Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dead Land

by BoaHeck_ArtGent - Jam Entry

Travel between the land of the dead and the land of the living to solve problems in this first person point 'n click game.

You have the unique ability to phase between the land of the living and the land of the dead. Unfortunately you are stuck in this valley. Use your powers to help the locals and get

I dont know if the linux or mac versions work. If you have problems post a comment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#104Overall(Jam)3.68
#107Graphics(Jam)4.15
#154Theme(Jam)3.65
#176Mood(Jam)3.50
#274Fun(Jam)3.22
#367Innovation(Jam)3.08
#407Humor(Jam)2.37
#526Audio(Jam)2.60
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48am

Nice graphics

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:50am

Loved the low poly style!

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52am

That was so good! I love the art and the story that was going on between the characters. The atmosphere between the two worlds was well thought out and some odd eerie/sad moments thinking about how the key could have gone to the "other side". The color and music shift between the worlds was a pretty nice touch! It would have been nice to have a slight transparent background behind the text just to make it more easier to read. Fantastic job!

Njord says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:00am

Very enjoyable experience ! Classic interpretation of the theme but the game was fun to play, pretty nice 3D graphics there too ! Just one thing, the music was a tiny bit repetitive but that's not a big deal.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Lovely looking game, nice work. :)

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09pm

love the low poly look and phasing mechanic. creepy and cute at the same time!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Low poly rocks, nice gameplay too.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Graphics are super, gameplay is amazing, but mouse sensitivity seems a bit too much for me. This is still an amazing game

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Fantastic work! I loved the the art style - I thought it was especially funny how you could just pick up the cat and frog and they wouldn't react, as if they were statues. The gameplay was very well thought out! It would have been cool to see it get more complicated, but I understand there's no way you could have had the time to do that. :P

arzi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Really nice! Good mood and nice puzzles.

I think you use use lock cursor (in Screen class I think), now it's a bit annoying to constantly click out of the window.

(works fine on OS/X Maverics at least, btw)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56pm

@arzi Thanks for the tip and the OS/X info. really appreciate that.

@Techbolgogy I'll take that into account in future thanks.

And thanks to everyone else for the great feedback.

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30pm

The game won't fully download for me, gets stuck on the very last bytes (windows version).

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49pm

@local minimum that's strange. did you retry downloading it? I'll be uploading it to Gamejolt in a day or two and maybe a web version so if you cant get it to work you might have to wait for that. I don't think anyone else has had this problem. I hope you can sort it out I really like your games and would love to see your (always helpful) feedback.

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I finally got it downloaded when I switched to chrome (tried twice on ff with no luck).

Really nice low-poly style of the game. I enjoyed walking around and listening in. But I never managed to pick anything up. So something I must have missed.

I would have opted for Enter or Space or even X to start playing the game, was about to give up when I figured Esc was start.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:27pm

@local minimum I'm sorry my game was so awkward for you to download and use. Were the instructions not clear enough or was it the font I used in them?

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I loved the style and gentle mood, and I always love it when I game has dynamic music tracks. Thanks for making this!

That you can solve a request without hearing the problem is a little jarring - maybe let the player click through their request until you can give them the item.

Also (and this is a more minor nitpick) in windowed mode the mouse movement's a lot faster than the camera, so it's too easy to accidentally click outside the window.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:10am

According to this:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=10313

We're the only two entrants from Ireland. Thought there'd be a few more, but ah well.

I really liked this game. So ambient, and so pretty. Wish I had more to say about it, but I don't.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:13pm

very very good visually, the vector 3D worked really well!
I miss Ireland!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Haha I looked at that map during the week but had no time to play any games with school. It's weekend now Time to get cracking.

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Awesome graphics style, we did our game low-poly as well! Great work :)

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Very nice, i like the mood and the personality of your game !

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I'm liking the art direction for the game! Lots of good choices, and it really created a great atmosphere for us to be immersed in. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]