innovation(Jam)3.21
#303Audio(Jam)3.24
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#445Graphics(Jam)3.23
#464Overall(Jam)3.11
#506Theme(Jam)2.88
#544Mood(Jam)2.80

Comments

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Great entry,I really dig the planet models. Nick Cage is looking fabulous.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Don't have two other people to play with :(

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Mac build please

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02pm

@tbamberg: neither do I. :(

enteagd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09pm

No chance of a Mac build sorry, the engine the game is made in requires a mac for export, which we do not have! :)

gene-z says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Interesting,, simple

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:13pm

can be really funny with two other people

chipcaramel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:40pm

NICK CAGE!!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Interesting game, but it would be cooler if one had a little more control over the planets =)

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Nice looking and sounding. The lack of control was a bit disappointing though, our rounds just turned into spam the fire button and hope. Nice job non the less, it sure looks nice.

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Great game!

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Game looks really nice and music is catchy too.
It feels like you havenot enough control over the planet movement/orientation though. So its just waiting for the other planet to come in your line of sight.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Nice mechanics, a cool game to play with friends... and then see a nick cage movie

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Awesome game!
I love multiplayer games that we can play on only one keyboard

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Is something wrong with itch.io? It just says "The download should start momentarily." But nothing happens :/

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Never mind! It worked after ten minutes or so. Awesome little game. Too bad I don't have two friends around right now. The sound and graphics are top notch, and the mechanics seem real cool :)

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Couldn't play with 3 players, but the idea and execution seems nice :)

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I can't play on windows... any chance for a web version?

enteagd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Unfortunately no, we do not have the resources to export to HTML5 :(

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:05am

Not as fun solo as I'm convinced it is playing with other players as intended, but I did like the simple mechanic - makes it easy to pick up and hard to master. Good job!

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:26am

I find the purple planet the worst planet to play as because on how it moves differently than the other two planets. Plus, the rotation doesn't aim at the planets that often than the other planets.
Overall, while I like the idea, I felt this game relies too much on luck.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]