Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tall Tales

by Spencer Alves - Jam Entry

Enter the mysterious world of a book of old fairy tales. The book is worn, and some stories have fallen apart into others! Help Sir Knight the Magnificent finish his story by helping others.

Controls: WASD, and left mouse button to toggle zoom (important!)

It's far from finished, so expect some bugs. Pay attention to the text and illustrations to get an idea of what to do.

Attributions: http://www.boatcake.net/media/ld30/CREDITS.TXT

Made by Spencer Alves and Benjamin Alves.

EDIT: I've uploaded a "fixed" version that's at least playable from start to finish. Feel free to judge based on the old version, though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Innovation(Jam)3.80
#335Theme(Jam)3.26
#376Mood(Jam)3.10
#582Audio(Jam)2.25
#668Graphics(Jam)2.56
#676Overall(Jam)2.73
#705Fun(Jam)2.28
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23am

I couldn't figure out what to do at all. I click left mouse and a character walks around on the book and I can't figure out what to do next. The concept looks neat though!

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I've uploaded a "fixed" version that's at least playable from start to finish. Feel free to judge based on the old version, though (linked on the site).

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

IMO this fits the theme quite well. It was rather boring, but I still gave you 4 stars overall because of innovation. It just wasn't interactive enough for me, but, 72 hours :P

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I love the idea! Nice work, even though I'd like it more if it was finished! Keep it up!

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really original idea. I couldn't understand only why it flips to next page when I go at purple glow? I mean, isn't there other goal in each page?

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Wandered a bit and collected some things, gave it to some people, but really was kind of confused the whole time. Seemed like it could have been interesting with more explanation.
Pretty well silent, and graphics were not particularly great. All white and the text went over everything no matter where you looked from. Walking was very slow and the viewing perspective made it unfriendly to play.

Nut says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Took a couple minutes to figure out what I'm supposed to be doing, and how to go back and forth between pages. I finished a couple of stories, but when I went back to page 1 to finish that story I got stuck in the castle (I must have clipped through the wall somehow? But the gate is too small for me to exit). Nice idea, but would have been better in 2D without the zooming-in bit.

Moocowsgomoo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Very cool idea, and unique use of the theme.
I made the potato salad, but couldn't find an exit from there - is that the end?

parahunter says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Neat idea but really bugged. I could not even get to pick the helmet up even though I played the new build.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Very interesting concept. This could be a cool sellable game if you do really nice graphics and finish it.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:13am

I had a tough time making this game do anything, but I really love the concept of the story book coming to life. You should continue development!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

The idea of stories on a page coming to life is neat. :)

Boberro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:25am

Nice idea, look like you little overshoot. But yo, that was ugliest onion I ever saw :D

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

What's in my inventory... a key, potato salad, a mayor, and a dragon. That makes sense for a normal game inventory.

Seriously, this is a brilliant idea. I would have love to play more. This is a perfect kids game too. I thought the recipe page was funny.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:29am

Hi there. Very ambitious idea, have you read the Woody Allen short story "The Kugelmass Episode" ? Got to the Dragon cube but think that the game is somewhat broken, maybe you need to watch a few people play it for the first time to see how they get confused... Inventory button zooms back out of book, for example ? I hope you persist with this project. Good job!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:49am

Really nice idea and the gameplay is innovative. At least, I didn't see before hehe
Hope you can finish it later. It looks promising :)

Rustam says ...
Jun 2, 2017 @ 12:52pm

If you know about something that makes a place interesting, you can put scroll there and share it with the world. http://nova-project.ru To parents: imagine the entertainment this can bring kids.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]