Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

RGB Worlds

by x1212 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Reconnect the worlds of red, green and blue after you accidentally split them.
Fly your UFO (arrow-keys) and switch between and connect the worlds (numbers).

My tests with the exported web-version were very unstable (didn't manage to play through in my quick test), I will try to fix that, but please use one of the other versions if possible.
Linux Users might have to give the binaries permissions to run as program, as I packed everything into one zip for everyone.
I didn't test the Windows-version (at least not on Windows but with wine on Linux) or the OS/X. If anything goes wrong let me know.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#468Theme3.37
#724Fun2.86
#729Innovation2.93
#766Mood2.75
#776Humor2.00
#825Audio2.17
#868Overall2.89
#1083Graphics2.19

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36am

Very nice game, quite difficult. Took me a while to figure out that you can only pickup the enhancers when using the proper color setting.

x1212 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:23am

Thanks for the feedback.
I wasn't sure how much to tell the player without breaking the puzzle-aspect of the game, but yeah with the markers being so small and in case of some items in a different color to what colorsetting they are in is confusing.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

"Easy" is not so "easy". The game could be a bit faster.

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

A really nice little minimalist puzzler. The level design was well thought out and balanced. Good work.

voxel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:00am

Not rating yet, I don't seem to be able to do the colour thing everyone is talking about on mac. do i need a numpad or something?

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27am

hmm ... I will look into that number-key problem, that only happened to me in the web-version ...
normaly you shouldn't need the numpad, the numbers above the letters are what I used when testing but maybe the way I get the input is not correct (not platform-independent)
This will take a few hours for me as I am currently not using my development-PC and want to rate a few games first

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19am

Neat puzzle after you figure out the controls. The ship could be a bit more responsive(turn/accelerate faster). Aside from that nice :D

skullum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23pm

This is a clever little game, it gets really complicated when you start mixing colors which is nice.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Great Job. Felt a little slow. Would have been nice if the warps were slightly bigger. But I liked it overall.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:11am

Haha, I thought there was no win screen, but then I started mashing buttons, and a nice little secret message appeared :D

Quite a clever game. Controls need a bit of tweaking, portals should be bigger, and so on, but overall a pleasurable and braintwisting experience :)

x1212 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:49am

@ZeppelinCaptain: about the win screen, I wasn't sure at first if I should add one, but then I thought it might be more interesting if the player can continue playing arround, as at the point of winning he just finally got full controll ...


about the issues with plattforms where the number-key-input is not recognized: I'm not sure what to do about that ... I think allowing to rebind keys might be more of a new feature then a bugfix and therefore only allowed for future versions outside of the compo ... an other idea would be to add clickable buttons in the place (might also be nice for an android port), where it currently shows what colors you can controll and what colors are active but again not sure if that counts as bugfix :(

Jacic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Interesting idea. The ship was very hard to control though.

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:45am

Pretty fun puzzle game. I liked the color switching/combining mechanic. The ship controls could have been a lot more tighter though, moving around so slow was a bit frustrating.

orukinawa says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:57am

The character is a bit too floaty to my taste but really fun puzzle game overall. I like your colour changing concept *wink wink* :p

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:52am

Kinda difficult, but cool in general

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:55am

Game crashed when i opened it

x1212 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:06am

@GameDevExtreme: what platform? Linux-users might have to set the Executable-flag for the file, and OSX ... well I never used that so I don't know what can go wrong there.

Kojan says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Really nice concept, quite innovative. The physic is a bit weird though and it was a bit harsh to move my U.F.O.
But overall it's a really nice little game, good job

jonask says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Really clever game!

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]