Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Transmission

by ljdp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Launch satellites into space and let cities communicate and connect over interplanetary distances.

A few things not mentioned in the game:
- To further you launch from a planet the more it costs to launch, this cost is exponential.
- Each satellite costs you $$ per second.
- Each city pays you $$ per second for every other city it can connect to.
- Scroll wheel to zoom in and out.
- Hold Q to slow down time.
- Hold E to speed up time.

What was cut during development?
There was a spaceship you could launch and a predicted trajectory would be drawn. The only way to maneuver the ship was to turn on/off the back facing thruster and front facing thruster and the idea was you could only launch satellites from planets you were landed on. I cut it because I was running out of time and needed to work on the satellite and connectivity code, but you can still see it in the source code.

Built in Unity3D.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Theme3.84
#139Overall3.70
#211Innovation3.63
#267Graphics3.58
#366Fun3.26
#404Mood3.17
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33am

Cool idea, very literal interpretation of the theme. Oddly satisfying to connect every city in the system - I don't think there's much strategy that can be had, but who cares? It's fun.

Graphics are very good. Complete lack of audio is a fault, though.
Overall, one of the best I've seen so far.

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44am

I really got into this! I played 6 times or so before I thought to check out other planets. Then I discovered that you start on the hardest planet in the solar system :) Enjoyed this, I think you have an interesting mechanic and would like to see where you can take it.

@stimpact

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07am

Quite interesting to play with. The graphics is very nice, a bit cartoon and yet very clean. The idea is very intuitive. The strategy lies in how to position the new satellites to save cost and generate most revenue at the same time. This may require some more adjustment to make it more challenge. But anyway great job!

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14am

I really liked the gameplay. Graphics look pretty good as well. Overall it is an excellent game.

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16am

Couldn't play it

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20am

I think it shows how hard it is to come up with original or unusual mechanics that have some strategic depth to them, but it's definitely fun and challenging. Solid game, high marks from me!

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

WOW addictive ^^ !
This was fun, I made it to hold on 100% connectivity
The only problems: it lagged when the amount of connections went a bit big; which is kinda akward cause I don't think the calculations on this game are heavy..
But yeah, I liked the fact that at some point some are colliding and so you lose some sattelites;
The audio was a bit lacking, and the theme wasn't absolutely
fitting, but yeah it was overall pretty fun :)

Slooowpoke says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29am

Really fun connecting all the planets together. I loved watching the percentage of connectivity go up. Also really like the font. I think that a few more levels would be great but still very fun! :)

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

I love this game! I think there's real potential here for a more complex-strategic post-compo version - and I'd love to see one.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Interesting concept! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/ydSxZiryhsI

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Great take on the theme. I was thinking about doing a game with satellites myself, decided to leave it to people who can do a better job at it than myself. Like this one. :)

Could have used even a tiny amount of sound effects tho.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Very interesting from a technical standpoint, nice job.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Cool idea that is strangely fun. I missed audio but the graphics were nice. Good job!

invader says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:59pm

fun to play - simple and intuitive mechanics, good feedback - it's easy to understand what is going on... Nice visual style and good production quality.

Excellent game!

ljdp says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Thank you all for the feedback! I've uploaded a new build with audio and music which you can see at this link: http://www.locogame.co.uk/transmission.php

I've kept the link on this page to the old build as the audio was added in after I had made my submission.

flap says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Thank you. cool game !
4 suggestions to make it more fun :
- More realistic orbits (the further from the planet, the slower it orbits. The heavier the planet, the quicker the satellites has to orbit.)
- Planets rotating around themselves. So we could try to set satellites in geostationary position
- When placing a satellite close to another satellite orbit, it could automatically set on the same orbit (so the orbit at the same speed)
- Same with the geostationnary orbit

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Really nice

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]