Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Caves

by Birke - Jam Entry

A game about exploring endless caves, pondering life and admiring bezier curves.

Controls:
WASD - Directional thrust
Space / L Shift - Vertical thrust
Mouse - Turning
Left Mouse button - Fire Flare
Right Mouse button - hold to boost speed
Q - View current seed number & field to enter custom seed
Esc - Quit

Made by Alexander Birke (@AlexanderBirke) and Sam Chester (@SamChesterD)

Music via Newgrounds Audio Portal: by Anima Theory, Anthony Floccari, Xerferic and Beaker E-Music

I did a blog post on how the caves are generated:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/30/the-procedural-level-generation-in-connected-caves/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#51Mood(Jam)3.92
#69Audio(Jam)3.83
#146Graphics(Jam)4.00
#287Overall(Jam)3.36
#351Theme(Jam)3.23
#487Innovation(Jam)2.85
#548Fun(Jam)2.74
#579Humor(Jam)1.72

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09am

Visuals and sound reely cool. But the goal of the game?

eastes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15am

Nice procedural worlds!

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:17am

This is a nice game. I like exploring worlds and the graphics and musik really fit together.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24am

really cool graphics/sounds and the explorative feeling

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nice feeling of exploring new worlds, what's here is very well done, but lack much to do

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Love the graphics, they really make nice atmosphere combined with the sounds. The particles are amazing. :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Very beautiful. I enjoyed it as it is, but I wouldn't mind it being 'gamified' a bit by making collisions destroy your ship and making it a procedural race between portals. Just a thought ;)

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Fun to explore, nice graphics :)

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Controls are slightly unintuitive, but visuals are very good.

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Loved the atmosphere and being very suited to the theme. Other than exploration, actual gameplay felt missing any purpose. At first I thought the point was to collect and plant seeds from the dungeons. All in all one of the most impressive looking games so far, especially the tight and dark rooms were claustrophobic.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Excellent visuals and mood you set. It felt really cool exploring the creepy environment feeling like I discovered this world for the first time. The motion and controls were very fluid. Great job!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48pm

That is the best hovercraft ever. I only realized after exploring many caves that this was supposed to be endless and procedurally generated. This is excellent work, even though there isn't a game. The controls were great in my opinion, it was really fun flying that hovercraft around. Those strange triangle structures are interesting. Music and light effects are also spot on.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Nice game, I really liked the turbines.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Whoah! This game is totally fit the theme =)
Like the visuals and meditative atmosphere.
Well done!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:50pm

The aesthetic and control scheme are great, the changing music and environments set a nice mood but there's no gameplay to speak of. Even a few simple enemies chasing me to the portal would have raised this several notches.

Leaving 'fun' as n/a.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Kept freezing when I would click the mouse

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Great visuals

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Cool visual, I like the feel of being lost! I've got a terrible sense of direction, so some landmarks beyond the spikes on the walls would've been cool.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Nice haunting mood.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:49pm

The beautifully lit stalagmites in the caves and the haunting ambient music enchanted me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered breadcrumbing to targets to shoot?

Birke says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Thanks for the nice comments everyone. We are considering doing more with it at a later point. We want to make the cave generation more varied and also have hazards for the player. I have always loved the camera mechanic in Beyond Good and Evil so that would probably also make it into the game since it fits well with the exploration mechanic.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:09am

Pretty, pretty game ! I'm going to check out the blog post on how you did the random generation - I really appreciate the time taken to explain it!

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:10am

Incredible atmosphere. I really want to play a full game that lets you properly explore these environments. Having some more details and things to look at: such as different flora and fauna. A first person option would be nice as well to drink in the details. Fantastic work for the jam, and I'm glad I played it :D

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:10am

great work on the procedural worlds, I really enjoyed the atmosphere you created!
It would of been nice to see a little more variation in the caves to keep the player hooked, and promote more exploration
Overall a really great entry!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:48am

Very aesthetically pleasing with nice visuals and ambient sound. Was artsy-looking with some seeds and almost unsettling (in an atmospheric, good sort of way) with others. Spamming flares was fun. Good job!

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice atmosphere created with beautiful visuals and music but controls needs more work.
I also liked the non violent exploratory approach of this game (Noctis IV came to my mind as a good example). I hope you guys intend to work further on this one.

Birke says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:24am

Ha I did not know about Noctis. It seems like non violent No Man's Sky, for DOS :P

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Pretty graphics, but not that much actual gameplay.
Also, controls felt very off, hard to guide the ship into the tiny portal if it was facing vertical.

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Nice entry and good atmosphere, though the controls were a bit hard.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]