Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lunaform

by disdanes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lunaform is a game about constructing a solar system! Hexagons represent pieces of a planet that your constructing using elements from the stars. Stars will collide with the hexagons and provide them with the necessary elements.

Controls:

Click a hexagon and it will illuminate nearby hexagon's that you can switch with. Switch the hexagon's around so that stars don't knock away your full planet pieces!

To Win a Level:

Fill all the hexagons by letting them get hit by the stars.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#260Audio3.24
#337Innovation3.44
#415Graphics3.31
#464Mood3.10
#709Overall3.06
#798Theme2.88
#876Humor1.80
#1047Fun2.40

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

I wish there was some way to influence the way the stars move. Right now the early game (which I never got past) feels like just a lot of waiting around for stars to hit. I really like the art and the other parts of it, which makes it a shame that the planet building aspect is sorta dull :/

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50am

Interesting idea, but I agree that it would be nice if the stars could fall a bit faster :) unique interpretation of the theme though!

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07am

I wanted to play, but Unity Web player does not work in linux. Could you make a binary version available as well? (Unity has an option for a linux-compatible export :-))

Cheers,

superzac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

Lovely art, I think I understand the mechanics but I'm still a bit confused. Like others have said, it would be nice if the stars hit more frequently.

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

I really liked the concept!
Either adding more stars or making them faster (or both) would make for a pretty cool game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40am

I like the graphics, but I also got stuck waiting for a star to come near. Cool idea though

From Smiling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02am

Definitely pretty! I feel like the stars are definitely arbitrary, so a lot of the missed ones feel like a waste? So it feels like you already know what's going to happen and just waiting for it

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:10am

Nice idea and mood! Only if more stars were coming to the planet from different directions - Too many passes by.

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I'm very confused by this game. The hexagons don't swap half the time I click on them.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Think of the swap more like a drag and drop. Click and hold the hex and then release the click over the hex you want to swap with. You can only swap with nearby hexes.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15pm

I just tried your game, man it's absolutely great. Simple mechanics, but well executed.
The only thing you could change is the random generation of the stars

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46pm

it's a little to slow for my taste but it was okay :)

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Feel it would be even cooler if you could chose which was the stars move. Took me a little bit to understand why it was tough but I got it eventually. I like the art style. I think minimalism is awesome. I do think that the construction complete screen could do with some work, having the text centered would be a tiny but really good addition.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:48am

Hey, like the idea a lot. But few things bother me a little:
- it's hard to move the hexes, they feel unresponsive
- are the stars random? if so it feels a little unfair that my points are based on luck and not skill entirely
But all in all solid entry. It's a great idea for neat little game :)

skullum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49am

Interesting game, you sometimes have to wait a long time for the stars

Alucard J says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Nice relaxing game. Music fits well. I found it hard to move more than one tile in time on the larger maps, especially when the stars would come in pairs. Good job.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Could be improved so it would be a very good game. At the moment it feels like I can't do anything useful, just waiting.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I feel like if I did nothing... this game would probably win itself for me haha. Nice clean graphics tho

caranha says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:21pm

I liked the mechanic in this game a lot. It is quite innovative, and also fun. The game needs a bit of polish, specially when it comes to player feedback: It would be nice to see where the tile will be moving to, and have a sound to signify the move, but the base idea is quite solid :-)

hbocao says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Nice concept with beautiful graphics! The sound was pleasant too. Good job. Plans for mobile? 'Cause I think this will work on it.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:49am

Nice idea, but the stars could move a bit faster

mcapraro says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:07am

nice and simple - but not so simple. well done! could make a great mobile game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]