Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

DON'T. BREAK. MIRRORS.

by IamAcoconut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Seriously...They will break you back!
You play as the reflection of Alex. Alex is addicted to looking at himself in the mirror. One day his sister gets fed up with his constant staring, and slams the mirror out of his hands. By doing this she broke the mirror, and you (the reflection)! Now you must deform Alex, so he looks like you, or you will never be his reflection again!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#199Humor3.02
#650Theme3.13
#741Audio2.33
#908Mood2.56
#1119Innovation2.18
#1133Fun2.10
#1133Overall2.44
#1179Graphics1.79

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50am

Intro sequence decent, but drags on a bit. MS Paint graphics, lol. The actual game wasn't what I expected at all - I was expecting some kind of mirroring puzzle game, but instead all I got was a simple side-view fight.
Nice that you managed to get a game out though :)

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41am

cracy game! :)

rantt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:50am

Interesting concept, the story was pretty amusing. I thought it was pretty funny.

hyouko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:53am

Well, that was strange. Doesn't seem like Alex has learned his lesson; better stab him with glass some more.

Tritax says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:36am

Would be great to be able to skip that intro after you've watched it once .. the second/third time through really starts to drag on.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:41am

That jump sound was loud! Other than that, it was quite simple but I can see an interesting idea presented. Would be nice if the hit detection was better and have more content but nice job on putting together a game!

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54am

Didn't expect the twist. Congrats on finishing!

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24am

The intro was too long and the game too short, other than that a nice game ;)

gnuwind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56pm

good story. Thanks.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Well, this gave me the goosebumps. Crazy ide, but after all, I enjoyed it. Maybe you should fix his hand while jumping.. it come out from an unusual place for an arm. :D

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44pm

I'm with @wolfmother, I sort of expected something like "Interdimensional Puzzler" by little-burrito.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36am

So weird. Hahaha. Nice one! Love the music, btw.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:55am

It's really funny, but not much of a game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Funny game (^_^). I would just suggest more careful with the commands action and animation.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:51am

I really liked that one tarantaraaa~ SFX. Cutscenes drag some and are unskippable, which I found frustrating when I went back to replay a few times. Information on controls would have been helpful. I felt genuinely horrified at the idea, though, which was very... well-thought-out. Thank you for the game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Hi there. I thought the animation sequence was interesting, but not really part of the game... oh maybe it is ... hmmm... The game itself (vs. Alex) was pretty tough.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:56pm

That was really strange. I like the evil laugh at the end when you win.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:26am

Interesting way to tell a story, but not much gameplay, except for the "boss battle" - The story was surprisingly intriguing though :)

Aomeas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:13pm

The intro made me think that the game would last longer :3
That was short but it fits in the theme!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:25am

So saaaaaaaaaaaaaaad. A pretty fun experience, well done!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:52pm

A short game with a big moral message.

Not enough games these days have such strong moral messages for the kids. This was a short game that was a REFLECTION on our looks-obsessed society (see what I did there).

The only improvement I'd suggest is to have a way to skip the dialog, or move it along a bit faster.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I love cool takes on the themes like this. Funny and creepy at the same time, though Alex seems to take it all in stride... Not a whole lot of game, and the intro and retry sequences were a bit long-winded; it wasn't bad enough for me to lose interest, though. A short, fun experience in all. : )

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Would be nice not to have to start over entirely after losing the mirror battle. Interesting idea

TheGreenTie says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Deepest plot twist... really.

shatterhand says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:02pm

The intro drags on for too long, and like it has been said, there's not a lot to play. I nearly gave up thinking there was no gameplay at all with such a boring and long intro with no way to skip it.

romandtom says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 6:42am

liked the main idea very much :))

Dohan says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:53am

Wow, the ending was creepy... Great idea!

cardboard says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:55pm

The intro is cool, but should be skippable, so that I don't have to watch it before each play. I like the story!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:41am

Cool concept, and the ending was cool to get to! Like someone else said, having a way to skip the intro would be really neat. It's something that's more for a "polished" experience, but I think it really contributes to the overall enjoyment. :) Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]