Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Saving Gray

by TnT - Jam Entry

Can you reunite the creatures of GrayWorld?

Controls
WASD to move
Space to move between worlds
E to pick up item/use item/interact
R to discard Item

For more details, press H to get to the help.

Background
GrayWorld, a peaceful monochromatic world has been ravaged by a massive storm that has split the world into over-laid halves, dividing it and its inhabitants into a white half and a black half. To save it, you must locate the scattered orbs (one white one black), and return them to their receptacles, which will reunite the two halves of GrayWorld little bits at a time. You are fortunate enough to be able to move between the white and black half of the world, but you are slowly absorbed by the half you are in. If you become fully white or black, you will be stuck, unable to save GrayWorld. The creatures of GrayWorld have also been split, and are hostile when in the world opposite their color. Can you survive 7 levels and restore unity and peace to GrayWorld?


*Should work on Java 6+
*Hopefully will port to Web (applet) in next few days
**We have ported to Linux, and it should run smoothly. Not all sounds are there, but enough are.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#234Theme(Jam)3.49
#345Innovation(Jam)3.11
#422Humor(Jam)2.33
#450Mood(Jam)2.96
#459Audio(Jam)2.86
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#568Fun(Jam)2.70
#718Graphics(Jam)2.30

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23am

Really cool, I liked the animals and the whole concept was sweet. Nice job!

Animated says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28am

Pretty neat!

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35am

This kinda reminded me to the Shift series :) I enjoyed the gameplay, it's a really innovative work. And I love the music, it was so calm, and really connected to the game.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38am

I wanted to play this.. but I'm getting a ton of errors. The game appears to run, but there's no sound, and it gets to the title screen and doesn't accept user input. It is updating and there's an FPS counter, but no matter how hard I slam the Spacebar it won't start. Sucks too. This game looked awesome.

I DO have log files for you if you want me to send them to you. There's some sort of issue with the audio code, I believe, as most of the errors are coming from the IcedTea toolkit complaining about not being able to open the line for the pulseaudio connection.

But yea... I really wanted to play this! >.<

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

Hmm, getting no sound and a ton of "java.lang.IllegalStateException: Line not open" exceptions on Linux (OpenJDK 7u65) and, uh, what I'd imagine to be weird behavior. I /think/ I got the black orb at one point, but I got stick on something or turned permanently black. Sorry, I can't rate this one!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

The buttons for interacting with stuff could have been explained in the intro. My first few play sessions were very unproductive.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

Cool story introduction to the game and nice theme incorporation.

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:57am

Great audio.

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04am

Good idea

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12am

I wasn't sure about where to go, but I had fun messing with the mechanics.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:58am

Nice idea and the mecanics, but I don't understand what I have to do to win. I like the music ;)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:20am

Game is well designed, but you should have probably made everything less contrast and tried getting everything the same style.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:24pm

The mazes could use a little polish, but it was still a good game :)

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I think it would be cool if it would be more self explanatory. Maybe through media instead of text. Its an interesting idea what you explored there

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Liked the all mood :) The theme is also well incorporated. Nice work !

Yoni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Nice concept, but after beating 2 levels it seems to just repeat the same way. Would love to see this game with a continuation/ending! I really liked the white/black health bar!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:14am

WOO! That was awesome! I loved the concept. I had the most fun trying to combine demon cats with devil dogs to get them to leave me alone. :P Also.. I may have found a little bit of a glitch with the Linux version (maybe with the Windows one as well), but eventually I just decided to grab every shield and activate it. After about the third level I was practically invincible. :P

*SPOILERS*
@Yoni There is an ending.. if you keep playing you'll notice that things begin to "gray". :D :P

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Neat idea, but a little confusing the first couple playthroughs. Wall of text help screen is too much, gotta pare it down a bit.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]