Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Psychiatric Hospital

by GuillaumeGwi - Jam Entry

You are welcomed in a psychiatric hospital... Each patient is in its own world... You must reconnect it to the reality... Will you be able to save your patients ?


Controls: Spacebar to Speak, Control to Interact, Arrows for moving.

Enjoy !

Assets found on http://www.opengameart.org and some reworked
Done in Unreal Engine 4 all in Blueprints and with plugin Paper2D.

For the Windows version you may need VS2013 redistributable installed : http://www.microsoft.com/en-US/download/details.aspx?id=40784

By Mumuuu and GuillaumeGwi !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#218Theme(Jam)3.52
#435Innovation(Jam)2.95
#494Mood(Jam)2.89
#535Audio(Jam)2.57
#557Overall(Jam)2.95
#662Fun(Jam)2.48
#683Graphics(Jam)2.50
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42am

Game is not loading, download bar loads all the way but then nothing happens.

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46am

Not working :( Please fix the loading bar thing.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33am

Yes there is a problem with the Web version it can't be run in 32bits browser i will try to fix this...

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05am

It should run fine now ! Enjoy !

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59am

Nice game! Game is loading long, and intro is a bit too long(too slow?). Cool graphics.

trekapp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51pm

was just filling up memory until chromium ran out of memory... doesn't work for me

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Wow that was weird. Weird game with glitchy walls and a lot of mental patients. For some reason the intro with its stoic silence and long cuts reminds me of some old cartoons :D

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Pretty good, I also find it a bit slow, but still enjoy it

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56pm

The game froze a few seconds after I started walking

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:52pm

In an age where we are all looking at our phones connecting to a person that's right in front of us may as well be another world. Music/Sfx were simple but added a lot to the mood, I was genuinely creeped out. The maze was really hard on the eyes and stomach due to the severe wobbling but, this might be the mind of a psychiatric patient, which might be the point, but as a user it was hard to endure. Overall an interesting setting and strong thematic connections.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:00pm

The concept is great, everything that deals with the inner world has a lot of pottential. I was enjoying your game a lot but unfortunately I got stuck in the clock level, i tried going to them from fastest to slowest and inverse, tried a lot of other stuff but it didn't work...

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:01am

Yeah you have to synchronize with the clocks : pressing Ctrl at the same moment than the clock is doing his weird effect :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

I really wish that you had had a more unified "look" for graphics. It's a cute idea, but it seems kind of an unfortunate treatment of autism when there's that whole "people not puzzles" campaign going on and whatnot. My favorite part was probably the maze--it was almost unbearable to play through, but I felt a real sense of accomplishment at the end.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

now i finished it, really nice game, I wasn't seeing that ending coming, but it totally makes sense xD

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

I love the idea that each patient's world is a mini game with a new mechanic. there are a few bugs, but I'm sure you are aware of them already. I hope you keeep working on it and make a post-jam version!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Very nice concept. Great interpretation of the theme! :) I would like to see a bigger game spawn from this.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Nice compilation of minigames tied through a common thread, which was quite similar to my take on the theme and I particularly enjoyed. The laberynth made me dizzy though :) great effort!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:51pm

As an autistic adult with an autistic child I played a few minutes of this and had to stop just because of how angry I was. This is pushing a an incorrect stereotype that the autistic community hoped was long dead. Yes my daughter may be completely non verbal and loves to rock, but believe me she certainly isn't "lost". I would suggest you read up on the subject. Here are some good links that share the perspective of Autistic people both verbal and non verbal : http://autisticadvocacy.org/ http://autismwomensnetwork.org/ http://emmashopebook.com/ Sorry for the rant, but understand this is personal for myself and my family as well as many of my friends.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Bluemaroo3 : I'm sorry, indeed this is not intended to hurt people feelings (Of course many video games are full of false stereotypes like this about many subjects...)

I think we can remove the autistic term because it does not serve the purpose of the game and was just written in one dialog in a hurry :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Blech, that maze is just cruel! I tried to shake my head in sync but still got nauseous. Nice minigame entry, the layout of the hospital could have been a little more interesting, and I think there were some spelling errors.

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:53am

Could use more feedback for how the puzzles are going (especially the clock one) and a reminder for interaction inside the world being ctrl.

The audio fx were good sometimes (like the snap when you solve the clock puzzle) but I didn't understand them sometimes... like the police siren?

The graphics need another pass since the main character is a little too pixelated in a blurry way.

Overall I like the idea of solving short games to beat the main one. The twist at the end and the cutscene effects are great.

goerp says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Best use of the theme for me!
A lovely story and I think it's great work you've managed to make so many mini games.
I had some trouble figuring out with one mini game until I realized I could talk to the patient.

Solved them all. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]