Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Solar War

by Reyn - Jam Entry

-----------
Playing
-----------

Move: WASD and mouse or Arrow keys
Zoom: Hold Q to zoom out.

-----------
Objective
-----------

Fly from planet to planet to connect trade routes. Killing other players will destroy their trade routes.

When a new trade route crosses an existing trade route the existing one disappears.

Score is calculated on the total distance of your trade routes.

-------------
Networking
-------------

Feel free to run the game twice on your computer, one as client and the other server to test multiplayer. This works with both the windows and web player.

Was tested with up to 4 players.

------
Issues
------

If buttons don't seem to work in the web version please try reloading the page. If that doesn't work try another browser, chrome and firefox has been reported to work, or download the windows exe.

The servers that are hosted are hosted by other players. You may or may not be able to connect to them.

Unfortunately most corporate and home networks will not allow you to host a game others can connect to.

You can start a server on your local machine's IP, this allows others on your local lan to connect to your machine if you are having NAT issues. To do this uncheck the NAT hole punch checkbox.

In the likely event that you are behind a strict firewall, that blocks port 25002, your server won't be registered on the master server and no one will see your server in their list.

-------------
Fine Print
-------------

Audio shamelessly borrowed from Star Control 2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#137Theme(Jam)3.68
#148Fun(Jam)3.48
#168Innovation(Jam)3.46
#287Overall(Jam)3.36
#326Graphics(Jam)3.52
#376Mood(Jam)3.10
#401Audio(Jam)3.00

Comments

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00am

Cannot run it windows don't let me (I tried as admin mode, nop)

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03am

Ok my bad forgotten something ^^'

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09am

Multiplayer, eh? This sounds interesting!

The trading idea is definitely cool, but there doesn't seem to be much strategy to it. Just bump into as many planets as possible for maximum score.

Netcode works! (it's UDP broadcast, zero-config) A little jerky but extremely cool that you pulled that off in this time!

The basics of combat look good, but it doesn't seem you can actually kill each other. Similarly there doesn't seem to be any kind of scoreboard, so only you will know how many worlds you've bumped into.

Definitely a good start. Beef up and fill out the combat and trading mechanics and you'll be well on your way to creating something great.

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Ok, wow, didn't realize people started rating yet. I'm still busy. Took Monday off to try and get a bit further. Another couple of your to go :-) Will post again when I'm finished.

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Ok.
I'v uploaded the new version.

Excuse my server browser, still trying to figure out how unity 4.6's UI framework works.

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Added a web version. The UI in the web version is screwy but functional.

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Ok, latest update shows score of all the connected player. Which means its functional enough to be called a game and I can finally catch up on some sleep :-D

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33pm

I had significant trouble with lag, which made the game pretty difficult to play. I also found the colors very hard to look at. I managed to touch the planets a bit and shoot at people, but there was no way I was going to hit anybody. Props for doing multiplayer for LD, though.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Cannot connect..

Macocco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Very cool game! Mutliplayer worked fine, but I think the shuttles took to many hits. And I think the penalty for death should be a respawn time instead of loosing all connections. Graphics are fine, too!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Hi there. Web version was fine. Connected up a bunch of planets. No visible opposition. Very nice looking, good sounds!

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Thanks ryguydavis, I'll have a quick at the lag issue when I get home from work.

Thanks Macocco, having a time delay on death makes so much more sense.

I wish I had enough time to show health indicators on other player and maybe have player health restored based on how many trade routes they setup.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I imagine this would be incredibly fun if you are more than one player, sadly that's not the case for me now ^^ Good idea for sure!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Oh, was that literally you in the game "Reyn"? Haha, I wouldn't have picked a silly name like "Arsecheeks" then. Really good interaction and ship control feels nice. Would perhaps consider direct beam lasers rather than projectiles. Very high quality, well done! (had to use Firefox btw, couldn't get interaction in Chrome but I believe that's a Chrome permissions perculiarity)

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Hi. Yes that was me, the comments I keep getting is that there is no one to play with. So I have the game in a window to see when people connect. I also had an interaction issue with chrome once. Reloading the page fixed it for some reason.
Thanks arsecheeks :P

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Quite an intense experience! When there are a few people in there it gets really hectic, that combined with the spinning camera makes things really full-on! Nice use of the theme, too!

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18pm

@Naytron Thanks. We just had a 5 player game :-)

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Hard to rate when there isn't anyone to play with, but it looks good enough :)

jayhof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:32am

I couldn't try the multiplayer mode, but that you made one in the short time is pretty cool. The art style is pretty cool as well, it took me some time to get used to the controls, but after a while I figured it out.

Would have really liked to see some more gameplay to this, like actual trades going on in between the connected worlds, maybe the other players can then shoot the trade ships to prevent you from collecting points.

Thanks for your work, I enjoyed it!

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:26am

@jahof, trade ships sound like a good idea. We are working on a post compo version. Thanks for the comment !

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Multiplayer games are always quite problematic to rate when you don't have anyone to play with, but it did work nicely when I ran two instances on this machine. The server didn't show a disconnected message or anything when I alt-f4'd the game with the connected player. Did you try out how the mechanics work if the ship doesn't collide with the planets but can pass trough them? I'm not sure if that would make it better or worse, but I think it's worth a test :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Very nice graphics. But.. multiplayer? That put me off.

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:15pm

@Moosefly, thanks. When you play this multiplayer you will see that the planets provide vital cover.

@xrm0, thats a shame.

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Sadly there is no others online. (Or is it just me?)
Still, i like the graphics and also the simple sound effects
Connecting planets.. I can only imagine it would be much more fun and merrier with more players!

btw really like that color explosion too, nice touch for me :)

Good job

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Slightly clunky controls, but networking works well!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I couldn't join your server ("Connecting to server… if this is taking too long..." etc), but opening my own server worked well!

The gameplay itself was nice, but there I think there was something missing in the trading - maybe extra score for connecting certain planets or combinations? Right now it seems just, as wolfmother put it, "bump into as many planets as possible" - or did I miss something there? And is there an end where one player wins?

Combat worked well, albeit a little basic, and the controls worked extremely well. The graphics are simple but pleasent to look at, and the audio is well chosen.

Oh yeah, and good job on the online multiplayer! Apart from being able to start playing alone and no way to reset it but to let yourself be killed, it worked quite well. (I've noticed quite a bit games with online features this time, and I intend to play them all, one by one.)

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:55pm

It is a solid idea and a game. Everything is simple and clear. I couldn't try it multiplayer but I'm sure it's fun.

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Thanks for all the comments guys. I reluctantly decided to implement the 3 lines of code wolfmother, Tobias and others suggested/felt. Instead of clearing the trading routes on death the player gets a 5 second time out. The score now actually means something... Hope I'm not cheating :-\

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Well, changing gameplay is not allowed under the LD rules, so yeah - maybe change it back to how it was before, and maybe upload the new one as a post-compo version?

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Fun game. I like the graphics, the feel, and the multiplayer concept. Very literal interpretation of the theme, but nothing wrong with that.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Loved the audio and the graphics. The multiplayer gameplay is really fun.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:29am

Didn't really have anyone to play with, so I can hardly rate it in terms of fun, though I didn't find bumping from one planet or another particularly exciting, and I doubt having more players would change that (given I'm not really into competitive multiplayer in the first place). ^^"

It looks pretty solid, though, and it sure has some connecting and worlding, so...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]