Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hearts Nexus

by Serena - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Humor4.00
#119Graphics3.95
#184Mood3.47
#239Theme3.68
#274Innovation3.53
#327Audio3.11
#339Overall3.42
#820Fun2.74
#2027Coolness17%

Comments

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58am

Great interpretation of the theme :) But easily my favorite part was the little phrases "He's a spicy gogurt" really had me giggling for some reason, haha.

I"m on a netbook and a tiny tiny part of the screen wasn't visible. But after a match the text didn't seem to go away? But I could still hit the 'match' button behind it. I assume I was just missing the dismiss button because of the bottom part of the screen ... but it didn't hinder the game play at all because I could still hit the match button.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07am

Really cute. Art style and overall humor went really well together. The little references -- "Bort" -- very funny.

Liked the challenge escalation, although in terms of balance it might have been good to increase the bad-match penalty. Once I had built up some Rep, I could pretty much just randomly match people together for a while and just about break even.

Tovip says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:20am

This game is super adorable, I like how there is almost never any perfect matches.
maybe that's the metaphor their worlds may be connected but they are still different worlds.

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52am

Really nice style! Love the humor too x)

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Very nice and cute! Meaningful too I feel, though I can't put to words why yet.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55pm

"She's such a spicy meatball!" haha!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57pm

the game was ok, and i like the title screen ;) but pressing 'done' after each match was a bit annoying

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

It was enjoyable to play cupid. Several times I forgot to clear the happy couple before looking to make the next match. The UI could be improved.

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:29am

A somewhat unique game among LD... it was a bit refreshing. I like your interpretation of the theme. The round were a bit long IMO, and clicking the Done button felt a bit frustrating when you're working against a time limit.

Excellent sprites that really boosted the feel of the game. Music helped a bit with that too.

It definitely could use some more varied game play mechanics, but a nice submission overall.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Really neat idea, good use of theme. I really like the humor. Nice job.

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:40am

I enjoyed this game very much, and it was easy to play from my tablet. I was pleasantly surprised with the increase in difficulty as I progressed, and the humor kept me engaged. Great take on the theme.

BroCade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:01pm

A refreshing take on the theme. Apart for long game rounds, i enjoyed this

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]