Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rockmorse

by eralpkaraduman - Jam Entry

You are an astronaut stranded on mars. Your connection with earth is broken in a way you can only receive messages but can't send any. So you will have to arrange martian rocks to type morse messages and discuss your salvation.

Inspired by Andy Weir's book "Martian". It's awesome you should read it.

Made with unity, you will need unity web player. Please don't open multiple instances of the game in same browser. Usually messes up the game.

UPDATE:

Friends, sorry i had forgotten to add that game was quite incomplete. I was planning to update it with a post jam version by now but it didn't work out. Please check back again in few days.

You can follow us at twitter @super_damage. Thanks for your time and reviews.

UPDATE:

We have just finished the game! I've added a post-compo link above. Please go play it. It's nothing close to compo version. New things are;

+ real gameplay
+ storytelling
+ levels
+ sfx
+ horror
+ epic adventure
+ rocks
+ space

UPDATE:

We have updated Rockmorse. Now time pauses when you enter the spacecraft so you can read briefings freely.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#133Graphics(Jam)4.05
#222Mood(Jam)3.38
#296Humor(Jam)2.62
#321Audio(Jam)3.20
#359Innovation(Jam)3.09
#480Theme(Jam)2.95
#576Overall(Jam)2.93
#712Fun(Jam)2.26

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27pm

a funny game with it's humor, i personoly do not get the point of the game but i like how it looks.

humming says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Awesome Art! But to difficult maybe, I put it all the rocks in their places but nothing happened =D

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great graphics and good music! I liked the plot and the idea.
However, when the puzzle was solved I got into the rover and there was still nothing on the sceen, and I wasn't able to find what I was supposed to do. Maybe it's a bug or a missing feature ?

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Interesting premise. However moving rocks around manually doesn't make for very interesting gameplay :/

I'm probably missing something, but I got it so all the circles were green and it seems like nothing happened. There might be a circle I missed but I don't think I did.

mechabit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Awesome graphics but like the others was unable to make the signals work. Dragging rocks was also really tedious and rocks would vanish if I dragged them near the rover which was particularly annoying when doing the top right spots.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I loved the mood, graphics, and audio! The gameplay was kinda boring and nothing happened when all the rocks were put into place. Still though, pretty good! :D

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I like the general feel and look of the game, but couldn't get anything to happen. Aligning the rocks in the correct order seems to do nothing.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Great graphics and nicely implemented gameplay. Also very well readable.
But I encountered the same problem as some other commenters: after finishing the sequence nothing happened anymore :/

dustyroom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40am

Nice idea. Stylish graphics. The 'struggle' sound is pretty annoying. You should fix the walking below the rocks

Hairein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:30pm

I like the idea although I feel you would need more other game mechanisms to enhance this type of activity. I thought the graphics fit the game's intentions but there wasn't nough interactive parts implemented for me to understand the full intensions of the design.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36pm

@Heirein thanks, exactly. There are more stuff n post compo version. Its coming soon. There is even some story telling.

Dohan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

The atmosphere that the audio creates for this game is just great. Also, as the rover didn't want to translate the message for me, I had to do it myself: 'Hello World' :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

@Dohan hehe virtual bro fist mate, that was for testing :) I actually wrote a "morse to rock" encoder https://github.com/superdamage/LD30/blob/master/Unity/LD48-Unity/Assets/Scripts/Morse.cs Than I used it for laying out levels which are not in game obviously but will soon.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:08am

Hi there. Interesting idea as a bizarre simulation, but not sure enough to do to be a game I'd stick with to finish. Hmm.. Okay so I completed all the rock placements (all green) but could not do anything else - blank screen on ships computer and buttons do nothing. Drag mechanic was nice, though frustrating... in which case objective achieved!

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Game has qualities but pulling all those rocks is way to long...

alvivar says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:51pm

the gameplay feels really good, the movement and pushing stones.

arasatasaygin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:02am

Cool!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Neat game, very stressful since the day / night cycle is so short. Nice art style too! Great work!

JNyknn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Interesting game with nice graphics.

magmaCrab says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Cool game. I finished your post Compo, but i rated your first entry. You've improved it a lot, but the original proof of concept was pretty great too! nice idea, the gameplay gets quite repetitive but that's okay. good job!

EndingChaos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:40pm

NEAT!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Nice game, I love the graphics. But it is quite tedious.

AdricZero says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Post-compo version was fun and polished. I had to rate you on the compo version though. You were definitely on the right path based on the post compo version.

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Good graphics and mood , but it got repetitive quickly ;)

LesInk says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:25pm

I like the premise but found doing the game kind of tedious. Maybe just needed a shorter amount of work.

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Interesting idea :) Cool graphics too.

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Interesting idea and good audio / visuals, I found the gameplay a bit dull though (but I did make it back to Earth :) )

I would like to see this as a smartphone / tablet game but loose the astronaut and just drag the rocks around with my finger. also I'd like to not have the spots on the floor dictated to me, but instead a short message that I have to write and a morse reference sheet and for the game to simply detect horizontally-nearby rocks and superimpose whatever letters I'm spelling out - then I could write any words but the story only progresses if I write the 'target' word - or better yet have a branching narrative where I can choose different outcomes by following different conversations / messages - but all this would have to be faster to keep the gameplay interesting.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Dry Tree, thanks thats awesome! I had a rough less repetitive mobile version in mind but your definition totally nails it with a much clearer way. I'd like to chat some time.

ClownAround says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:57am

Great idea. Love the astronauts animations! Very nice game!

arhpositive says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Played the compo version first, post-compo version later. You've made solid progress over the week and managed to put up a well polished game in the end, congrats about that.

As we're voting on the compo version, I can say that the graphics, sfx and the core concept is really well thought out, and made me really interested in the book this game is based upon. A game end trigger doesn't exist (compo), however I had fun pushing rocks around and trying to do it as fast as possible.

Keep up the good work!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Really great story and nice graphics! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mlEPiXm0ehY

Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Thanks Jupi : )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]