Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dreamland

by edemmester - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Maybe this game is a bit weird... But it's funny, isn't it? Let's try it! Let's go to Dreamland!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#387Innovation3.38
#724Theme3.00
#1066Overall2.59
#1067Fun2.35
#1165Graphics1.94
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:43pm

wow... that background music! I couldn't figure out exactly what to do. Was I trying to match the right or the left in dreamland?

Either way, the take on the theme of dreamland being beaches and umbrellas, I thought that was a cool idea. Nice game, good work.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

I got to level 9 but I could make it further! Cool game. First thinking about the transformation between overworld and dream, and then trying to apply the same transformation to the goal world. Original!

jprogman says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:40pm

I couldn't get the rules of the game after trying a few times. After about like 10 attempts, I realized the concept. The "dreamland" is a bare field with tree seeds planted. Use parasols to cover areas to prevent tree growth, but the "dreamland's" field is at a different point of view. It's hard to explain the rules in words, so I would suggest a few tutorial levels so the player can get a better understanding by trying than words alone.
It's a clever puzzler, but I feel the life system isn't ideal to have. I can easily come back to where I've left off as the solution to previous levels remain intact.

Squidtank says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Thank goodness for an option to turn the background music off. It took me a few tries to figure it out. I think you could probably explain the instructions a bit better with a tutorial level or two. Overall it isn't bad, just a bit confusing at first!

whalebot says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:23pm

That organ music... haha :) a bit weird

Kojan says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:24pm

The game was quite funny (especially what you wrote). The concept is interesting too. However the music sounded a bit too "synthetical".
But good job ;) I loved your sense of humor

shashwat says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I lost so hard the first time. Then I understood the game. It's interesting! Finally finished it :)

MrP123 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Quite nice, but a bit difficult

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]