Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Microsystem

by Linkigi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small ecosystem I made all in one evening.
There is no goal, play as the small purple creature and interact with stuff.

Controls:
Use the 'Arrow Keys' to move
Press 'R' to reset the game.
press 'esc' to exit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#902Graphics2.53
#953Innovation2.58
#1032Fun2.44
#1090Theme2.22
#1123Overall2.47
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I was trying real hard to get everyting purple and when I finally got it, nothing happened(as I could have read in the description :)) cool game with the ecosystem man! If there was more to interact with it would be more fun! nice job tho (especially for one evening)!

Linkigi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Thanks very much =] I would've loved to have been able to flesh out the interactions some more and include a kind of winning condition (such as painting everything purple) but I left it way too late before working on the game =P
(Then again, it's not impossible that I'll work on finishing the game another time)

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02pm

it has a lot of promise, but it doesn't seem like there's much to do at the moment. The player is only threatened by the large 2x2 creature (at least I think, since I steered clear of it until it randomly disappeared) and has no real obstacles outside of that.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Good for one evening ;) in 48h you could make a whole planet :p... full of purple creatures :D

I would wish a winning condition as well I ate all other fishes before reading as well :D

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Played with it until everything died and everything was purple. Didn't seem much like interaction to me things just disappeared when i touched them. It looks pretty good though. No sound or gameplay really, but interesting anyway. My arm is a bit sore though since there's no holding the button to move...

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:27pm

A fun little toy. I like how the big creatures turn to your side if you touch them. They tended to get stuck a lot though. Good job!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I also painted everything purple just for the sake of it. And I really would have wished to be able to hold the button down instead of continuously button mashing.
I wasn't entirely sure what the growing green and pink things are intended to be or to do, but it seems like you had some interesting concept that you just did not get to implement.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:11am

Neat! I dig ALife sims. Would love to see this fleshed out. (With maybe a little explanation on interactions, some in-game info on what creatures are doing, etc.)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]