Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The MillionWood

by frogcheese - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the MillionWood, every action has repercussions, every event is linked, and everything that happens has without a doubt already happened, and will happen again. It's a dangerous place, though that doesn't stop a tribe of Grobles from heading there every summer to party.

Well, maybe it should.

Proper speak: this is a platform game where you, as you progress, have to control multiple characters simultaneously. Levels are of varying trickiness, but the real trick of the game is that, as you reach new levels, you will also have to play and clear the older levels at the same time. This is where the "million" part comes from. It's closer to "Half-A-Dozen", but "Half-A-Dozen Wood" isn't that catchy.

HOWTO:
* WASD/Key arrows to move
* SPACE/W/UP/CTRL to jump
* R to toggle between resolutions - supported ones are 800x600, 640x480 and 1024x768.

Connected Worlds was the theme. The levels are all connected to each other in the sense that you have to clear them simultaneously. It also applies to the characters - the little Grobles that you take on a tour through the woods - where if one character dies, it means the end for all of them. Also, pressure plates affect all active levels regardless of where they're stepped on. Watch your back!

Game was made with LibGDX, sounds with Bfxr. Music with Anvil Studio + GarageBand.

Tested on OS X, Windows 8/XP and Ubuntu. You will have to mark the file as executable to run it on later versions of Ubuntu - you can do this by right-clicking the .jar file and going into its Properties. There should be an "executable" checkbox there.

- v.1.01 - Built for Java 6 and fixed a bug where on some platforms the falling blocks would kill you even when standing on top of them.
- v.1.02 - Multiple resolution support.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#184Fun3.54
#233Audio3.29
#239Theme3.68
#241Overall3.55
#380Graphics3.38
#548Humor2.34
#602Innovation3.10
#604Mood2.93

Comments

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24am

I've tried executing in windows 8.1 with Java 6, it gives me the following exception (cmd:'java TheMillionWood.jar'):

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: TheMillionWood/jar
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: TheMillionWood.jar
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:202)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
Could not find the main class: TheMillionWood.jar. Program will exit.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45am

@malf Thanks for the heads-up. I'd accidentally built the .jar for Java 7; it should be fixed now.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54am

It works well for me :) . The idea is very interesting and the levels are nice. The major problem was the size of the window, which is too high ! I could'nt see the bottom of some levels and so I had to stop playing because of that...

frogcheese says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:42pm

@Quetzakol Yeah, I knew that the window size would be trouble - you can blame this on poor planning on my part. I'll see if I can put out a scaled down post-compo version eventually for those running on smaller screens.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Turns out that adding multiple screen size support was a really minor addition code-wise, so I'll add it as a bugfix to the existing version. The default resolution is now 800x600, and you can toggle between resolutions using the R key.

I will freely admit that I am incredibly spoiled regarding screen size when it comes to computers, but with this I hope those of you with less ostentatious setups can play without any more trouble. : )

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Uh, I liked the game, and concept of adding new world after each few levels, but music and that 'beating' light in background were too much for me :( especially after adding 3rd world: those little sprites were very tiring for my eyes.

On the other hand the way you connected levels was nice, difficult but not insane, and sprites are really nice!

ccglp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Very nice game, one of the bests so far, is so well built together :)

Aglavra says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I liked this game, although the jumping seems to be working a bit strange. This makes some levels more difficult. But otherwise very nice game - idea and design.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Strong Game! First levels i thought.. yeah, connceted worlds? ... but the first split-screen level got me hooked. love it!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Great game!! I love challenges like this one, got stuck at the last level for about 30 minutes, but when I was about to quit and said "ok, this is the last try." I made it, pheew!

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

Awesome game! Fits right in the theme, trippy graphics and music, and good level design. I haven't finished it yet, but I might try again later. That (last, I hope?) level where the top left guy must drop to a stone platform below then hop on three black things is just diabolical.
It always amazes me how some people can code a game and produce so much level design, in 48 hours.
I loved your LD29 entry as well, keep up the great work!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:11am

This look like an Amiga game!
in a good way.
Nostalgic...

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I liked how the number of worlds increased, and the music was very jolly. The different colour schemes worked very well, making it quite atmospheric. Nice.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Good move, I like the music and the way you dealt with the theme

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Nice Job real fun

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Great game, very enjoyable. I'm not a big fan of the controls, but they worked. Liked the trippy graphics :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Game was a fun challenge!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Nice! This reminds me of Electronic Super Joy. It get's pretty difficult, but I really like it.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Well done! This is a lot of fun, and I could see this being expanded pretty easily as more levels are designed. Great job.

Simon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:01pm

very clever and challenging! Well done.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

I never did manage to beat it, but aside from the level I got stuck on being ridiculously irritating, I loved it.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Great game that's strong across the board on fun, theme, graphics and audio. my only complaint is the strobing backgrounds are quite a strain on my eyes!

goerp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Well executed theme, like the title and story. Man, it got pretty complicated after a while.
The music really grew on me, I liked it better after playing for a while, that's great for a puzzle game.
Did you synchronize the flashes and beat programmatically?
(nice touch by the way)

frogcheese says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:11pm

@goerp Thanks for your comment! The song plays at 120bpm - two beats per second - so I set the backgrounds to pulse twice per second starting at the point where the music begins. Since the looping doesn't seem to be completely perfect to my admittedly untrained ear, this should mean that the beats will fall out of sync if you let the game run long enough.

And I'm glad that the music drew you in! The reason I put the pulsing in there in the first place is because I thought it'd blend the song and game together much more firmly than if I just put the song in there by itself.

pusheax says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:55pm

It's nice to see action game for this theme. Very challenging and now I understand that action type of game like this is hard to make good.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Good game for a 48h compo but it's hard ^^.

bobombe says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Waaaa, your game design is amazing !!your four worlds are very well linked !

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:27pm

I think I may have been on the last level before I rage quit... This game is really well done, the music and everything works so well together. And something about the way the spiders moved I really liked. That being said, holy crap some of those levels are hard.

Aomeas says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:09am

I went to the third level with 5 screens before I quit.
Nice game! The music is really cool, and with the graphics, they're setting a good mood.
Clever concept, nicely done, and with many levels, that's great :3

CodeNMore says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Good idea, I really liked it!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Good game!I like the way you connected levels, learning curve is good and the game gets along well with theme. It has quite a lot of content, even if some levels were reused by combining themwith others. The way you used colors, reminded me of the times of good old spectrum.

Endurion says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Sorry, no Java.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Had to stop at the third or fourth level with 4 screens. Top notch level design. Simple idea, brilliantly executed. A great overall game that captivated me from the beginning until frustration of 20 or so deaths in the same level. :)

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Thanks for all of your comments everyone! The common denominator here seems to be that the game is super hard. ^^'

This is most likely because I got a bit blind to what was and wasn't hard by having to play through the entire game dozens of times and tweak the design until I was able to finish the game myself.

Fun fact - there are six screens in total, spanning 24 levels. Oh, and I used to not be able to clear the final level, so I kept making both that level and a few others leading up to it easier until I could. At that point I got worried that I might have made the game *too easy*, because by then I could reliably finish the whole thing in less than 10 minutes, no sweat. Boy was I wrong...

I guess the lesson here is test your game on other unsuspecting victims before releasing it into the wild. And if you can't do that because you're taking part in a 48 hour competition and it's 2 AM, take the time to realize that your players do not have an ingrained muscle memory of every level from rigorous playtesting. :P

Kiwiboi says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:57pm

At first I was confused as to why was supposed to be challenging but the difficulty really ramped which is great! Definitely fun, adictive and the mood was set really well with graphics and audio. Solid entry!

bluesky says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:06am

Good job.

jprogman says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:32pm

When I got to 5 screens, I had to call it quits because it was too disorienting for me. Hearing that there at 6 screens maximum, I would have been killed. Good game, but too challenging for me.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Really awesome game, the idea is nothing new, but boy is this one well executed. The level design is tricky, but not impossible, controls are a bit floaty, but I quickly got used to it. The same is with the flashing background, it distracted a lot at the beginning, but by the time I finished it, I did not even realize it was there anymore. (Still I would suggest toning the flashing effect a bit down.)
The music is really superb, (I have the game still running in the background and keep listening to it.) it has a lot of variety, so that it doesn't get repetitive.
At first I thought it would end with 4 worlds, but then there was a 5th and I thought that was a bonus round and when the sixth appeared I was like "Are you f... kidding me?"
But overall I really enjoyed it, keep making games^^

And I'm sorry for killing 468 little Grobles >:)

cstudios says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Hypnotic! The music and the flashing made me to star into the game...

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Very nice. Past 4 screens things definitely get interesting. I like it!

davisan says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Cool game! Loved the level design, music sync with the bg and the sprites.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]