Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pocket

by CivvyThePandaTM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Platform-specific games are available for download under the Web player.
--------------------------------------------------
There have been a few changes between the tutorial and the actual game. For example, gas harvester can now be created on stars by clicking on the last button when hovering over one. To change universes by warpgate, you need to move your ship onto one of the "buttons". The last thing on the build menu is a harvester and it can only be built on stars. And the thing in the bottom right corner is a minimap.
--------------------------------------------------
Tools :
Engine : Unity2D 4.6
Editor : MonoDevelop
Graphics : Adobe Photoshop CS5
Music : Fake Music Generator
--------------------------------------------------
Pocket is a game where you manage colonies in space. The goal of the game is to create three warpgates, one in each universe. To change universes, you must enter a warpgate and step onto one of the portals (they look like buttons). There is a tutorial in game. If you want to skip it, just press the "SKIP" button.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#621Audio2.60
#774Theme2.91
#882Mood2.60
#887Innovation2.71
#927Humor1.54
#975Graphics2.41
#978Fun2.53
#1041Overall2.64

Comments

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Fun and relaxing management game. Good job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Ohh, nice space-thingie :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Fun game! The music was a bit much after a time though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Yeah, that's why I put a toggle sound button in the top left corner. I was really desperate for music so I just took a track from "Fake Music Generator".

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Really nice mood... relaxing, fun, I could spend a lot of time playing this game. One thing is that I am a bit confused about the placement of buildings: https://www.dropbox.com/s/x1wn6xawo5dh88i/warpgate.jpg?dl=0
On the first planet I placed mines on the planet and the space station outside... the second planet I had to place them the other way around? Which doesn't look quite right. Also, it would be cool to show the buildings cost underneath the buttons.

Great atmosphere though, I'd love to see more.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Oh. That wasn't supposed to happen. I didn't have time to do a playtest since I finished the game literally five minutes before the deadline. I would have loved to add the costs under the buttons but I thought of it after the deadline so I didn't implement it. Anyways, thanks for the comments! I'm considering continuing the development of the game.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:54am

Pretty complete entry. The steering is peculiar but you can get used to it quickly. Nice job :)

Nisshoku says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:19am

nice management game. controls took a while to get used to. Placing buildings can be a bit confusing. Might be a bit better if you had a mouseover with their cost and name. none static starbackground would help improve navigation beside the minimap. Other then that pretty solid entry, good job!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:43am

I think the S and W buttons were reversed for me, S would move the ship forward. Good take on the theme though!

dusho says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:10am

weird controls and ship graphics.. some tooltips for buildings would be helpful
also you should use outline effect for your UI text (in component menu/effects)

Dohan says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I enjoyed flying around the three universes, but it seems the game allowed me to put mines out of planets and space stations inside them. Also, sometimes the buttons where a bit unresponsive, having to click them more than once to get something built.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]