Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dare To Drive

by Linusson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dare To Drive is a simple 2D top down retro car game (made in Unity) in which your aim is to drive the lap as fast as possible.

The one thing that makes it complex is the fact that the track is divided between two worlds, so you need to switch between the worlds/views/tracks (using the space key) to be able to drive the whole lap.

And when you feel that you have got the world switching under control you better start using the Turbo key to get some decent lap times. :D

I just drove a few laps and managed 30.8 seconds, but it should be possible to go quite faster than that. So come on, give me something to compete against. :D

Controls:
Steering: Left and Right Arrow keys
Change between the right and left track: Space
Turbo: A

It might be good to know that if you try to change between the worlds (i.e. you press space) in the wrong place you die. Hint: the road is a bit darker in the warp zones. :)

Have a great day! :)

Edit: I added Mac and Linux versions. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#334Fun3.30
#418Overall3.34
#460Theme3.38
#569Innovation3.14
#704Audio2.42
#776Humor2.00
#819Graphics2.69
#944Mood2.50

Comments

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Very cool concept, and it plays nicely, great job!

You could do many fun things with this concept; e.g. if both tracks were *almost* the same you could flip between them to avoid obstacles or overtake other cars.

Pinqu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:03am

Nice game, but I think it would have been better to add a timer and make the grass slow you down instead of instant dead. This instant dead is got me a bit frustrated.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Nice - decent idea. Needs some traffic and a bit more speed

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Nice idea and the gameplay felt really tense. Some other racers would be great but I do understand the time constraints were a bit tight for this. I also felt maybe it could be a little more forgiving of driving off the track - perhaps a health bar or slowdown rather than an instant kill? Great fun though - I kept playing for quite a while to try to beat my time!

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice game, congrats!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Very cool! It was challenging and fun, and I really liked the idea of jumping between tracks. I think you could keep working on this and expand it a lot!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:11am

Good concept and not that often you see racing games in LD...
Great!

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I liked your idea of dividing up the track. Very innovative :)

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Its curious how i have been 15 mins trying to get a better time. 29.5! Good done!

local minimum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

It seemed as an interesting concept but the game was generally too hard for me. I would suggest either having easier initial level or allow player to accumulate damage when hitting the green areas rather than instant death.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

The instant death is pretty brutal, but it was refreshing to see a racing game for LD! It was very reminiscent of micro machines :P

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Nice use of the theme in a racing game. Controls were a bit tricky to get a handle on at first, but felt pretty smooth after that.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:08pm

I really like the idea of racing on two tracks like this! Being able to brake might improve a bit but other than that great entry!

albertnez says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I wouldn't expect a racing game with this theme. Liked the idea and enjoyed the result :P

Aglavra says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I think it would be nice to give several lifes to a player or gradually damage car when hitting obstacles instead of instant death.

Aevek says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Really cool concept. Very interesting mechanic to have switching between the worlds. I would have liked to see shortcuts that could only be accessed if you were in the right world though, to mean that there was some meaningful decision about switching rather than it just being something where you have to hit the button at the right time.

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:46am

Great job!

Linusson says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Thank you to all of you for playing my game and giving some feedback. :)

I know the instant death is pretty harsh, I ran out of time so I had to leave it that way. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]