Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

fyuse

by cy4n - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TIP: Move in one single direction to encounter the higher tier enemies!

*This game is played entirely with the mouse.

CONTROLS:
LMB: Drag & move core
RMB: Click to shoot

You're a lonely planet, floating around in an empty space...with others just like you.

But somehow.. you're different.

You can fuse your core planet with the others floating around in the matrix. Wait, what?

Yep! Take them down and you can defend your core, and even get weaponry. The boss awaits from afar.. if you can fuse enough, you may be able to take it down.

Challenge: Beat the boss in the shortest time possible!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#297Innovation3.50
#366Fun3.26
#397Theme3.45
#613Overall3.16
#827Humor1.93
#982Mood2.43
#987Audio1.47
#993Graphics2.37

Comments

cy4n says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56am

Please note that there may still be minor bugs as the game hasn't been extensively bugtested. Reporting them would be appreciated!

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

The movement is really satisfying! Nice concept :)

jomomomo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04am

Can't play windows games. :-(

ShivanHunter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07am

Some way to resize the field of view would have helped, I couldn't really see where I was going after picking up tons of planets!

ShivanHunter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08am

also, ditto sharpcoder's comment about movement. Quite fun.

lokijki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10am

Not sure if I've got a bug or I just don't understand how to play; There are only 75 circles in the game, and I can collect them forever without anything changing.

cy4n says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

@lokijki - gotta go farther than where you start. the 75's should count as shields for the later areas

Weaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38am

This is really fun!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38am

Moving around and kicking other planets (are they?) through the world was so satisfacting :)

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

great take on the theme

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01am

Interesting core mechanics - with a prettier skin, this could be a pretty awesome game!

cy4n says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10am

Fixed a numbering bug, redownload if already did!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25am

Awesome movement controls! Love it!

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

Didn't quite understand it but it was fun and the theme interpretation was top notch.

ianh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53am

LOVE this mechanic. The accumulation feels satisfying in a Katamari-Damacy-ish way. I feel like there's tons of possibility here... your camera could zoom out as you take on stronger and stronger enemies. You could have different types of enemies which influence your growth. I'd definitely buy a more fleshed-out version of this.

cy4n says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59am

@ianh thanks! I did plan the camera zoom out for this game actually, but with no time (and no sounds!) I couldn't put it in. Maybe I'll make a post dare version...hmm

dvdking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12am

It would be great if collected enemies were not only your armor, but also could shoot.

Overall at current state the game really feels unfinished. If it had some sound and music it would be radically different experience.

cy4n says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14am

@dvdking they can! just, only certain types...

and yeah, totally agree

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14am

I love poking other ._.

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

Chrome says the file is malicious. ._.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41am

Sorry, can't play it on a mac.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Best movement ever. Those 1000's look really big and deadly. Added to favorites.

ebolbe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Original

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Really cool game mechanic and fitting for the theme, nice job! :)

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

neat concept. I feel like the progression is a little unclear, and it would be nice to have an arrow pointing me in the direction of the next challenge. Fun game nonetheless, though.

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Fun game, could have used some sound. Good use of the theme.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Pretty interesting. Kind of difficult to get used to the controls at first, but by the end the controls don't really matter... My thing got so big it didn't fit on the screen, let alone at the same time as boss. Not sure if I killed it or not, but I'm thinking not. No sound, and graphics are alright, but the grid sometimes doesn't draw the last line on the right. Fun while it lasted, but eventually became mindless.

se1by says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Pretty nice, some Sound effects would make it fancier.

Gaeel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I became a massive ball 'o death so I couldn't see my enemies any more...

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:34pm

fun game! might have been better with a zoom-out key/function as you got bigger.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I love the movement mechanic! Collecting planets was really fun too. I wish there was some sound, but everything else was well polished. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]