Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Galactic Space Bus Driver

by Laddo D - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THE SUPER GALACTIC SPACE BUS DRIVER LEGEND BEGINS HERE

Congratulations! Today is your first day as a member of the illustrious fleet of space bus drivers. Please use your considerable talents to smoothly and quickly ferry around the fair citizens of the galaxy.

Just don't blow up, ok?

Controls:
Mouse Click: Spaceship Thrust
Space Bar: Spaceship Boost.

If you want to see other games by me, consider following me on twitter.
https://twitter.com/Laddo_D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#58Humor3.62
#148Fun3.60
#206Theme3.73
#315Innovation3.47
#339Overall3.42
#429Mood3.14
#445Graphics3.24
#528Audio2.75

Comments

Mano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

Fun a quite unique idea. Also the humor is there.

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

Awesome! I love the graphics, haha! Gameplay is pretty good too :)

jab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20am

I enjoyed shipping aliens around, but surprised how eager they were to jump aboard given my piloting skills...

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26am

Ok Cool. It's funny :)
Dialogs is unreadable, but it's cool, and unreadable. :)

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

Awesome! Really enjoyed it!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16am

I am amused. Fun game.

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16am

Pretty fun! Crazy Taxi meets Asteroids

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20am

Overall, an above-average entry; it was pretty impressive for a solo 48 hours. Once the bombs and weightlifter guys started boarding, it ended very quickly though. I do wish there was a high score feature.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

Couldn't keep track of all the races but other than that fun game!

KittyMac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

very amusing

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Really fun!

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Kind of like a sped-up crazy-taxi, in a way. Very frantic, and a lot of fun.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Quite fun space-bussing. The one thing I would consider is to not repeat info when replaying. Or have a toggle info off set to true when replaying. Might also keep the info really short (players hate to read, I've learned). Else it was quite nice.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Funniest game so far :D Made me laugh out loud :D Great job!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12am

This is pretty solid, well done! Very enjoyable!

varun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:14am

Great take on resource management concepts - enjoyed the graphics and humor!

dunin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

It's a really good idea! And works so well with the theme.
Agree with the fact of reading again the instructions is annoying on retry.
alien's characteristics are cool.
the control with the mouse is weird but it's my opinion...

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Unique and fun. :)

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Fun this, surprisingly tricky too!

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Haha super awsome. Too bad the range is low I like how cool and dangerous (but mostly cool) the boost is!

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Nice project. You are the only one using a taxi in space. Pretty nice idea :)

Eero Tuovinen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:43am

Very good for a competition entry. The basic gameplay is solid, and worthy of longer development; I especially appreciated the different passengers and their special rules, it is a fit idea. The theming is flavourful. The only superficial issue is that the quick pace of the game would favour making the passenger destinations clearer; with the graphical little planets and the solid-color arrows, and the short time you have to deal with the bombs and whatnot, the player is easily confused by something that could be simple. It would likely be worthwhile to put time-sensitive life and death issues like the bomb clearly on the screen, so the player instantly knows where to go to avoid dying.

To improve upon the concept further, seek a balance between the frenetic action of the space boost and time-limited customers, and the tactical aspects of customer picking and route planning; the game should alternate between moments of leisurely deliberation and bursts of action. For added depth, consider a strategic dimension where new planets (and types of customers) are added gradually and the bus itself is upgraded.

AdricZero says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:24pm

This is my highest rated game after about 30. This game has good depth without being boring, is innovative, and has great mood set by the music. Good work.

The only suggestion is after the first few times I would liked to have disabled the popup information dialogs.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:14am

Fun in general, but I zone was slightly bigger and it didn't give me instructions every time I had to restart. Good use of humor :)

schizokoa says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:15pm

It talks a tad too much, but it is great overall!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Most fun game of LD so far. Great work!

Nut says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:51pm

This was fun but the controls were really frustrating. I expected to have to click in the direction of thrust, not the direction I want to go, and this kept tripping me up. It's also really hard to slow down in space!

Squidtank says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I really enjoyed this game. I feel like it was a little hard to control the taxi but it wasn't too bad! It was a lot of fun and I loved reading about the different types of passengers. Once the bomb-passenger came on I exploded almost instantly.

dix says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Very nice little game :D Good job!

Hippolyta says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Cool game! Reminded me off "Crazy Taxi" - but in space :-)
Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]