Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inversion

by EncryptedCow - Jam Entry

Inversion is a platformer where you switch between 2 characters in opposite dimensions. You must use them together to get to the end of each level.

I ended up having to work all three days of LD so I didn't get too much time to work on this, but it's something.

WASD/Arrows/Space to control your character and E to switch between them. Your goal is to get to the orange box on each level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#119Theme(Jam)3.72
#214Fun(Jam)3.33
#387Overall(Jam)3.22
#441Innovation(Jam)2.94
#578Graphics(Jam)2.89
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Wow that was super hard but liked the idea of switching back and forth in different dimensions. Good game :)

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Well done! Simple ideas are often the best. My reaction times always suck for timing jumps though.

Lyszie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:08pm

This is a cute lovely game, fun to play, I love the graphics and it's challenging but attainable! I can't stop playing haha

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:06am

You got a pretty good game going so far! I think if you worked a mechanic into the fact that the two characters can feel each other's presence it would be a solid little puzzle platformer.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:42am

Having the little hearts beep when you're overtop your partner is a skilful narrative touch! I also appreciate that you included some nice accel/deccel in the platforming physics; there's a good sense of sticky friction going on.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Pretty good. The movement was a bit too slippery but other than that its very well done. More levels, sound and music would have been good if you'd had more time.

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Kind of hard but fun.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Nice game, clever puzzles! Really wish there was some audio. Great work!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Reminds me of the Shift series. Neat little entry. Would have like to see the switching a bit more explored, than just used for collecting one thing in one world, and then switching to the other.

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Well done. Jump are may be to much nervous.

Snoother says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Overall it's quite fun, but the controls can be somewhat too slippery, particularly when jumping. And some music would have made the game noticeably better. But time constraints and work hindered you, which I completely appreciate. The premise and some of the puzzles are good though -- an interesting take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]