Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zinfandel the Gatekeeper

by theholychicken - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I have to go to work in a couple of hours so no time to finish it...
You can reach the exits on all four levels, but it'll stop at a black screen after the fourth one.

Hope you guys like it anyway!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

Indiestry says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:19pm

looks and plays really nice

xHatchx says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Awesome!

bbyford says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:08pm

THIS IS AMAZING! Good work!

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54am

What a beauty! Nice Game!

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39am

I like it , good work .. nice art and concept and the player speed is kinda fun :D

xHatchx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:45pm

It's pretty danm awesome. The only things I missed is a Plot and some Audio

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:54am

Nice game! The portal mechanic has great potential and I loved the pixelart!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:39am

I wish I could give more stars for graphics. Great job! The mechanic where you could pull items between worlds was really cool. I also liked the glide-jump... it added a lot to the feel of the character, who had a certain sense to him despite there being no dialogue or communicated goal of any kind.

I think that in a more completed version I would have liked to have somehow seen a bit less hand-holding with the level design. As-is I often felt like I was following directions, not independently choosing what to do. It's hard, though, when the penalty is falling... so I can understand that what you have right now is an attempt at frustration-proofing, which is totally valid :S Cool concept. Thanks for the game!

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Really liked what I saw, and would love to see more of it :)

The pixel art was especially fantastic.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:39am

I found a bit sad the end was a black screen.
You create such a unique world, it really appeals for a story.
I found the game pleasant to play, I enjoyed the portal mechanic to move object form the dark dimension.
It's a good start for a longer game.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:52am

Nice graphics and animations. I would change some colors palette a bit, but it still feels fine. Also I like some ideas.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Short, but cool and atmospheric.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Very good job and good puzzles :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]