Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

To The Stars

by andreblyth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A young tinkerer has built a radio that she hopes will communicate with extraterrestrials. What to say?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Mood4.17
#102Audio3.61
#165Theme3.78
#372Overall3.39
#378Graphics3.39
#381Innovation3.39
#904Fun2.63
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40am

If this is actually connected to a transmitter somewhere, I would love it. Otherwise, nice mood and great take on the theme.

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52am

I liked this. The way you had the camera pan out to an empty sky made a huge and effective use of the haunting beeps of the transmitter. I was expecting an answer back. It just hit home that there wouldn't be one. This woman is hoping to connect with another world, because I suspect she has trouble connecting to anyone on this one. Bravo :)

@stimpact

Liz England says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Wow. Played it a few times since it's short and a couple of the options really pack of punch. It's really got the sad, endless hope/hopelessness down. You managed to get a lot of feeling in for such a tiny game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58pm

That was really interesting, played through it multiple times too. Great work!

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30am

I have no idea why, but I actually really love this entry. It's ridiculously simple yet powerful at the same time. Good work.

rantt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39am

I really liked this, played this a couple times. The mood was great, you can read a lot into this, very deep. Nice job.

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

This was neat, to me I didn't get much of a sense of "connected worlds" since the communication seemed pretty one-sided. Definitely captures the feeling of loneliness very well. Having a response or reaction to the transmission may coincide with the theme more, but then the feeling of loneliness may be compromised. Good work!

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58am

That was very touching. It was really beautiful and peaceful. If you do a post-mortem version, I would suggest touching up the UI and fixing a slight audio glitch with the pinging. The pinging seems to crackle a little on each repeat. Otherwise really nice job!

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:00am

Very moody piece. I enjoyed it :)

Devtactics says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07am

Great, now I feel lonely! Nice pacing.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40pm

There's something very quiet and lovely about this. I actually like that your attempt to use the theme (connected worlds) is almost instead about a failure to connect worlds. Great work.

Wertle says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:31am

I love how you learn more about the character through the dialog choices, I just wish I could keep learning more. Some of the little sets of messages left me wanting more. It felt very sad and lonesome :( Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]