Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Transit Gods Inc.

by Katamori - Jam Entry

Transit Gods Incorporated is an iterdimensional company led by godlike creatures to provide transport between dimensions and alternate worlds. You work at one of their transit stations in the interdimensional void. Boring job, but someone has to do it.

X to start game, C for bonus stuff (~unused passenger variables), and if transit comes, Y/N to accept/decline. More info in-game.

Before rate, please note that I wanted to entry for the Compo, and the game doesn't break any of these rules (I made it within 48 hours, I added source, all the resources were added during this time), but I couldn't upload it in time, so if possible, please rate it as a Compo. Not necessary, but may be kind.

Either way, it's a kinda silly game because I had another idea, but that simply "collapsed", and I had other things to do as well, so at the end, I had ~10 hours to do. Therefore I tried to make it as funny and crazy as possible, I hope it works.

Playing with sound is strongly recommeneded!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Humor(Jam)3.55
#333Mood(Jam)3.17
#378Theme(Jam)3.17
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#482Graphics(Jam)3.13
#604Overall(Jam)2.88
#622Fun(Jam)2.58
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I'm glad that you didn't stop the development, I really love those pixizens (or dunno how to call those pixelhunters :D ) Next time try to filter out the noise from the voice records. (I loved the 'choo-choo motherf**er' line tho :D) So keep up the good work, and make me more proud young padawan. ;)

Hempuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:07am

Google Chrome marked it as malware; I assume it might be a false positive but could you check it with something like virustotal.com?

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

I loved the scrolling text at the bottom of the page and the passenger descriptions. I couldn't really see what difference pressing Y and N makes. Anyway, good game... nem is todom miért írom ezt angolul.

Katamori says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

@Hempuli: possibly because of the compiled Windows version. Don't worry, I swear it's not a virus.

rojo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:20am

It's an interesting base for a game. I liked the simplicity of the art as well, and I definitely got a few laughs out of the voice overs / tips! Some background music / ambient audio would have been nice.

Also if anybody is concerned, I scanned the download with ESET, as I do with every LD download, and it's fine.

Katamori says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:59am

Ah, rojo, glad to see you again! Also glad you enjoyed this small silly randomness.

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

cool game, would love to see a more fleshed out version

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

seems to be quite a lot going on at first, but it was pretty easy to understand. I liked how basic the art style was and it fit your game well. Great stuff

xRubbermaid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Really amazing how much charm you can squeeze out of such few pixels. :D

jahmaican says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:29am

I don't know if this game has a real point, but at least it's aesthetically pleasing.

Katamori says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:34pm

@jahmaican: no, it has not!

magmaCrab says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Pretty neat, i really liked watching the clones and listening to your sweet lines. One problem: my screen resolution was too small to be able to read the text on the bottom :( I have a 1366*768 resolution.

Katamori says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:01pm

@magmaCrab: Glad you like it! For the res: sorry, there's hard to satisfy everyone. In LD#27, 1280x1024 fullscreen was the problem, think of that it's way not as bad! Also, you ca check those linesin the sourc code! ;)

Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:31pm

The game is very nice but i don't get the goal. How can i know which one is the crazy granny? I like the idea and the atmosphere though. Would like to see it developped further.

DrCicero says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Dont know what to say... The plot and the audio introduction was kind of nice, but the gameplay is completly random and there is no fun in pressing Y/N and waiting for numbers...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]