Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Growing To The Moon

by Stending - Jam Entry

Control :
Arrow Keys or A/D to move
Space to restart
Escape or P to pause
----------------
Our first participation to the Ludum Dare!
That was really fun, but really, REALLY hard.
The game isn't like we wanted, far from that.
But we have something pretty cool and playable, that's the principal!
----------------
If the game doesn't load, it's my host's fault.
Really sorry for that. :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#122Fun(Jam)3.55
#170Audio(Jam)3.50
#183Mood(Jam)3.48
#226Overall(Jam)3.43
#320Graphics(Jam)3.53
#371Humor(Jam)2.44
#518Theme(Jam)2.84
#627Innovation(Jam)2.55

Comments

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48am

I love these kinds of games! Great job, there was one area that made me rage and you happen to have it as a screenshot! I couldn't get through these!! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/wp-content/compo2/375043/25361-shot2.png

nice entry though!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54am

It would be nice if the numbers in the corner were smoother and if you had some room to recover if you messed up. Like the story and the outfits as you progress through the game. Clever.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27am

Nice game - well done!
Imho the controls need some polish ;-)

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:37am

Beautiful game. Loved how reaching an new stage completely changed the mood. Excellent use of narrative with the theme. Communicated the setting of the game very clearly, I was entertained by it :). Played through it all! Enjoy the story.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45am

Really nice game, I played it through to the end and enjoyed it. Graphics, audio and gameplay are all very good. Two small suggestions: The tail the player draws behind him looks kinda bad, maybe get rid of it or replace with a nice looking particle effect? And in one of the last levels, where you had to move the platform along with you, I kept clipping through the platform, which was kinda frustrating.
But these are minor complaints, overall the game is really good.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07am

I like the character progression! There a lot of similar games, but anyway this one is really good.

Stending says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Thanks for the feedbacks!
Yeah, there are some collision bugs,I didn't have the time to fix them :/

It's a rope behind the caracter. The point is to connect the Moon and the Earth with it. This is a symbol, I can't change it. ;)

Anyway, I'm really glad that people like it!
Thanks! :)

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Dammit, I did it, I send the character to the moon... The last part in space was so hard with the moving platforms.

I really liked the mood and the progression of your game.
Good job for your first LD :)

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Finished the whole thing. Enjoyed every part of it. Frustration included. Last lever was a real bi-othch.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I got to the moon! There were a few points that were super frustrating, there seemed to be a bug that was caused by you jumping up from the moving blue platforms onto a static platform that would stop you from being able to jump.

But that aside, thanks to the music and the lovely character progression I made it to the moon, beautiful!

MacronCPP says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Dark Souls of the "Doodle Jump" games xd. Buggy, but good!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Loved the intro with the music and the arts, it instantly brings poetry into the game. For now the in game arts are not as good as the intro, but I hope it might evolve. The gameplay is a classical doodle jump like, yet, it's very smooth for a ludum dare game, it's really neat. Plus the handcrafted level design, the checkpoint, the star collecting system, are well balanced so I don't wanna stop playing. Even when I died 15 times on the floor with breakable platforms, I continued without forcing myself. The first unfair thing I noticed is when spikes platform are introduced => I should not die on my way up through the spikes. If you want that feature, you need to add platforms with downward spikes :)
Anyway overall => great jam game.
PS:the sound effect for collecting star is very weird x)

Toubib says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Characters changes are fun, it's the only thing i enjoyed with the music...

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:34am

First five star overall score I've given this Ludum Dare. Very frustrating, dies 45 times, played for 15 minutes, but I'm glad I stuck with it. The art and music are both fantastically simple, and the story is D'AWWWWW :)

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:21am

Gameplay feels really smooth, fun to play. Graphics are pretty simplistic but they look neat.
Good job!

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:40pm

very smooth and VERY beautiful game! it's nice to sometimes play with these kinds of games now and then. i also liked how the character grew while ascending (gave me the feeling that the game is pretty deep or i just assumed it was).
good job!

barryrowe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:00am

This is an addictive game. Just frustrating enough to keep me playing! Smooth controls, and nice graphics!

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:19am

Smooth game, I liked the way music and characters change!
However the game turns really difficult after you become a doctor and you see the black block with vertical spikes... damn! ahah

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

That was amazing, very well executed. I loved how the idea of different ledges evolves during gameplay. Fun!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Oh I'm in love with this game.
I'm really not found of those infinite jumping games, but the fact that you integrate the story so closely, it's wonderful.

The difficulty curve is nicely done. Maybe some bigger spikes could render them more visible.

I really like all the music, I was almost sad to quit an era without having listened to the full tune.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Really nice, got stuck at some point, wanted to see the end!! This is nice that France is at the center of the world from Moon haha ;)

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

BOIIIING! :D

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:02am

Nice game, I reached the moon ! B-)

Pierrec says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:38am

An interesting take on doodle jump. The mechanics added in the last level were really interesting, and the difficulty well balanced. I would have played more if it was longer, but didn't felt it should be

tbam says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Really cute story, gameplay felt a bit derivative, but fun nonetheless!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:59am

Nice game and great idea. Needed something extra though, maybe just another visual element or effect to pad it out a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]