Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Interplanetary Armada Defense Squad vs. The Neverending Saucer Fleet

by alangamebot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Save the planets from the never ending onslaught of flying saucers. Each quadrant has different ship controls -> Regular, Reverse, Rotation and Vertical. You lose if any of the flying saucers make it to the planets.

Made using Unity, Paint.net, and sound effects from freesound.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#436Innovation3.31
#534Fun3.07
#643Theme3.14
#729Audio2.37
#751Overall3.00
#783Graphics2.75
#812Mood2.70

Comments

rooter4 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24am

Cool concept, and it was fun. I just thought it got really hard quick. Also, trying to focus on reading the title screen while it moved like that made me a bit ill.

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46am

Pressed enter, couldn't get it to start :( Sorry!

alangamebot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Hmmm… I just noticed that. I think the window is losing focus. Just click on the window and then hit enter and it should work.

breadstix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:11am

I thought this was a very cool concept. The sound was a bit loud but was fitting for the game. Enjoyable game for me. Good job!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:12am

It was an interesting concept, however I agree that it gets very difficult very quickly. Nice music though, it seems fitting.

rantt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:13am

Neat idea, it was fun...hard...but fun... lol

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:18am

Nice concept, however it's kind of hard to figure how to play at the beginning

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:01am

I like it. A creative concept that it still quite intuitive and fun! It was pretty laggy at times, and got real hard, real fast.

Reading the names of each side made me laugh a little :)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Very interesting concept with quite nice execution. Sound effects were a bit too loud and there was so much of them all the time that it overloaded me a bit.

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Cool concept! Great work!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:01am

Neat concept. The game got kinda laggy when firing too fast however.

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:48pm

I like the idea of the game but I think the game is a bit too complicated/difficult. Good job anyways! :D

vogon101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Really nice idea

bluemaroo3 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Fun little game. Love the concept.

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:06am

Good game. Nice idea and strong use of the theme. It would be nice to have 'lives' so some defence ships can respawn. Also, it's a small thing but I'd like the game to end when a ship is killed not 10 seconds later - games that make you play on for a bit even after you know you have lost are a pet peeve of mine (I've not marked you down for that, just saying :) ).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]