Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

H.O.C.M.A.

by Techblogogy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
A or D - Move Camera Left or Right (alt Left Arrow or Right Arrow)
Click - Select or DeSelect

Description:
In this game you play as a god. You have power to create and connect different types of materials to create worlds. Those worlds are symbolized as new type of material.
This game look simple, and is simple if you are Patient and Think.
Enjoy! ;)

P.S. Leave a comment if you figured out what H.O.C.M.A. means

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#568Audio2.70
#598Innovation3.11
#641Humor2.20
#739Graphics2.83
#749Theme2.96
#842Mood2.66
#1066Overall2.59
#1172Fun1.97

Comments

Jaenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52am

That was a weird beast - in a good way. A bit too slow maybe. Also props for the Linux version!

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00am

+1 for Linux version. 'Twas a bit to slow for my liking, but I got the hang of the puzzles.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04am

You're right it does take patience! Neat idea and I really like the use of basic geometric shapes for the representation of all the materials. Cool!

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04am

I kind of wish there wasn't that long drawn out timer. As it stands right now I don't think it really serves any purpose besides making me wait. I wanted to start clicking everything right away. If there was some sort of link damage happening during the timer it would make more sense.

Is there actually a reason for it that I'm not getting? It was a cool idea it just moves too slow as of right now.

Ben Lehman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07am

I want to like this game. But I feel like right now you've made something, while it may be cool to you, is totally opaque to me. I would like to understand what your vision for the game is, but as of right now it makes no sense at all / doesn't work. (I honestly can't tell if there's a game you've hidden in there somewhere or if there are bugs that are causing it to fail to work.)

My experience playing:
* I hit the "add atom" button and then draw links until I'm at molecules. I can link them in a line or a tree, depending on how I draw the links, but this makes no difference in the actual game. Between this is a lot of tedious waiting.
* I now hit "add molecule," same.
* I now hit "add cell" until I run out of link health. Game over.

Now, you might say "use the 'heal link' button" but it does, literally, nothing. It takes an energy and adds 5 link health. But, in the time it takes to get 1 energy, I lose 5 link health. All that button does, that I can tell, is waste time treading water.

Which brings me to another point: the game is totally opaque and the controls are non-intuitive. It took me until late in Molecule for me to realize I could rotate the screen with the A-D keys. Not that this seemed to make any difference in the game. The clicking to link things sometimes works, sometimes doesn't, with no feedback at all if it doesn't work.

If you want this game to be functional, you should:
* Write some directions.
* Make how you construct your stuff matter.
* Have "heal link" perform a function.
* (related) make it possible to pass "Cell" stage.
* Have an actual puzzle or strategy going on.
* Maybe don't make us wait through long stretches where nothing happens. I will admit, by the time I was doing the 15 second countdown with "cell" I was opening other browser windows.

That all said, this could be a good game. It just requires some elbow grease and some actual explanation. Yes, games which just let you figure things out are cool, but they use intuitive controls. Your game does not: you need instructions.

P.S. HOCMA stands for Human Organ Cell Molecule Atom.

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:12am

Loud! But once I turned down the volume (may have been my fault) it was a strange trip. :P

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13am

yeah a little slow, indeed

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26am

Interesting idea :) One of my favourite games so far.
I also like tha narrative :)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26am

Really well done!

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35am

Awesome concept! This feels unique, couldn't really understand how it really worked, but had fun playing it!

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

Interesting concept, nice even though there is not really any decision to make in the construction.
The music sample was a bit short though ;)
A bit slow and nothing to speed it up.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46am

Have to admit I didn't really understand the game mechanics. Kept on adding and connecting things and each time the timer reset, and I guess I need to connect enough of them. But I don't understand how I can improve my energy regeneration speed, seems it got slower and slower. Is it from the link health? And I ended up with the camera in front causing me to not be able to connect anything since the other target was out of view.

However, I really like the concept of matching sound effects with the music - creds for that! Also, the basic shapes in the graphics look pretty good.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

I dont understand everything but it was very nice experience with nice sound design and visual!

Cruion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Interesting game but it seems it be a bit slow. The connection between objects was awkward and provided no indication on why it failed to connect.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Well this is definitely an odd concept. It isn't bad, but definitely unique and stands out. I am guessing the interpretation of the worlds connecting is the elements connecting together.

I liked the idea of transforming atoms into molecules and the latter to organisms but I wished that my links would create a different molecule or organism instead of the same one. I understand of course the limitations of the 48 hours so I am guessing that might be your intention.

That said, the wait wasn't something I liked at all. When I reached the organism and the 20 seconds wait I couldn't take more than collecting 4 energies then I had to let go.

Perhaps if the wait time was reduced it would work better or at least we'd have something to do within the wait time. Again, that might be something related to the competition's tight schedule.

It took me a while but I figured out how to easily pass the levels which added to the bad sense of waiting.

All in all, the concept was interesting and I liked how it worked out and how it played. The only down side is that you had to wait A LOT of time. The sounds are OK but I am guessing they are all randomly generated with some polish they can add a lot of atmosphere to the game. :)

Good work ^_^

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36pm

cool aesthetic but i wasn't quite sure how to interact with the atoms/molecules aside from creating more.

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

It was a little slow but I liked the idea. Well designed.

Human Organ Cell Molecule Atom

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Overall, well done. It took me a few minutes to understand what was going on. It does drag on once you get to the point where you're waiting 10+ seconds after each action. I enjoyed the audio at first, but after a few minutes, the repeating music started to get on my nerves. Overall though, I think you did a good job.

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Hard to understand what the goal was, but I think there is potential if taken further :)

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

After while the sounds become a bit annoying (the piano).
I like how connected is mentioned here.
I understand why you put slow and I like it

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Lovely audiowork!

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Slow and music is killing me after 150 loop :D But also interesting but i'm not so patient to complete it :D

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Seems like a nice idea, but the gameplay is soooo slooooow :)

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Nice graphics and funny voice. :)

LeftRight92 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Game seemed very strange...either I'm missing something or the 'heal link' button seemed to have no net gain. This ultimately meant the game boiled down to 'add x' and creating the link. You probably need to give more detailed instructions, as at the moment, my input as a player feels ultimately deterministic.
That all aside, both graphics and audio had a lovely elegance to them and the idea of playing god and connecting things from the ground up links back to the theme nicely.
To summarise: a lovely concept, just poorly communicated to the player.

Capitals says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

It was slow, which is not a bad thing as long as you are not doing nothing. I must have been doing stuff wrong because I felt that link health just delayed the inevitable and did not improve your situation. I would say that this is competent!

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

It's pretty good if you don't like to rush in games. Also, i would to see more choices.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

the glameplay is good but slow.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Maybe I've missed the point of this 'game' but it feels like I don't actually have any agency whatsoever. Healing just delays your progress and it's undone after the next tick is over so it's entirely pointless.

To win, all you have to do is create the number of items you need, then wait till you have enough energy and link them in one go. The organism stage takes 13 minutes, minimum, to do. You can just leave the tab open, go have dinner and come back, zero consequences.

There is only one puzzle, repeated ad nauseum. Once you've figured it out there's no challenge. Plus, that 10 second piano loop *really* grates.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39pm

There's promise in the idea, but the actual gameplay here is honestly not a very fun experience. The timer feels arbitrary and unnecessary, and the piano loop is super annoying.

sylarisbest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Cool concept, but it definitely needs fleshing out. Also the timer is too long. Good work though.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50am

Slightly confusing, but beautifully presented.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Nice game, but too slow, maybe that was proposital, overall nice.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Well done, great Audio :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Very loud and slow but definitely a very interesting game. Takes ages to get the hang of it :)

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I couldn't really find the game hidden there. I'm adding atoms and I pass the level. It looks kind of interesting though. Ah and music is so repetitive.

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:35am

It's a bit slow and the gameplay needs to evolve a bit, but the concept has potential. Graphics are ok for a compo, sound could be a bit better. Good work!

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:15am

Yeah I don't know what's going on, lot of clicking randomly and trying links, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, no indication as to why. The camera is also pretty annoying, it zooms in on the thing I clicked but now I have to slowly rotate the camera to be able to make links and the camera then snaps back to the rotation where I can't see anything.

Not sure atoms counts as worlds either.

It's good that a jam game got voice overs in it though, don't see that very often.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:01am

Love the narrative. Majestic. Core game play seems unbeatable or at least I have no idea what I am doing.

Eli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:23am

Interesting concept.
But you should tell me what to build. Right now I can just add atoms till I die.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:45am

The most problem here is everything is extremely slow. Nice gameplay tho.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:01pm

a little too slow for my taste but i like the idea and how you linked it with the theme ^^

dix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Nice game! But I kinda made me go crazy that every time i had to select again a node cause for some reason it didn't link with the others, the view got reset and i had to turn again to see the point to link it to

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Cool idea, but a little too slow, resources usually work a little better when you have something else to focus on when they're low. I think the game would be more enjoyable if I didn't have to wait for energy, or if there was something I could do to gain energy faster. Also I think you could have made the music loop a bit longer, the melody doing the same thing was fine, but the "velocity" of each note being the same every time the loop repeats is a little jarring. But apart from that it's a pretty good game idea!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I like the idea of creating everything from the smallest atom to organisms but this wasn't really that exiting...
That is due to the way to progress is pretty much waiting. The later levels even punish impatience and the only way to beat them as far as i'm concerned is to wait and stockpile your energy and then spend it all in one go to make the links.
The simplistic visuals works with the idea though.

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I can't disagree on Ben Lehman's comment. I like to discover game mechanisms by myself, but I was completely lost trying to understand what I had to do in this game. Nice try to innovate, though, and I like the overall mood of the game.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Pretty nice idea. Well done.

Druid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Hey! That was interesting game!

Troy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51am

I really liked this game, still don't fully understand it but it was relaxing time working it out, audio was great too!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

I had about the same reaction as Ben Lehman; I feel like this could be cool, but right now it's too opaque

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:42am

not a fan of the forced sit-and-wait mechanic. the synchronization with the music wasn't worth it.

idea was cool. graphics were nice. audio was excellent. overall, good submission, and ncie work.

OFF says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

Cool idea. It could be better with a real chemical base. The game mood is great, and slow, but it could be better with simply not having to wait, that the configuration of the structure matter even with a puzzle (rebuild a configuration).

The start is pretty interesting and it gives deepness to a game who would be without too abstract.

A good base.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:30am

Definitely opaque, as others have mentioned. By the third level I had figured out what was going on. One issue is, if you never start your link, you can sit there and let your energy accumulate without any danger from link health (stays at 100 until you place your first link). Once you have enough energy to beat the level, you can proceed very quickly. This means the best strategy to play the game is to go make a bowl of cereal and come back in 5 minutes.

Very interesting idea, and some good production value (altho the piano loop is reaaaally short). I'd love to see what you could do with this if you have more time. It would be cool to monkey around with the gameplay and see if you can dial that in.

Great entry tho. In some ways broken, but in many ways brilliant.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:57am

:| I didn't understand the gameplay :/ Although the general idea seemed to be good :)

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Interesting concept! Solid entry.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Hold
Off
Creating
Matter,
Alright?

I'd like to know more about what the intention was here. It seemed interesting and I stuck with it until the organism stage until I just lost the will. Great voice work though, there was clearly effort and thought put into the whole concept, I wish that was a little more accessible.

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

didn't mind the game, a bit tediouse at times.
Humanistic oarnge cells made of atoms

akymos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Nice. Well done.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

The audio is really amazing! But i dont can play, I dont understand how can do anything.. The game needs a tutorial. I think

Bubblman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Great entry. The concept is good but the game is a little slow.

Sverik says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I didn't really grasp the concept. I clicked around randomly and things happened. But I'm not sure what I was supposed to do.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

I'm not patient enough to wait 13 minutes straight doing nothing while listening to the same 10 minute loop. This game isn't even letting me run it in the background. Sorry if I missed something but this game is just annoying the shit out of me.

If there is a game hidden somewhere, feel free to tell me and I might replay it.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:25am

nice idea, I'm always fond of this 'interesting' games that get produce during LD, nice job :)

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:24am

Strange game.
The player is more rewarded when he actually does nothing. By adding a single link, the life will start decaying at the speed of 5 per cycle, leaving you with a timer of 20 cycles. Healing does literally nothing since what you earn is completely lost at the next cycle. So if you have more than 10 links to create when you add your first and not enough energy, you're screwed :/
As many has stated, the best strategy is to wait until you have enough energy and then, end the level in seconds. But as the game keeps going, the cycles are longer, the objective is bigger. You need to be patient, indeed.

The concept is interesting though, you worked on something where you can create non linear molecules/cells/organism. (Top-down view would have been better i think). There is still room for improvements, but for a 48h challenge, it's still a good job.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:29pm

-volume!

I really really tried to work out what to do but didn't manage it :(

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Totally agree with what Ben Lehman said ^^U

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:02pm

It was a little bit slow

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Nice idea, minimalistic but really cool :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Great audio cues! It takes time to get into, but it is an intriguing concept and an interesting take on the theme. Well done!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

As not-god, I have no clue what I'm doing!

jacklehamster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:03am

Nice ambiance and voicing. It really feels godlike.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:42pm

The god voiceover was a nice touch.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I think I failed to understand what to do, but seems interesting. I wish I had some tutorial or something like that.

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Nice entry, well done.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:36am

I don't really know how to put it nicely... but you made a game about waiting!

There is no point in creating the links early on since you can't sustain it, so you have to wait until you can link everything in one go... And you even made the timer longer with each level!

Jhelle says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Nice simple graphics, didn't really understand what to do and what I was doing. So you might want to make a tutorial for it :)

gwa says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:49pm

pretty cool even if i hate chemistry :)

swistakm says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:40pm

It looked very nice at the beginning but game is getting slower and slower with every level.
Short music loop doesn't help and make you wanting to close the game window.

Code White says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I don't understand the concept of the game. However, I will congratulate you on the music, audio and innovation ;)

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I must be missing something. Is there any purpose?
Ikeep adding and nothing seems to happen. It's slooooowwwww....

EnigmAraigne says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Simple, but well executed idea. The music is a bit annyoing, but overall I liked H.O.C.M.A.

JNyknn says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:55pm

One of the most personal concepts on this LD. Congratulations!

Oh, and plus for a (working) Linux version. Some kind of quit button would be nice, though.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:00am

the soundeffects are a little annoying over time, and the voice could be recorded in better quality. allso a little tutorial would have been nice.

uvwar says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Had no real clue what I was doing exactly and then my links faded and I eventually lost. Like others have said the wait times can get pretty unbearable. I liked the godlike voiceovers!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:36pm

I like the concept and the take on the theme a lot but the implementation of the idea is not at the same level. The only challenge is having patience because everything else is just direct.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:53am

Wasnt really sure what I was doing but I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/_5a2Oj9U9sk

TimtheBo says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:29pm

I don't I got the meaning of this game, but it did look nice.

Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:43am

Nice concept idea but I think you should rethink the waiting mechanic because it's not for everyone to like.

Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:30am

I'm writing this review while waiting for some energy to come. I like the mechanic of the game, but I believe making people wait 14 seconds for every action needed to progress is too much. Ooops, I died due to link health issues. If to evolve cell level to microorganism I needed 14 cells, plus 13 links, plus 13 heal link that makes 40actionsx14seconds/action = 560 seconds, or 9 minutes 20 seconds. I'd prefer I had limited time that expanded when doing the right action. So, in general I like this game, but life is too short to wait so much just to see the next level.

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:04pm

nice idea :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Cool idea and good use of the theme, but the execution could use some work. How you build things doesn't seem to have any effect later on, there's a lot of waiting, and the heal link button effectively does nothing. The audio is great though. I hope you can expand on this!

erdnuss says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Neat concept, the execution could have been better - it did not feel like the player had much choice about what to do.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]