Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Word Collide

by sapermysz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is Tower Defense game about two worlds: one medieval-fantasy (Knights, Wizards, etc.) connected by portal, discovered few days ago. Great Republic from the modern world invades Medieval Kingdom and you have to defend it.

In order to bulid tower click one of tower type button in GUI*, and right click in the place you want bulid it.

You can move camera by holding scroll button and moving mouse.

In left-down corner of screen there are Economy Buildings button, click it in order to create buldings*, which allow you to getting more rescourses

*I didn`t write how much towers and buildings cost.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1068Graphics2.22
#1076Theme2.27
#1077Mood2.13
#1153Overall2.38
#1156Innovation2.00
#1176Fun1.95
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

I am having a hard time playing without knowing what I need to build things. The guys keep blowing up my stuff. It would be less confusing if the default view didn't have the butttons over the build points :)

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

I couldn`t scroll as i played on a MacBook, possibly thats the reason why i couldn`t build towers (or didn`t see them?).

sapermysz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:21pm

i have same first time playing , i clicked allow all times and refresh

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

A bit too confusing at the moment.

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:22pm

can't click any buttons

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25pm

playing was quite hard, finding a balance between bilding things was really hard. Cool game tho :)

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32pm

I liked the concept, especially the tower defence aspect! But a bit confusing to play. :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:48am

The game was neat, but I feel like the UI got in the way.

ericdpitts says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:20pm

It was a bit confusing, some explanation of the controls and indication on the UI that I have selected a certain tower before placing it would have helped. And, displaying the cost of the towers is necessary in a game like this so that you can plan for how many resources you need to efficiently build your defences.

RodRoy1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:36pm

If the GUI was out of the way and the towers didn't explode so quick then this could be good.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:18am

I played on a laptop, so I was unable to move the camera. Didn't really understand how to properly play the game either - I managed to put down two crossbowmen but then I couldn't do anything else and when they died the enemies stopped spawning.

rRootagea says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:59am

I'm guessing each tower has a price but I don't know what those prices are

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]