Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pluto or Bust

by IsaacL.Balogh - Jam Entry

Pluto or bust, connect the worlds in order of how many moons each world has but make sure you don't run out of fuel or air!!

controls:
tap/click - shoot the ship

note - Sitting on planets replenishes your air but not your fuel.


I intend to continue working on this, so here's the FIRST five levels. Sorry that there's no music or sound effects, this was my first jam alone so it was a learning experience.

Just a heads up to anyone who may care, I'm continuing work on the game! I've already implemented a number of fixes, levels and level select! more news to come!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#165Theme(Jam)3.62
#184Innovation(Jam)3.44
#186Fun(Jam)3.39
#186Overall(Jam)3.50
#270Graphics(Jam)3.63
#303Humor(Jam)2.59
#520Mood(Jam)2.84
#605Audio(Jam)2.06

Comments

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19am

I enjoyed playing this. It's a unique idea, and its perfect for mobile. I played it on a galaxy note 3 and I think I'll be playing it again in the future. Im not sure if it was just my phone but I didn't hear any sound. The bit at the end of each level where it shows you how well you did was also a bit slow. I was impatient because I wanted to get to the next level.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32am

Why you no Mac?

FakeHair says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35am

I enjoyed this. I'm curious as to why air regenerates while on the planet. That just encourages the player to take more time lining up their shots rather than try to complete the level as fast as possible. Maybe I didn't get far enough for that to change, but it seemed that way for me.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35am

I beat all the levels and think the game is really nice. I do think the adding up of the score takes way too long.

SonicRaptor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:17am

This game is amazing with just a small amount of polish(if any) and maybe more levels this game could be publishable, very nice work.

sikosis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18am

Enjoyable game. Shortening the time when a level finishes would be good, but that's just a sign of how, I wanted to play the next level :)

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Well done game, shortening the transition between levels would make this game really good!

FGM says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I like the gameplay a lot. Simple one button game, but fun. Maybe you could make the green bouncy thing's collision box a little smaller.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

Solid entry, with rather interesting idea, though it took me a while to notice that 1) I can control the direction of the ship by paying attention to that little ship-like thing rotating around the planet, and 2) the ship is launched in a direction from the center of planet, which is *perpendicular* to direction in which the ship is orbiting. ^^"

Aside from that, it was pretty fun to play, though that "3, 2, 1, GO" and fuel/air calculation at the end felt rather redundant, and I'd rather have them skippable. ;)

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Clever! How the spaceship is launched and can bounce in the environment.

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Great game, excellent interpretation of the theme :)

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Is it me, or is the ship often flying in the random direction? Probably I just don't quite understand the rules, despite going to a third or fourth level. It looks really nice, the idea is interesting, an I would probably play it on my phone.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:26pm

@RegularSlinky there's just no audio yet, not our phone!
@AndrewAdams because I don't own a mac
@fakeHair the way I saw it is that the planets have oxygen so if you're on them it regens, there will be planets that don't or that still use air though!
@kibertoad nope the ship never moves in a random direction it moves in the direction of the arrow the second you tap/click

I intend to shorten the count at the end of each level and appreciate all the feedback!

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:56pm

A fun mobile game. I would get rid of the countdown, and make the fuel and oxygen counting down shorter so that the game plays faster, and you keep your players engaged. Some more game elements would be cool. Fun game overall!

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I really like the simplicity of this game and how well it fits the theme. Very nicely done!

The amount of time that you have to wait at the level clear screen should be shortened a bit.

Ventura says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:28am

Very good map design. Nice idea for Android game and good graphics. Good job! ;)

Ramiel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Cool game. Except for the non-existent audio it felt like a complete game. I wish there were more levels.

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Great job! I loved this game.

bluesky says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:08am

Nice entry, well done.

mystakin says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:30am

This is super rad. Great start to what could easily be fleshed out into a full-blown Angry-Birds-style mobile game. Very impressed.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Please, for the love of god, stop making the player wait for no reason. This includes the splash screen, as well as the 3 seconds 'ready-up' time and the time it takes for the score to add up. Remove those waiting times or make them skippable, because else it is just annoying.

Also, since the levels were pretty linear, the moons or required order of planets made no difference. I would suggest removing this required order completely and let the players instead find out which order is the correct one. (You could make levels where multiple orders of planets are possible but only one (or some) makes you visit all planets.)

Also, the arrow indicating the direction of the ship could be bigger and better visible.

Having criticized all that, I have to say I really liked the artstyle and simple gameplay. Improve the game a bit and it would make for a great mobile game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]