Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crossover: Fanfiction

by Cosrnos - Jam Entry

You are a starving artist with the lifelong dream of running a Crossover fanfiction empire! To start, you'll create stories on your own and generate pageviews for your website, which has ads that generate income for you. Over time, you'll hire your first employee, move to an actual office and get hordes of followers!

Made By
@Cosrnos
@DecayConstant
@Yonbeastie

------------

This is My 4th entry into the ludum dare, DecayConstant's 2nd and Yonbeastie's 1st. We all work together and decided to team up and make something cool. We built this with EmberJS, which is a bit unconventional but did the trick.

We'd love to hear your comments and criticism! Tweet us your best synopsis and let us know what characters/situations you'd like to see!

**NOTE: This does not work on mobile. Sorry :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#8Humor(Jam)4.26
#40Innovation(Jam)3.97
#87Theme(Jam)3.79
#153Fun(Jam)3.46
#173Overall(Jam)3.54
#343Mood(Jam)3.15
#657Audio(Jam)1.47
#662Graphics(Jam)2.58

Comments

phaser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09am

I like how it auto generates stories. I wish it was more deep and graphic. I hope the Developer continues working on this.

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:10am

Pretty funny game.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55am

That was pretty great. Pokemon-Sherlock romantic comedy crossover was the best.

SarahFrisk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:58am

Very amusing!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:00am

"Elrond has to learn to love again after losing the family in an accident. Elrond draws strength to move forward when Link and a lovable pup take Elrond to Ikana Canyon for a renewed lesson in the power of faith."

10/10

You're going to win the humor category.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:03am

Hahahaha, dang this is really funny.
I'd love to see you add some more content to this, and also make it a little more challenging.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:06am

I really got sucked into this =P Very enjoyable concept and surprisingly complex. I like that you can work on a project together with your staff but i missed the feedback on how much buzz an individual story is generating and how the capabilities of you and your co-workers played into it.

Spang says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:06am

Haha i Had fun playing this. :D!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:06am

I really got sucked into this =P Very enjoyable concept and surprisingly complex. I like that you can work on a project together with your staff but i missed the feedback on how much buzz an individual story is generating and how the capabilities of you and your co-workers played into it.

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:08am

The stories it generates are really funny! The gameplay itself needs to be enhanced though. 5 for humor!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:09am

I like your interpretation of the theme. This was hilarious.

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:32am

Yeah, it was actually too hard to make money for most of development, but I made a last minute bugfix+balancing adjustment that made it way too easy. Balancing is hard!

- @DecayConstant

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:56am

I like your entry very much. Nice game, very good job. Thank you.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:57am

This game was too hard.

http://imgur.com/YHeIK0y

No but really the design is beautiful. the gameplay is lacking because the only thing that makes these types of games good is balance, which this obviously doesnt have a lot of.
but what it DOES have is amazing for only a 48 hour time period! Generated stories for every combination, and not even once did i see 2 of the same template text, thats amazing. so good job!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:40am

Very creative idea and interpretation of Connected Worlds!

Why is the income shown as per day, but the expenses shown as per week, though? :P

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:50am

Hahahaha hilarious and horrifying. Here's one of mine.

"Sue Sylvester is the new captain of Shrek's Swamp's cheer squad and finds out last year's cheer captain stole all the best routines from Matress Land's school. An intense rivalry with Fairy Godmother leads to a new friendship when they compete at nationals for the golden Artie's wheelchair."

Ahahah and my first employee had like 30 creativity and 4 grammer. Join up with the crossover fanfic biz! Nothing can go wrong!!

Great play. :)

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Awesome concept! Generated stories are great)

barryrowe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:25pm

What a neat concept. I'm bummed my Chrono Trigger/Wonder Years crossover titled "The Wonder what Years" didn't make me much money though. Good job.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:21am

Lord of the Rings, a Romantic Comedy. Can't anyone learn to love an eye?

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

Hi there. Dammit now I want to write Doctor Who crossover with Hamlet. Fun game you made there, I did not expect you to actually generate the text, thought it would just be a resource management/strategy. Much fun! Good job!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:50pm

This is horrifyingly hilarious. I wish I had your mind.

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:52am

Amazing! Oh, you made my day. C:
>> This is one complicated couple, and not just because Voldemort and Donkey see imaginary people. Life at Privet Drive gets tense when Donkey destroys Nimbus 2000 and tries to cover the truth.

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:04pm

This wasn't a game for my type of play, so I'm going to try give some thoughts in case you wish to pursue this idea further:
- visuals would be fun
- I'd like book writing to happen faster (heh)
- I'm not sure, but "hiring a team member" didn't seem what I'd like to do... I'd rather spend money on something else (dunno, like "better pen" or "excellent paper" or "old typewriter" and whatnot).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]