Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dreaming of Revenge

by oxysoft - Jam Entry

DISCLAIMER 1: The game is in an unfinished state :(
DISCLAIMER 2: The game doesn't have very optimized memory management
DISCLAIMER 3: Only tested on the latest versions of Firefox and Chrome

You are a man who was banished onto an island for becoming too influential by the Evil CORP, the shady and corrupted government of your city. Many weeks have passed since then, but the man has never cared to wander on the island, but what secrets might lie within?

After uncovering the magical relics of the island, the man discovers that whatever happens in his dream, will realize itself during the next day.

Difference from the real (theoretical) game:
- You begin with all dream powers unlocked
- Only the bottom section of the map has anything spawning in it
- There is no scoring
- Powers have no usage delay
- There is no lucidity counter
- There is no cool radio that announces what has happened during your dream (though the sprites are made)
- Fissured road remains fissured forever
- Lightning strikes have no screen shake (thank you phaser!)
- Earthquakes have no screen shake (thank you phaser!)

The game will more likely than not be finished as a post-compo game!



Keys:
(ISLAND)
Z - slash/go to bed
Arrow keys - move the hero

(DREAM REALM)
1 to 6 - set active power
Z - use selected power (if applicable)
Arrow keys - move the pointer, lock onto entities
W - wake up the hero



Team:
Me, Programming
Roy Nathan de Groot, Pixel art & mapping



Credits:
Phaser.js, the source of much frustration :@
Live.js
Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Graphics(Jam)4.44
#390Humor(Jam)2.40
#486Mood(Jam)2.91
#506Theme(Jam)2.88
#512Innovation(Jam)2.80
#602Audio(Jam)2.08
#604Overall(Jam)2.88
#699Fun(Jam)2.32
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39am

Little too much walking for my tastes, but the game looks great and its a cool idea

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Graphics are cool, but that sound when picking things up was annoying...
Needs more people exploding when hit by lightning...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Hey, this is neat! I couldn't figure out when to use most of the powers, though, and I think it could have really used some music to back my cathartic rampage of revenge. I liked the graphics and the concept a lot, and your UI is pretty damn good. Thanks for the game!

oxysoft says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I had to give up on polishing towards the end or you wouldn't even had been able to go to bed :(

Instructions for each powers:

1. Uncoded, would have been to cause citizens to throw themselves under vehicles
2. Lock onto a vehicle, press Z
3. Lock onto a fire hydrant, press Z (no animation for them blowing up and shooting water though)
4. Lightning, press Z anywhere
5. Lock onto a road fissure spot, press Z (indicator isn't done, but there's a spot on the road at the very bottom)
6. Earthquake, press Z anywhere (no screen shake added yet :( )

oxysoft says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

And yeah, I did have a feeling the walking would be a bit too much. The initial idea was to have kind of like a survival game outside of the dream world. The thing is that you would die and lose the game if you were not back to your hut by night, so powers farther away from home such as the one on the mountain would have been harder to get. Definitely making a post compo of this game though!

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19pm

So nice tile set and mood! Please make a post compo version, with much-much more action and less walking :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

a little glitchy haha

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53pm

A lot of awesome artwork in here, man. As you pointed out in the description, there's still a lot of work to be done. The dream realm is also a little confusing. I don't know what I'm doing or why I'm doing it, but there's a lot of potential here. Hoping to see a finished version one day, I'd definitely check it out.

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice idea, awesome graphics! Pls finish it :D

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Nice entry, cool little game.

villetou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Awesome graphics and nice idea! Definately worth finishing :) Needs a bit of story/tutorial/tips inside the game to know what's going on.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:59pm

man the graphics are really amazing. I ended up just walking around on the island looking at all the pretty things lol. I would recommend setting pixel smoothing to false to help with the blur/jittery look the player gets when moving, but otherwise this is really cool, would love to see a more developed version! :)

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I agree with IAMSpencer, it felt a little jittery to me which was a bit distracting. Art was great, but I felt a bit lost without a story or direction in the level.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:07pm

I was really intrigued, but couldn't play much since the dream scene would fade to black and never come back after 2 seconds. :/ The island mode seems like a solid start, and I like the concept.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:49am

shows promise! I hope you continue to work in it

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:16pm

It lacks a lot of elements, but the idea seems interesting.

Retr0spectrum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Is the server down at the moment?

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:20pm

web link isn't available.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:41pm

The link seems to be down for me. I might check back later, this game seems interesting.

Patacorow says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Wish I could play it! Website is offline :(

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Agreed with the previous four gentlemen.

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Link is dead :(

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:05pm

website no longer available

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:31pm

I just walked around for a few minutes and nothing happened...The I pressed Z a few times, then W and I saw some building and a truck for a few seconds and the screen went black...

Aglavra says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Great idea, it would be very inteersting to see a finished game.

Shmackson says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Some awesome graphics and animation. Game shit out as soon as it switched into the truck stage, probably more my computer's fault though. Good job!

DrCicero says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Well there is not really any point of doing anything, currently. looks good though.

Did you know you can center a block (horizontal and vertical!) with CSS by {position: absolute; top: 0; left: 0; right: 0; bottom: 0; margin: auto; width: *; height: *;}?

oxysoft says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I probably should have removed the W key when you are on the island. It was a debug tool to immediatly switch to the dream world and since the W key is also assigned to waking up in the dream world, the result is quite broken

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]