Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Brobots

by Sam Oates Games - Jam Entry

Overview
-------------------------------

An online multiplayer free for all third person shooter, where the player controls a Brobot.
The first player to reach a score of 25 is the winner.

Drive through the center portals to teleport to a different world.


Team
-------------------------------

* Programmer - Sam Oates
* Programmer - James Fitzpatrick
* Artist - Ross Beardsall


Controls (Keyboard and Mouse)
-------------------------------

WASD - Drive
Mouse Move - Aim
Left click - Shoot
Tab - Show scoreboard

Controls (XBox Controller)
-------------------------------
Left Thumb - Drive
Right Thumb - Aim
Right Trigger - Shoot
Right Thumb Down - Show scoreboard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#289Graphics(Jam)3.59
#299Humor(Jam)2.60
#353Overall(Jam)3.27
#368Theme(Jam)3.19
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#435Innovation(Jam)2.95
#481Audio(Jam)2.79
#536Mood(Jam)2.81

Comments

KamikaziUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Great game. Very impressive for such a short time.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:28pm

The gameplay needs some improvements, it is very difficult to control it. But good concept.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:15am

The controls are bugged, but it's a good game. It can be improved. I download the source. I hope you don't use WTF Photon, but instead RakNet. Well done ++

stasss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Really impressive for ludum format!!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:26pm

It's cool how you made a multiplayer game in a jam but it lacks polish (naturally give the time limit). Maybe add a real time render texture to the portal and give it a wobbly effect, also maybe some reason to go there like a capture the flag game. Also tanks should be less slidey I feel. The camera goes through scenery which obscures your view. Other than that very impressive.

Datamosh says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

A little lonely when I tried it. It is VERY difficult to control but looks good!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:35pm

The controls are a little bit hard, but a multiplayer game in under 72h is no small feat :P

ponk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Pretty cool!
Impressive work!

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Bit hard to control, but very impressive!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Looks like a lot of work was put into it! Good job

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:49pm

The idea is neat but the controls were exceedingly hard. Props however for creating all this is the time frame.

draxov says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Nice visuals, the concept is a fun little game which can be quite intense at points.

The only snags are the controls feel like it's on ice and the weapon feedback is rather pitiful, needs more oomph!

skiddings says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Didn't have anyone to play with :(

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I didn't have anybody to play with either; I really wish I had. I miss Battle Tanks

TehSkull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Fun gameplay. Needs a lot more players. Maybe post it up on a site like Kongregate?

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Cool idea and really neat graphics. The controls were a bit too sensitive. I was upside-down a lot.

dook says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Very impressive with a little multiplayer game for a LD entry. The controls were really difficult, though, and a crosshair would have been nice :)

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Somewhat difficult to control, but otherwise cool game.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:06am

Nice take on the theme. Controls are a bit off, but loved the graphics and the feel - you should've kept the music from the main screen going through the game as well:)

muriel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:10am

I love the art and the graphics ;)

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:11am

Very cool! I always love multiplayer games in ludum dare - it's just a shame I didn't find this earlier when more people were rating! I was able to play a game with two other people and it was a lot of fun, though it could have been more fun if I could talk to the other players. The controls were a bit weird too, I was able to flip myself over and then my movement started completely defying the laws of physics! Despite this, awesome entry! I also appreciate the double bass drums in the soundtrack ;)

Dohan says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I found no one to play it with, this game seems to be a lot of fun :(

The steering is a bit hard, and a crosshair may help to know where are you aiming. I like the party hat on top of the brobot XD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]