Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Song of Elements

by Sascha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the story of two intertwined elemental worlds:
A blazing realm of forges and fires and an ocean realm of forested islands and vibrant life.

Find story endings ranging from the heat-death of the worlds to harmonic coexistence.

An interactive novel, made with Twine.

A single playthrough should take about 3 minutes!

---------

The Game/Story was made with Twine.
Graphics were made using PyxelEdit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#56Mood3.85
#136Theme3.83
#504Overall3.26
#540Humor2.35
#620Fun2.98
#721Innovation2.95
#902Graphics2.53

Comments

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07am

Wonderful atmosphere.
Went the way of the dryad and marvelled at your words.
Although the ending is not very surprising it is a strong theme and resonates with human life.

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17am

Wonderful and very atmospheric story that drags you right in. Very well done! :)

PunyOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice story - I think that inclusion of some ambient music in the background would be very beneficial for immersion.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Thoroughly enjoyed playing this. Beautifully written. Really felt like my decisions could have a huge impact on the story.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Hi there. Good to find another twine entry. Good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:33am

Very special and weird (as in good) writing.
Good work...

flatgub says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:17am

Beautiful...
-Flatgub <3

Snoother says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Quite fascinating to play; to watch and engage in the development and connection of the two worlds. It is generally well written -- maybe a few trite, almost cliched, lines -- but the writing is usually distinctively odd and weird enough to maitain interest. I do really like the approach to colours in telling the story also.

ztiromoritz says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:26am

Cool stuff.

garygreen says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Nice work. Smart use of different coloured text too.

Crosstales says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Very good story-telling and a nice mood!
Well done!

shashwat says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Interesting, but highly restrictive.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Woah, that was intense. Really great concept and beautifully written. Kept me playing until the end and even reloaded to see the different possible endings! "BASK IN THE GLORY OF YOUR FLAME LORD!!!"

Good job.

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:54pm

I'm not a big fan of "visual novels", but I liked your writing. Congrats!

MJamesShort says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Great job! Really enjoyed it

Menesetsu says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Beautiful piece of art! I like the language in the story and the message itself. Thank you :)

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:34pm

I love this style of writing. Great work!

Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:54pm

good writing, i like your colorful prose. simple but good use of the theme too.

dadman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I liked the floaty writing style making me feel like some kind of conciousness that was unwilling to commit to anything when I kept getting the choice to change my mind. I also liked the use of coloured text to make the 'Connected Worlds' part very obvious.
I don't know if it was just 'a ending' or the ending I got after the longest play through but the ending with 'The End' at the bottom was really cool.

Kojan says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:07pm

The storyline was great. Also it's the first time I see this type of game !

barryrowe says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:27am

I'm not big on these types of games usually, but this story was nice.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Great story! I really liked that we get to explore both sides of it :)

raddevon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Nice story! Love the way you've color-coded phrases related to the two "elements." Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]