Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Solar System Hero

by X-0r - 48 Hour Compo Entry

=Solar System Hero= (Now with tutorial!)

===Genre===
Economy based RTS (Don't kill me, if you'd know a better genre name. :) Please!)

===Background===
Many systems are encountering problems - their balancing of Food, Water and Energy are totally off. It's up to you to place the correct buildings at the correct places, and take the resources to where they are needed the most.

===Note===
Oh wow. That was fun. I never created a game that close to my initial imagination. I hope you have as much fun with the result as I did. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comment section!

If you found a bad bug in my game, please let me know, so that I can get it fixed :)

===Controls===
Mouse - Almost everything
Keyboard - Any key will toggle an overview of names and ship numbers.

===Tips===
Try the name overview - you'll avoid being lost in space that way.

Ever rightclicked on the waypoint planner's [+] and [-] signs? You'll be able to handle resources 10 times as fast!

Each sun that is lit up means you beat the level already :)
However, I didn't include cookies, so the "progress" is lost.

===Sound===
Did you ever hear a sound in space?
Seriously - I was working on a track on the first day, but it never turned out as I wanted it. Sorry about that :(



===Level walkthrough===

Level 1 [Baby steps]
The goal is quite simple - each planet needs to meet the demands for at least 10 production ticks.
Both planets on screen will have resources that the other planet needs - so what you need to do is clicking the gearwheel of the spaceship in order to plan it's route.
To add waypoints to the route, simply click the planet you want to visit. You can adjust the resources you [S]ell and [B]uy from the planet.
[B]uy at least 1 Food and 1 Water and [S]ell it at the outer planet. Don't forget to [B]uy energy there, which the inner planet needs. If you did everything right, your spaceship landed three times, before the level is completed. Also note, that the atmosphere color will change, once a planet is "happy".

Level 2 [Buildings?]
Probably an even easier level. Since the buildings can't produce resources without their demand being fulfilled, they are better removed. Since the planets don't demand anything on their own, their atmospheres will soon have a nice blue - which ends the level.
If you don't know how to handle buildings - click on a planet, then click on a slot in the top-right. This will show you 4 new circles, holding the 3 buildings, and an empty slot. Feel free to build and destroy as much as you like - but you'd probably be better off in the next level.

Level 3 [Buildings!]
The point of this level is to construct buildings at smart places. Each planet has different pros and cons. Ice planets offer a lot of water, but are very limited with food. Lava planets lack water, but have the potential of great energy production. Experiment with the different variations and use your fleet to supply the planets and their buildings.

Level 4 [All your base...]
In the outer orbit, there's one large earth-like planet. It's capable of creating a self-sustaining economy. However, the smaller planets and asteroids have their very own demands - they will consume the resources even without buildings (the poor asteroid creatures are starving :( )
Become the hero that you are destined to be and create a massive trade haven, to feed everyone in the system!

Level 5 [Random map]
Well. It's a random map. Replayability and such.
Just use what you've learned and supply every planet with enough resources, making use of your trade fleet and buildings.
You'll lose, when the time runs out.

Level 6 [Sandbox]
Same as above, but you can't win or lose.

===Bugfix Updates / Major Balancing Issues===
The resource calculation has been fixed - a planet will now consume resources correctly. It will eat everything down to zero, if there are any base values of inhabitants. If not, it will only use the buildings, if there are enough resources to complete the production.

Fixed an erratic setting in the random map generator, and edited the level files slightly to avoid planet overlaps.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#485Theme3.35
#587Humor2.27
#641Innovation3.05
#734Graphics2.84
#738Overall3.03
#829Mood2.67
#889Audio1.94
#970Fun2.54

Comments

rantt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I tried to run the game on my Mac and got the message "LD30" is damaged and can't be opened.

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Damn, sorry about that =/ I'll remove the link...

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Got confused by controls, felt funny and I would have preferred and ingame Tutorial because I wasn't sure what I was doing. I'm still not really sure what I'm doing. Balancing them is really difficult, no idea how to use the ships either. I'd make a minor gripe about planets overlapping sometimes but my game is equally as guilty of it. >.<

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36pm

It's supposed to be impossible to solve each map without using carrier ships... Depending on the planet type, some resources can be produced more efficiently - the rest needs to be taken in by carriers.

To guide your ships, you need to click on the "gearwheel", it's to the right of the screen, next to each ship in your fleet. If you click the "help" button in the overview, you can get more information about how to play... I also included a detailed walkthrough in the game description. I initially planned for an ingame tutorial aswell, but the time wasn't really sufficient for that :(

Markavian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45pm

I really struggled with the interface, I couldn't tell if my way point was loading or emptying resources, and I kept accidentally adding waypoints. Seemed like a nice idea but really difficult to play.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09pm

High barrier to entry for sure! It seems like there's a really interesting and well thought out game in there, but I can't figure out how to get at it. And in-game tutorial would be well suited for this type of interface (obviously that's asking a lot in 48 hours). I really like where this is headed, but I mimic the other comments that it needs to be easier to access.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Nice planet names.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Definitely tricky to figure out, but it's a really cool idea and an impressive game for only 48 hours

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09pm

A YouTube-tutorial is now online, for everyone interested :)

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Nice game!

Floko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:09am

I'm not sure about what I'm doing, haha x) It was a bit difficult to understand my objective in the game,or how to attain it properly ...

But the graphics are looking neat :)

X-0r says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone!

@Floko: You might want to check out my YouTube video, it should show you the mechanics^^

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:56am

I really love this simulator :) Well done!

Benjamin says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Fun game. It was not obvious what a planet need to be happy. The trade stuff definitively remind me of anno 1403 :) Really well done. I like that you took time to make the little space ship animations it add a lot to the ambient.
The flash player debug trace some bug when you try to use + and - buttons and there's nothing to scroll.

Shmackson says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:20am

I was impressed at the depth of mechanics and general complexity. Fit a good amount into a game in such a short time.

lkr says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I was confused at first, but the video cleared things up.

The game could use some small icons on/near the planets to show resource stock and the production/consumption delta. It was hard keeping track when I was setting up routes, and forgot what a planet needed. I'd also have wanted to quickly cancel a ship route without removing each waypoint separately :)

Fun game though - would be nice to see more made out of the concept!

X-0r says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I totally agree! Putting the surplus/demand values next to the planets would have made the game both easier to understand and easier to play.

Depending on the results, I'll either work with the concept, refining the mechanics and everything (and most importantly UI and controls), or try creating something new entirely :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]