Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum Galaxy 64

by AtomicVikings - Jam Entry

Here is our entry for the LD#30!

!!! WEB-Version will be online on Tuesday !!!

!!! Warning: Moving the window results in creation of Black Hole, please be aware. !!!

Welcome to Ludum Galaxy 64!
In this game, you play as a humble merchant in the Ludum Galaxy.
You make a living by buying and selling resources from the various planets in the galaxy.

Watch out for the space pirates though! They have their eyes set on your valuable cargo! Pew pew on sight!

Controls:

W = Forward
S = SpaceBreaks

A = Turn left
D = Turn right

Mouse = Aim
Left click = Shoot

When trading

X = exit trade screen
F = buy fuel
R = repair ship
P = buy planet (not functional (yet...))


Soundtrack: https://soundcloud.com/metal-demon/ludum-galaxy-64-ludum-dare-30-soundtrack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Fun(Jam)3.74
#59Audio(Jam)3.87
#66Overall(Jam)3.83
#139Mood(Jam)3.60
#183Graphics(Jam)3.88
#218Humor(Jam)2.85
#234Theme(Jam)3.49
#392Innovation(Jam)3.01

Comments

RedPanda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great Game! 10/10 Would buy.

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:28am

This has a really nice feel. I love the controls. I especially like how leaving a planet requires you to at least achieve some kind of an elliptical orbit first (or that's what it feels like). And I noticed the potato salad was over 9000 :) Overall, nice game! I think it could be improved with some better balancing and maybe missions or something. Neat idea though.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25am

Wow, fantastic game! Great gameplay, graphics, music. Could have been a little more variety.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54am

Great and well built entry. The UI is is really well put and extremely useful. The game's speed seems to be balanced enough to keep you playing for a long time without noticing it!

Interesting is the use of gravity when you are near a planet!

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Haha awesome game. Took me awhile to figure out the auto landing and planet leaving mechanic. That had me confused! Also I felt a lack of motivation throughout, but the UI and the gameplay is awesome. My fav entry from you guys so far!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice game, kept me playing for quite a while (for a LD game)

dook says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:44pm

This shows great promise. Took me a while to realize it was gravity that kept me from just turning at will, nice effect :) Too bad the whole buying planets thing doesn't work, this could be a neat little space tradery thing. Sound and graphics are great.

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Your core mechanics (navigating, shooting) feel really good. Some kind of a goal would really make this feel more complete. Even something arbitrary can tie the experience together well. Also, I really dig the music. It's simple, but works really well for the mood of the game.

leondryaso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Really love the graphics and audio, but I don't exactly see the theme "connected worlds" in this. Physics are very good, the landing gravity is just amazing.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39pm

This was great all around. Nothing stood out because everything was so great overall.

Nice job!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42am

That was pretty fun, everything felt really nice. The gravity (or lack there of) seemed real and correct. Great job! :)

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:59am

A great start- the combat starts and ends pretty abruptly, but the trading was well balanced and encouraging! Great music too.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:40am

Pretty cool game, had a lot fun with it :D

Lokiman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Damn you space pirates! I will show you... pew pew pew... eat this s*it... I mean my hamburgers! :D :D :D

Nice game but I would change the way how you land/leave the planets. Something more easy and faster. Now it is little bit complicated and it doesn't add to the gameplay. Good music and firing effect.

PS.: why is the turret shaking/blinking? :)

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Great game, though it wouldn't let me refuel... I bought fuel but it didn't raise the fuel bar at all.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Very cool game. Nice auto landing mechanics and music. Enemies gets annoying sometimes, but it keeps game challenging.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Shooting pirates was fun but I couldn't figure out how to get back to trading with a planet after exiting the initial trading screen. Graphics and music are good and I love the gravity near planets.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:05pm

WOW this game rocks!!! I think you guys could and should really make this into a full game! I know I would buy it! :D

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Cool gameplay. Nice planet landing and fantastic sountrack!

jayhof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Nice! As soon as I opened the game for the first time, the music kicked in and I saw my ship I felt like a space pirate collecting those space hamburgers and selling them for profit. And that's the only critique I have, I could not figure out how to sell stuff for a profit, everything sold for the same amount I bought it at, except for the Planets I bought the stuff.

Special props to the music, it's amazing! Thanks for your work!

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:40pm

+ landing
+ music
- x to leave the planet

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:47am

This is the exact idea I had for my Ludum Dare game before I decided to do High Flyer. Well done :)

dustyroom says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

Wow, this must have been difficult to create is 3 days. Very fun to play, for some reason I didn't want to get away from it. Was very happy to spend my LDs for planets.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:06am

Everything just clicks together. Well done!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Very nice. I think it could become more enjoyable with some nice upgrades, and an extremely dificult objective in the end to keep the game intresting till the end.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Really liked the game. It was very similar to what we've made, as you've mentioned on your stream. Good job with this one! It would be nice to see some goal that I could pursue. Also. This is veery easy to understand. I had no problem whatsoever to know what to do! Great job.

Jaucheman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Awesome Game! I love the soundtrack. btw. thats some really expensive Potato Salad :D

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

i'll play this game a couple more times :) you have something cool here!

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

That was a really fun game - would love to see it more fleshed out in the future :)

The way you implemented planet take-off was really neat!

Xaychru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Classic game, but really fun to play!
And I love this genre of game, you should definitely continue working on it so you can buy more defenses for your ship/planets, it would be awesome! :D
(Also the music is really cool!)

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Pretty cool. Probably one of the best trading games this LD! Encountered a bug though. After I died and tried refueling my ship it said "Buy fuel for 0.0?" and I'm like "Heck yeah!!!" bought the fuel and they gave me none! Same goes with repairing. They ripped me off. Damn AI.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Combat is nice. Good looking art. Overall very good

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:12pm

It looks awesome, it's fun, the controls are awesome, nice!

ambi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Quite enjoyable space shooter/trading game.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:54am

That's some premium potato salad! Some nice details here like the ships thrusters, the blurring star field and the interaction between the ship and the planets. Breaking out of orbit was very satisfying. The gameplay became a bit samey after a while but held my attention long enough to get rich on potato salad. Good job!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Nice idea :) I wish the landing part was a bit faster but it's good ^^

I had a bug, the stars disappeared some times when I stayed on a planet too long.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:41am

It might be nice to have feedback for the gravity of each planet. The first time I left I was really confused.

The warning for low shields is good, but it comes too late. It could just be a light or indicator at first instead of something more annoying.

I loved the art overall, especially the particle effects and trail.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:17am

Who doesn't want to explore space to fucking M E T A L? I know I do. Great job. Fun game. Loved the soundtrack (made the game for me). I often ran out of fuel as some planets didn't sell it? Would have probably explored for an hour if allowed.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Money doesn't seem to decrease, nor does repair or refuel seem to do anything.

I like the control style and the game world in general, although I'd have liked it even more if you didn't have to continuously thrust to keep moving (we're in space, right?).

The music's nice though and the sound effects too. Also, the graphics are quite cool. I like the little item icons.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I couldn't quite get the idea of the game down, but the flying around and shooting was well done. I liked the graphics and the music. I think it needs a bit more explaining/tutorial at the beginning.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:17am

This is a fun game, but it needs more content. I just want to buy a planet and fly it next to another planet and fire the megadeathdoombeam of death (that's a free idea for you!). I really have nothing else to say. Great game, but lacks content (and megadeathdoombeams of death). Keep working on this and I will start throwing money at the screen!

Joona@MooseflyGames

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:56am

REALLY good. The art was fantastic, the gameplay was really good, and the desperation I felt as I went from planet to planet, slowly losing fuel, hoping to strike a deal on gas was amazing XD. Overall you guys have done a fantatic job.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:56pm

ARROW KEYS MY FRIEND. I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bMx3RCVCht0

jellonator says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice controls, gameplay, graphics, music, etc. I would love to see a post-LD version with more stuff. My only complaint is that after a while it got a little laggy, causing the fire trail to get a little choppy, and the stars seemed to pop in out of nowhere.

Jedi says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:16am

Graphics and music were excellent! Controls are responsive and fun!

I would have liked more sound effects and maybe more variety in gameplay because I got a little bored after around 5000 credits (far shy of what it would take to sample that Potato Salad). As someone else said, I wish I could leave the planet by just flying away, not needing to press x.

Overall, great job!

Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:07am

Impressive work!

Love all the little details and features, like the ship-trail, the planets, etc. Music fits nicely too!

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:02am

I am missing some challenge. I was able to go through the game without having a real strategy, which made it more like an exploration game. I did like the graphics, and the song was cool!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:45pm

You made a space trader with a shooter component in 72 hours? Not bad! :D

The art looks great and sound and music are cool too. As it is, the trading is a bit basic, but like the fighting it works well - and shows a lot of promise. I think with more variety in the trading (not necessarily more goods - just not always 100% profit or 50% loss) and upgrades it would be even more fun!

PS: Why would I want to buy a planet if I can have a POTATO_SALAD that looks like a cherry? :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]