Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

bats: fish invasion

by sthreet - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm done way early, but I have an idea for a decent game.
It is fairly self explanatory, with an awesome victory/defeat scene.
I think I'll start remaking this with decent code tomorrow.

how to play:
if you click a button on the bottom that unit is spawned for the given price.
wimpy is cheep but does no damage, good for burning into ash at the far right.
timewarrior is gained for 10 time if you wait till you have 20, and costs three time, but gives the same amount of ash as a wimpy. can fight, but not very well. currently bugged to always lose to grunt.
for 10 ash you get grunt, which can fight okayish, but costs 5 ash. also, slow.
after that, for three ash, you get the portal thingy, click on it (doesn't support zooming) to allow units to teleport and attack the fish base.
for some amount of flesh, which is gained when your units are killed by enemy units, you get scouts, which are faster and I think are also bugged to not die.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Humor2.53
#1113Mood1.65
#1139Theme2.05
#1141Innovation2.10
#1191Fun1.84
#1199Overall2.18
#1199Graphics1.60
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:48am

Looks like a web game that can't be played on the web?

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:04am

enjoyable game

sthreet says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

Sorry doctor, the only thing that I've been able to put a web game up on is dropbox, and dropbox doesn't like .js files and images and whatnot.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

great game 10/10

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20am

not working.

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22am

That is one of the creepiest lose screens I have ever come across A+

sthreet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:23pm

skills, what is not working about it?

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:51am

I have no idea what's happening here. Do I just click buttons randomly? But I do like the lose screen. hehe

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:08am

You have some pretty good mechanics in here that I was able to understand after you explained it. A writeup of the rules would be useful.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

Interesting concept. Are you going to keep developing it?

slowfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

I understand the concept, which is interesting.
Too bad you didn't have time to make the game easier to play. Without the instructions, it's really difficult to understand what is going on.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I like the mechanics and concept here, but figuring out how to play was tricky even with instruction. It was annoying having to click the portal to switch between sending wimpies to be burned and sending grunts over to the fish world. There were sometimes collision bugs with enemy units flying straight past mine, but in the absence of such I found that if a single wimpy reaches your base, it can totally lock you down - even grunts don't seem able to stop it.

sthreet says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:17pm

ninjascript: I plan too. so hopefully.

piscythe: yes, there are many bugs in this version.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]