Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Boogie-Down

by EvilObjective - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aliens have sent their most talented dancer, Jon-oltra, to seduce humans at a club in order to abduct them and start connecting the two worlds!

Dance to fill up your boogie-meter and help start the invasion!

***Works Best In Chrome. Sound might not work with other browsers***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Humor4.07
#174Mood3.48
#273Graphics3.57
#360Audio3.04
#534Fun3.07
#628Overall3.14
#773Innovation2.86
#790Theme2.89
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Toestee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03am

I like the style, what did you use to make all the triangles?

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06am

Very nice graphics. Works fine in IE11.
There is no sound though, and it seems to hang once I leave the disco with the girl.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06am

Hilarious! Plus, I really love the art! Great job

suyoku says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11am

Art style is amazing and the idea was well executed and not drawn-out. Wish there could have been some good disco music, especially since it's a rhythm based game, but still very well done.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:13am

Dance is pretty cool. :)

Funny graphics

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

@ Toastee Thanks, I used the program Hexels to make all the art.

@Endurion Sorry about the lack of sound. Couldn't get the sound to work right on anything but Chrome.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Hilarious, loved the chase bit at the end :)

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57pm

original style with the triangles, nice take on rhythm action games.

SenorDiablo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59pm

ahahahhaha

CJ K says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Very funny :). Having music that went to the beat of the key presses would much help this game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Hehe, this was pretty funny. Nice graphics and sound.

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53pm

The story is really fun, with a better animation, and even more abstract people it could make an insane rythm game.
The game works well even if it was hard on an azerty keyboard to play.

I suck to rythm game but i got one people!

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Fun :)

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:54am

Hilarious, I love it! The triangle art style is pretty slick, too.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:28am

I laughed a lot! The style and the story are great. :D The gameplay is not that innovative, though I played a dance game with the same game mechanic some time before. But nevermind it's pretty cool!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

Cool game, I like the style! I felt like the key hits didn't sync up with the music that much so it felt weird trying to hit the notes while still paying attention to the rhythm. Overall the idea seems solid, great job!

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Nice game, congrats!

Knowledge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:02am

Alien moves too slow, one face looks like from Chernobyl.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Played trough twice, once with Pale Moon (browser based on Firefox) where I got no sound, and again in Chrome where everything worked swimmingly. Too bad the rhytm-game-parts didn't sync with the music :P. Nice style, but the gameplay is fairly limited.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]