Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Phase Shift

by otresnjak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try to escape the city where while avoiding the blast wave! You can shift between two dimensions, each with a different set of buildings, to avoid obstacles.

Use the arrow keys to move and the spacebar to shift between dimensions. Press escape to quit!

There are four levels of ascending difficulty. (You can keep playing past level 4 but the difficulty won't increase further.)

Written in C++ using DirectX 11 and FMOD. "Graphics" are mostly procedural with a little help from Photoshop. Music and sound made with Ableton Live and Audition.

Compatibility notes:
- Requires Windows 7 or 8.
- The game runs in a 1280x720 window. If your screen resolution is lower than that--first of all, greetings, time traveler from the 90s! Second, the game won't fit your screen. Sorry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#133Fun3.63
#146Overall3.69
#151Mood3.53
#182Audio3.40
#291Innovation3.51
#339Theme3.54
#463Humor2.47
#494Graphics3.18

Comments

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

I saw this in the blog, but reached it through the rating system. The game did a very good job of creating a constant feeling of danger and I loved the dimension-warping mechanics, but things often felt random - I would get stuck with no time to find a way out.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00am

"Critical Error: Unable to create pixel shader 'effects/mapfx.efx'"

:(

Not rating this game due to it being unplayable for me.

otresnjak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Anyone who's having trouble running this, I'd be interested to know what your Windows version and video hardware are. :)

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

It was fun, hard, and a bit random. I liked it :)

SenorDiablo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Nice atmosphere and easy to learn mechanics. Fantastic audio

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07am

Interesting take on the theme. Great visual and musical style.

It'd be a bit more accessible if you didn't start at the beginning each time you got destroyed.

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21am

This game is really cool looking.

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02am

I had a lot of fun with this. It's a simple gameplay mechanic, but well executed. Bonus points for procedural level generation!

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Really tense, the plane shifting is hard to pull of correctly but when you pull it right and escape it feels great

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Found this because we chose the same name for our games (and the basic mechanic is kinda similar as well :D) Really cool game, I liked the minimalistic graphics and gameplay. Music was also quite nice, however the loop was a bit too harsh. Really nice entry!

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:07am

I couldn't finish level 3 but I thought this was great. I would stay and play this all night if I wasn't on a rating mission.

I loved the music too.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:16am

Cool. I love how smooth it feels!

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Very interesting concept and nicely executed. Played the game for a fair bit.

My only criticism is that the level generation felt too arbitrary. I could get a level 2 that I could just walk forward and or I could get one where I'd get blocked by both dimensions in a big area.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Game feels very pleasing! Graphics/colors/music is neat

Posva says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

I like the concept and the game is fun. Good job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:39am

otresnjak - I'm on Windows 7, using a Toshiba C655 laptop.

jprogman says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:21am

Interesting concept, but it mainly relies on luck. Sometimes you can clear a round with no problem, but the majority of times have rounds that felt impossible to clear. The dimension changing bit is pretty cool, but there needs to be some way to generate the levels accordingly.

FYI, it's rather unfriendly to have no way to readjust the game's window resolution, especially since it's quite higher than average. Be courteous, even for those from the 90s!

ericdpitts says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Really awesome idea, I liked it a lot. The shifting mechanic was cool, really well done!

Tosic says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Oh my god, this is so awesome I love the graphics the sounds, the idea, amazing!

Teesquared says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:54am

Great game. Nice arcade feel. It's very challenging but it keeps you playing. The level layout seemed random and the pace is really fast. The mood makes you feel super stressed. Good job.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:42am

Goodjob on this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]