Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hero of Elements

by donfabio - Jam Entry

You are the hero of elements who is destined to save the three connected elemental worlds.

Controls: arrow keys to move around, space to jump, 'a' to attack, space to respawn

Also check out Config/Graphics.cfg to change your resolution. The game is best experienced at 1920x1080 in fullscreen mode. :)

For the Windows build you might need the C++ 2013 redistributable package which you can get here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Edit: we now have a working emscripten build :)

Edit2: and now we have a Windows build. This build has the editor enabled so you can build your own levels! ;) Please note the script support is absolutely broken. Don't make any use of it, yet.

Controls for the editor are: tab to switch between game and editor, shift and click drag to move the camera, mouse wheel to zoom, left click to place a tile or select an entity, right click to pick a tile or delete an entity, 0 1 2 e to select a specific layer (e is for entities), alt drag to duplicate entities, in tile mode alt to display the tile palette.

Edit3: fixed the OS X build. The runtime search path wasn't set correctly and should now point to the bundled SDL2.framework. This build is Retina graphics capable. As with the Windows version you can modify the Config/Graphics.cfg within the bundle.



We made this game using our own engine based on last year's entry 'Ten Seconds to Apocalypse'. Only this time I added support for animated 3D meshes (although we only used them to animate textured planes). The editor is based on: https://bitbucket.org/donfabio/tilemapeditor
During the jam I highly modified the editor to be able edit the entities in game. This was made possible by the great https://github.com/ocornut/imgui
In the last 3 hours of the jam we tried to add a script system and broke everything horribly. We barely made an intro and outro sequence (using text boxes).
My buddy Johannes made all the vector graphics (tiles, backgrounds, characters) and animated them using Blender which he taught himself just before the jam. He also made all of the (partly sadistic (we scrapped one where there were fake portals to a small room with only one spike and your only option was to kill yourself)) levels. So I could focus on coding.

Even though I'm quite happy with the result, I have to admit the project was a little to ambitious for just two guys. The first two days were all spent on the engine and the editor and making all the assets. So the last day was quite stressing and we had to omit lots of planned things. Even such basic things like a menu.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#133Humor(Jam)3.21
#326Graphics(Jam)3.52
#417Fun(Jam)2.97
#434Overall(Jam)3.15
#450Mood(Jam)2.96
#610Audio(Jam)2.00
#615Theme(Jam)2.50
#726Innovation(Jam)2.09

Comments

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Looks great. I love how he fixes his hair constantly. :)

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Wow, that is difficult, the controls and movements are a bit buggy, but i enjoyed in anyhow, the more difficult the more i want to solve it :)
Well done.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19pm

the movment is a bit hard, but the game looks good.

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

I could not run either the web nor OS X version of this game (running OS X 10.9.4)

donfabio says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Polona are you using Safari? You might have to enable WebGL from the Developer menu or use a recent version of Firefox or Chrome. As for the native build I have no idea why it doesn't work. We tested on Johannes' (also 10.9.4) and my Mac (10.10 beta 2) and it worked...

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Nice game, is that a hugging bear or a bugging bear ? :D

Jaloko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Love the sprites and gameplay. I did however encounter a glitch where I fell into the spikes and got stuck and could not move. Overall very nice.

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Nice platformer!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Nice entry! I like the artwork and hero design. Punching a bear to death was pretty satisfying. The gameplay felt pretty solid. But the level design kind of lost me after awhile. Too many blind jumps where you can't see where you are going, which leads to restarting the whole level to try again and make it to the next blind jump to figure out where you need to land.. and restart the level.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28pm

This was hilarious. From how he constantly brushes his hair(the death sequence is the best) to the guys who charge at you trying to kill you (even though they fail do anything) to the level design (those platforms that launch you to other platforms before sending you into the lava)

Now if you'll excuse me, I'll be off to make a friend play this as well.

donfabio says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Thanks everyone. :) We really appreciate your feedback.

Jaloko: Where did you get stuck? This is because some spikes have the damage property set to 0 and 0 is the default value... I know it's stupid.

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:30am

Haha :D love the artwork!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

Smooth animations! Nice Job.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:34am

Dialogues at beginning was too fast, other that that - it's a nice platformer.

Cryunreal says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

funny
nice graphics

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Controls are too sensitive and platforms move in a weirdly unpredictable fashion. But that bear falling to pieces after I waved my hands at it for a while freaked the hell out of me. So it works well as a horror game.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I don't know why but this game reminded me of rick dangerous

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:51am

Hey there. Nice looking game. Love the fast pummel attack. Found the second level pretty tough. Shame no sound. Good job!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:32am

Dear god that's hard. Great level design. I got stuck on level 2 of the lava region :< Love the animations, but especially the little sections where enemies are just screwing around on the bouncy boxes or whatnot. It's good that the death animation is really funny, because I sure saw it a lot. It looks like he's about to cry: "O Tempora! O Mores!" Great job :D

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:27am

Thanks for showing this at the Frankfurt Independent Game Dev Meetup

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Silly little game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3H1YVzN-nuA

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Nice animations!

shashwat says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:31pm

The controls are realllly hard.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]