Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

RED Thread

by NickZangus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An Ancient Chinese proverb says that "An invisible red thread connects those destined
to stay together. The thread can be tightened or tangle, but will never be broken".
Two lovers... two hearts... two worlds... ...connected by a strong link
But in real life, if this link is put to the test, it can break...
Don't let distance or adverse circumstances (even a lava lake!) dissolve this link...
Keep it ALIVE!

*NOTE*
Except the resolution of critical bugs that affect gameplay, I will not posting new versions until the end of Ludum Dare voting stage (15 Sep 2014). Follow the game on Game Jolt for future updates!
________
CONTROLS
Right/Left Arrows - Move Right/Left
Up Arrow - Jump
Down Arrow - Switch Character
A/Z - Shorten/Elongate Thread
__________
POST-COMPO
I will add:
-More levels
-Soundtrack
-Less slippery floors
-Less slick surfaces
-Less icy platforms :-)
-Screen-shake!
-More in-air control
...other suggestions? Let me know!
_______
TWITTER Do you like RED thread? Do you want to know about future updates? Follow me on Twitter! https://twitter.com/NickZangus
_____
EMAIL NickZangus@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#45Graphics4.23
#71Overall3.84
#109Theme3.87
#124Mood3.61
#124Fun3.65
#133Innovation3.80
#199Humor3.02
#482Audio2.81

Comments

thedashdude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:32am

Really fun, but it felt like ice physics.

anssipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37am

Wow... Awesome entry! even its unity...

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

Wow, first game played this Ludum Dare and it's a corker! Beautiful concept, elegantly executed. I loved Balancitos so knew I would enjoy this. Great stuff!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33am

Awesome parallax. Good puzzle.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36am

Amazing game! The sliding of the characters took a while to get accustomed to. I'd prefer more stopping control for this kind of platforming style, though.

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:38am

I love this game. Nice concept and graphics, and nice perspective change when moving from side by side. I hate the inertia of the lovers.

rex64 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:53am

Extremely well done!

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

It sometimes felt like you were on ice

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Very interesting mechanic, love the use of theme. Graphics are fantastic, and the 2D/3D effect is amazing :) Only criticism, like the other commenters, is too much sliding

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:15pm

I'm in love with your graphics! Great concept, neat little game.

Slooowpoke says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Sliding was a pain in the arse. I like the idea and the game is very polished. The sliding was my only real complaint and maybe the SFX were a bit loud. Apart from that its really well made! I don't have much at fault with it.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

What a lovely game! Very nice graphics, good balance, nice levels... With a bit of touch-adjustment it would be perfect as iOS/Android casual game, I can totally see it working on mobile devices, the style looks production ready.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Fun mechanic, the physic of the link is creating nice dynamic.
I had some troubles with the friction on ground, and the edge limit to jump, but this are details.
As always: Love wins, Lava burns.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I really liked!
This form to use 3D with fixed camera to simulate a 2D with perspective was amazing! Graphics simple and charismatic ^^
But the the controls is difficult and everything look made of ice!

sapermysz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Very nice conncept

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Very nice game!. Only thing to complain is that the sliding in the floor is not very nice.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23pm

This game fits the theme perfectly. I love the "3D" camera. But the floor is very slippery :D :D :D

Wertle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I love the concept and wish I'd gotten to do more levels with the string lengthing/shortening. I got stuck on the level with the lava balls because the tuning on the jump and movement is such that it's very easy to overcorrect on the ground but undercorrect when in air, so those precision jumps are killer. Definitely something that can be tuned, though. I also had a little simulation sickness with the rotating of the camera, even though it was a neat visual effect. Nice work.

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57am

An awesome submission. Plays well and looks even better!

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25am

Finally a Unity game that with a correctly labelled Web entry and that has unique style and doesn't look like crap. Well done!

The game was really fun but a bit hard to control sometimes, especially the jumps. Also A/Z doesn't really work well on non English keyboard layouts.

But I really enjoyed it!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

I love the camera work here, the tilting and movement of it.
It is also one of the few platformers i am seeing here that does not consist of the old upside-down double world gimmick.

The controls couldve felt a bit tighter, but the physics of the bond worked really well. Very good entry.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Wow! That' a lot of work for a Compo entry. Tighten up the physics and you have a real winner here...

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39pm

This is beautiful, very nice

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Neat! I like the graphics , and It's hilarious because it seems like they don't care when the other one dies. They just make a face like "meh, whatever..." xD

The controls are a bit rough and slippery, but it was pretty fun overall . Nice job :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Nice interesting gameplay, very nice art style. Well done!

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56pm

cool game

Donar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I really like the thing you did with the perspective. I think the controls feel a bit weird but still a nice game.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Visuals looking good. Like how world rotating.
Can't beat level with falling fireballs from top. Because of non-responsable controls.

Fortyseven says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Terrific idea, and looks great! If the controls for platforming were a bit more forgiving, this would easily be among the top ten here.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Really smart mechanic and sweet presentation. Really great work!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Good game, enjoyed playing it :)

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19pm

We are always crossing lava pits for them

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Very pretty game! That small tilt of the camera when you switch characters is a nice touch. In the level with the many high platforms going up and down the controls felt a bit too imprecise and the jumping sound good a bit annoying. Otherwise really good job.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Super cute game! It felt really polished.

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:40am

Really cute! Nice use of graphics. Controls could be a bit tighter.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:25am

Amazing work man, the only criticism I have is that the controls were pretty loose. The graphics, concept and design were phenominal! I really enjoyed the little touches like the physics blocks when you die and the slight change in perspective when you move horizontally as well.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:12pm

The final level was a bit of a struggle, and I kept misusing the 'shorten' button and getting stuck. But by slapping my keyboard a few times I discovered that pressing Z would lengthen the string again. I don't think you said that anywhere in the game, and I guess it wasn't necessary to do for most of the levels. I like the aesthetic and the parallax effect.

pLaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Nice art style. Well executed! Controls are a bit fiddly on QWERTZ-Keyboards ;)

Pinqu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Very nice :) Great concept and good looking final product.

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

I like this very very much.

nikki93 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:57am

Loved the graphics and idea. But I couldn't get A/Z to work on my keyboard. :(

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

The controls can be a bit finnicky, but other than that: great game!

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:43am

Well made! I love the way you switch between characters graphically! :)

pythong says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

cute little game, love the 3dview effect

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

Love the look of this entry - cute character designs and the perspective shift as you move across the level and switch characters is a subtle and perfect effect. The controls were a little touchy, leading to a few frustrating deaths, but the level designs were effective. It seemed like the levels should restart after death, so that platform placement is the same each time you make an attempt. It was most noticeable on the level with the six vertically rising platforms - after some deaths, I'd have to wait a bit for the first platform to be usable.

Awesome entry overall - looking forward to seeing a post-compo version if it comes about :)

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

Another great entry! Awesome, loved the graphics and the mood.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Great entry! I love the visual style, especially the camera effect when you switch characters. The characters are super cute, too. The gameplay works well, a bit tricky at times but original and fun.

Boberro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Very solid, very self-contained. Great entry.
Unfortunately I had a bug that doesn't let me finish the game - sometimes thread does not change it's length unless you switch characters.

Cash says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Pretty good,good job doing something awesome in only 2 days

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:11am

Super well done. Very nice graphics, and smooth gameplay. I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/1LqxxVg5Vuk

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:39am

I really like the swifting of the levels perspective as you move from side to side. Fun simple and clean graphics. Interesting concept, first time I have seen this!

doomista says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:53am

Too much sliding, web version has very badly placed spawn points, it keeps killing the characters, awesome graphics and concept

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:52pm

This is a great, original, well-executed game with an excellent core mechanic. The slight 3D look of it only adds to the overall feel.

I felt the sounds were a little generic (bfxr?) and the absolutely cute graphics are crying out for an equally cute soundtrack.

Overall - great game.

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Very good game! I've curse everything while trying to pass the the level with upcoming lava, very hardcore :)

lorniebear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I really like it! Especially the look on her face when he dies!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Very nice game. Congrats!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Very well polished, good entry.

Allchimik says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:58am

The downloadable version of the game crashes at the end of each level. But the game is really great.

NickZangus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:11am

@Allchimik Bug resolved... Thanks for reporting it!

xandy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:53pm

amazing take on the theme and fantastic gameplay!

ramoncb says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:14pm

the game has a really 'tied' gameplay! (sorry the bad joke! xD)

really nice! good job!

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Great game, only complaint is the friction

Erkberg says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Nice mechanic, lovely visuals, good job!

egos says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:40am

love art style i try to win every time with rope control but .... not

GFM says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:33am

The camera movement is really interesting. I don't think I've seen that before! :)

The game is also fun. I liked how the thread constraint the movement. It allowed some interesting gameplay. :)

syauqy says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:47am

awesome, like this!! :D

Simon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:22am

Very cool game to play and looking good too. I like the way you interpreted the theme, this is exactly what I feel is behind this theme. The jump control is a bit weird but overall this is really a great entry, good job!

Naytron says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:16pm

How did you achieve the anaglyph effect? The whole thing looks fantastic and super polished. Difficulty was just right for the length of the game. Great concept and execution.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Great art style and cool mechanics. The camera was very unique and set a good mood. On level 2, the characters kept sticking to walls which I thought was a bug, but looking back I had just shortened the thread by accident, before I knew that was possible! Overall, I enjoyed it!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Pssst! You are in todays episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXaZCdM5i9o

sputnik says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Very nice! Really good entry!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Love the graphics! Innovation 5 stars! Awesome game, well done!!

RevoluGame says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:28am

Really nice ! Good job

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:10am

Great idea and awesome execution - maybe a bit more friction on the ground to prevent sliding...

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:59am

I think the core gameplay hook here is my favourite of all the LD entries I've played (100+ now). Really well done Nick!

Snoother says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Really good gameplay mechanic with some well-thought out level design.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:21pm

This 3D background effect is really nice! Others already talked about my basic complaints like the physics, but anyway good job!

Jedi says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:38am

This is awesome! Love the minimal style with the tiny bits of flair.

There's a little bug that occasionally keeps me from moving one character left or right, despite how many times I switch characters. I wish it had music, too.

Other than that, it was really fun! Well done!

Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:05pm

pros:
+ graphics!
+ those visual effects!!
+ super sweet!
+ design and concept!!

cons:
- tiring, stereotypical gender representations
- too hard for me!
- slippery controls

great work overall!

gillenew says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:41am

Very well done and nice style too :)

local minimum says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Great graphics, fantastic structure for a puzzle platformer and really fun and smooth playing. That said, one thing felt like a real pity and shadowed the experience. You set out with a nice symmetrical love scenario. My problem is the gender biases and the heteronormativity. Especially in the first couple of levels the female character lack agency, especially on level two when she is put in a pit. For all or most levels you start out as the blue guy. None of this is really inherent in your symmetrical premise. Rather it is completely unnecessary. Don't get me wrong. This was a really good game, and I rated it high in general.

My three step suggestion program:

1. Randomize which character gets placed in which position.
2. For each character, instead randomize independently if it is blue or pink. Which would give a 25% B-B 25% P-P and 50% B-P/P-B outcome.
3. Randomize all character decorations not only color independent of the other decorations. Specifically, have the eye-lashes equally probable on blue as on pink.

simplesmiler says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]