Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ORBII

by Lars Faust - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ORBII is a puzzle over 8 turns, that leaves you to add, combine and eliminate elements from connected worlds, in order to create a final one containing all four of these elements.

-----------

The game is all mouse controlled, you just click the buttons.

The lines indicate how the worlds are connected.

Two of the same element applied to a world will eliminate that element from the world.

-----------

Can you get the perfect 4/4 score?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#22Graphics4.39
#164Innovation3.72
#229Mood3.41
#288Overall3.48
#316Theme3.57
#336Audio3.09
#699Fun2.88
#906Humor1.70

Comments

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

Innovative and fun game.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44am

Fun game, great style, music is neat but could be little longer :)

Vandash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46am

Impressive art direction, I like the simplicity :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50am

Beautifully presented, and surprisingly tricky! I love the clean aesthetic. Was initially having trouble determining what the brown icon corresponded to on the planets (didn't pay close attention to the instructions, haha). I get it now, though.. :)

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50am

Neatly designed. Very well done.
Game description could be shown a bit longer. Or loose it and explain the game alongside the first playthrough.

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:08am

so creative and fun, with beautiful polish!
love it!
more detailed rules explanation might be nice, though.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24am

Really original and beautiful!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:01am

Looks and sounds fantastic.

Tonasz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:13am

Genius in its simplicity. Perfect audio-visual mood.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

Excellent presentation.

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03am

I really like the graphics, but I didn't get how to win. When I thought I had all the elements, the end result showed just an empty planet with 0 score. But still a great entry. ^^

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28am

@Kinta: When you have two planets completely neutralizing each other in the last turn, you will of course, as a result, end up with an empty planet. You do not need to combine all elements until the very last moment.

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Nice graphics and gameplay :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Graphic style is superb, very nice game. The concept of the game very good too.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

REALLY liked this one. Took me a few playthroughs to figure out the strategy but felt very rewarding. Nice graphics. Great job overall :)

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Really relaxing game, and the art style is stunning! Love the flatshading and great color palette!

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Wasn't entirely sure what was going on until I played through it a few times, but really nice aesthetic!

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Lovely graphics!

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Stunningly beautiful!

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Very innovative and well polished game. I love the graphics and the overall feel of the game.

quade81 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:08pm

This is awesome, yet so simple. Highest rating I've given a game yet.

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Absolutely incredible polish for a game made in 48 hours. It's hard to know what moves are going to do, especially the first time playing, however I did manage to win, so...

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01am

That was a really neat premise. Really makes you think about what each planet is getting. I was never able to win, maybe it's because I don't understand it, but I was only ever able to hit 3 elements.

Also I'm really interested in how you generated each subsequent world, really cool.

NickZangus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:38am

One of my favourite so far. Great game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Hi there. Lovely graphics and world generation. That snippet of music is now going around my head... Got 2/4 on third try

kebabskal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Lovely visuals. Don't really understand the gameplay, but the execution was great!

MaesK says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Nice game, I must have lost mountains in one of the steps, but the result was fine. Great visuals and graphics.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:26am

Love how it looks and feels. Got 4/4. Cool puzzle idea!

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Aaww!! Beauty!
Really nice game

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:56pm

4/4 yay ! By the way the graphics are gorgeous !

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:30am

I liked this one a log. Really cool visual style and mechanic.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

Peaceful little logic game. Nice job.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:18am

As always.
Gameplay is perfect and the graphics are mindblowing.

anssipe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Nice design and style!

orbitantlers says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:00am

Beautiful work. How the planets combined with each other wasn't immediately apparent.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:03am

The 3d graphics were really good but I found the icons somewhat confusing.
However, the mechanics were good and it takes some thought to get it right. Short but good.
Also it reminded me of genetics ^^.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:20pm

That's a pretty nice wee game! It's a bit hard to figure out which planet has which resource, so I ended up cancelling out a few times, but I got there in the end :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:19am

Nice graphics, and enjoyable concept. Nice job. :)

Linusson says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:36pm

That was fun. :D It took me a few rounds to understand and then it took me a few more rounds to get the hang of it. I think it took about 8-9 rounds to score 4 out of 4. Fun game, well made. :)

ClownAround says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:09am

Nice graphics. Like the style. Could use some more variety though.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:43am

It took me a while to understand the mechanics.

For future readers, choosing an element adds it to that planet and the lines show how the planets will be created for the next level - if a planet on the next level has 1 incoming line, it will just be "copied", but if it has two incoming lines (source planets) then the combination rules apply (two of the same element cancel each other out, one of an element will get transferred through).

Graphics were amazing!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I realized my description is incomplete - choosing the element next to the planet decides which of the two planets spawning off gets the element...

Lars Faust says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Hey vividhelix, good explanation, cheers, but your addition only applies to the very first choice, to turn number one. After that every planet affecting two following planets will affect both equally.

I realized that small inconsistency after i submitted, but it actually helps the gameplay to not have the player confronted with two exactly same looking planets in turn two already.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Lol, that's what I was thinking but then I was like "wait, what about the first turn?" :)

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:39am

Very beautiful game! I'm a sucker for games with this kind of visual and artistic polish, and I think you made it just as fun as it was beautiful! My one comment would be to adjust the kerning on your instructions, as they're a bit hard to read. :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]