Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

twone minds

by Tonasz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two different worlds connected by a single mind. Control two characters using one, common control scheme. Try to focus on two half-screens simultaneously, and repel never-ending waves of enemies.

Controls:
WASD - move characters
arrows - shoot in target direction

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#100Theme3.90
#110Overall3.76
#143Fun3.61
#159Graphics3.83
#238Humor2.91
#284Mood3.32
#381Innovation3.39
#522Audio2.76

Comments

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:34am

Cool concept, was actually a challenge to keep track of both sides.

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35am

nice game i like the art style. also you really polished it up

Prynok says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:48am

This is pretty polished and lasted a long time! Awesome game :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:55am

Great game! Real hard to keep up on both sides at the same time I was killed pretty fast.

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

Neat and challenging, makes for a very tense game! Got to wave 8, score of 358

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

Very fun and challenging! I really like how even with a simple level layout it's still really hard to multitask both characters when they bump into the obstacles and are out of sync with one another. Well done!

rahul2000 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44am

AMAZING GAME!!!!

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30am

Good game. Art style is awesome!

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29am

Love it! Simply fun to play. Good difficulty level too, lets you learn the rules.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55am

Hey Love the sprites, the whole feel of the game. Plays really smoothly and was fun trying to focus on both worlds.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30am

Very cool. Was a challenge concentrating on both sides simultaneously.
The only thing that couldve been better would be an improved pathfinding by the AI, so you cant lure them around the borders of the map so easily.

Got a score of 380.

n42k says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

Very similar mechanic to my game. Loved to play as it reminded me of it and presents the same difficulties.

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Very challenging! Liked it!

Mezzenstein says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Indeed it's challenging and great.
This bubble shoot thing reminds me of binding of isaac.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

I just found out I'm not good at doing two things at once! Nice work... I'd love a theme tune ;)

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Good stuff, great mechanic and lots of fun to play. I was terrible at it but I enjoyed every moment regardless!

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Cutest looking game so far :D Really loving the concept.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Very clever concept, difficult but great fun

glocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Great concept, totally works for the theme. Very challenging, but also very fun.

Rion1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Fits the theme very well, and quite an enjoyable game.

Tonasz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49pm

@Jaloko, belowzerogames, Ossi, mrexcessive, Lars Faust,
simileinchen, Mezzenstein, mrspeaker, panurge, icedvariables, glocks:
About "multitasking difficulty" - Even I was shocked how difficult it can be while I was making this game. I think I may try to make something post-ludumdare concentrated around that mechanic. Also - unfortunately lack of time translated into lack of balance on later levels.

@theCoder15, Prynok
I thought it might be better to polish than add many rough elements but it hurts when I see how many crucial thing I didn't implement...

@Lars Faust
Oh it totally sucks! There should be normal path finding but haste took it away ;) At least you can kite them to lower difficulty ;)

@Mezzenstein
Binding of Isaac was a part of my inspiration set ;)

ming_tea says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Fun game, great art style.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Fantastic gameplay, art, and overall design! One of my LD favorite games so far.

duncankeller says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18am

Nice art! I like the mechanic a lot. If the camera was zoomed out a big, or the resolution was just bigger (a downloadable version would have been awesome) it would have been easier to see shots and enemies coming in. A more intense difficulty curve would have helped me get into it faster, personally. Really nice overall.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56am

Cute graphics. Sounds too.
Kinda hectic, but at the same time it's a little simple.

I'd like to see some opportunity to strategize instead of just spamming the fire buttons constantly.

Maybe have friendlies (or powerup pickups?) to avoid shooting in only one of the worlds, or maybe increased bonuses for simultaneously killing enemies in both worlds.

Overall though, it's well executed. No annoying menus to wade through, unskippable intros, anything like that.
Getting into the game is quick, restarting on death is quick, and all this stuff is a big plus in my opinion.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:24am

Great idea, slick implementation!

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Nice entry. Controlling the two characters gets tricky!

frosty says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:18am

Really neat artwork, and a nice take on the theme. Some better sounds and music could have really elevated the fun factor, but we all know that there's not always enough time for that. =) Overall nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]